Showing posts with label Dark. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dark. Show all posts

Sunday, 26 February 2017

Lucca (Made Men #4) By Sarah Brianne



Lucca was made the underboss, being what nightmares are made of.
Chloe was scarred by her past, learning too young that nightmares are real.
He has waited long enough to claim her soul, but he must take it from the devil first.
Her soul might have been better off claimed by the devil.
The only way to save her from her past is to delve into his.
The world as she knows it will come crashing down.

I'm the fu**ing boogieman.
I'm just a fu**ing freak.


Okay, as you know, I was NOT TEAMLUCCA, I was totally TEAMAMO. 

But I didn't even get halfway through the book before I was swayed by Lucca and his love for Chloe. 
I really loved him. He was incredibly charming in his own dangerous way and I couldn't put it down. 

Chloe reacted to Lucca in a way she really needed too. He's perfect for her. Yeah, he went about getting her the wrong way but it was the ONLY way. I couldn't see that at first but then as the story progressed... okay, as the story began, I understood. 

We get to know Lucca on another level. He's not such a mystery in this book and we get to see the real him, the man behind the cold mask. And I have to say, I'm now Team Lucca. I just hope Amo gets his own story soon. I hate knowing he's lost Chloe, but he didn't love her the way Lucca did.

Look at me... LOL 
Read my CHLOE review and you'll see how against Lucca I was LOL I'm not singing a new tune and I couldn't care less aha He really did knock me sideways. Sarah Brianne has really blew us away with this one. She's changed so many minds and for a moment, I didnt think mine could be swayed LOL 

The book is brilliant, the plot much better and although I would have liked to have skipped the rehashing past stuff, I still enjoyed the story. 
The ending was fantastic. 

5*

Saturday, 15 October 2016

Living Without (Hawks MC: Carolina Springs Charter Book Four) By Lila Rose




For the past four years, Nary May’s heart belonged to Saxon “Vicious” Black. Despite the painful reality of unrequited love, her feelings never strayed, no matter what he did. But there comes a time when surviving means letting go. 

What she never expected was to find herself fighting for her life and trying to survive a new form of torment threatening to swallow her whole. 

Saxon was broken. Never feeling worthy, the last thing he ever wanted to do was taint the woman he loved. But it was easier to push and walk away than leave himself open for more heartache. However, when faced with the possibility of losing Nary to the monsters that invade her dreams, the time to run was over.

To save her means risking it all, but to continue living without his heart was no longer an option.



I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

What can I say, Lila Rose has out done herself with this one. It's so much different to her other Hawks MC novels. It's much darker, more detailed and so enrapturing, I couldn't put it down. 

Nary is kidnapped and taken by the MC's rival, Baxter who deals in sex trafficking. He takes her, abuse her and intends to sell her. The scenes were hard to read but thankfully, not too hard that I had to put it down. She got it just right and every single thing broke my heart. I had to cry for her because her pain... I felt it. I won't let on about anymore because it WILL ruin the story line for you. But let me stop by saying how good it was. 
For months the MC has been trying to find Baxter, but failed at every attempt, so the likely hood of them finding her were so slim. It got my heart racing, breaking and beating so hard I thought I'd die. I honestly... I can't even put into words how much I enjoyed reading their story. I knew it was going to be good, but this story was epic. It really was. The depth Lila went to was outstanding. It really was. 
I also enjoyed seeing old characters, new characters and more love interests within the MC. 
But more so, reading Nary and Saxon's story. I always knew he had a dark past, but reading it, and feeling what he went through, broke my heart. 
Saxon has always been one of my favourites, ever since he was introduced in Stoke's story. I always rooted for him and Nary but what I thought was a sudden crush, stems out to be so much more and it's all revealed into this book. I honestly can't wait to read more. I really can't. 
This series never seizes to amaze me but this story, the length and heart that went into the kidnapping, was just incredible. I felt everything. I wanted to kill the f****rs. 

There's also another MC brought into the mix, one I'm presuming is from another author that I just have to get my hands on. The men on that side of the pond sound just as hot. The character, Gypsy that was brought into the story was to die for. I fell in love so hard with his character. 
Not only that, but Melissa, who we meet in coming out as Julian's next door neighbour has a huge part to play in the story and she catches the eye of Dallas. 
They're banter had me in stitches. It give the dark, upsetting, heartwarming novel that much needed humor. 

And I say dark, it only lasts for 40% of the book, before the aftermath of what happens is turns to light of Nary and Saxon building their relationship. 

I really want to right more, talk about scenes that blew me away and what had me shivering, crying and laughing. I really do. But I won't ruin it for anyone. Yes, it's killing me to do so. 

But when it's released, please, don't hesitate to comment your thoughts on the novel. Let me know what you think of Nary and Saxon. 

5*

Monday, 23 May 2016

Hush (Black Lotus Book Three) By E.K.Blair



I've come to learn there is no escaping your past.

It doesn't matter what you do, it will follow like a phantom--haunting you--reminding you. 


I don't know why I read this book. 

We get glimpses of a normal Elizabeth, not the sick twisted killer that she really is. 
We get to see her get everything she ever wanted, but life sucks and it got in her way and Bennetts. 

Bennett finally forgives her, but it didn't matter in the end, none of it did. 

I was disappointed in the ending. Well, I think I was. I don't think there was ever any redeeming Elizabeth, but Bennett could have made better choices. I don't know. I just found the whole ending a slap in the face because I wanted a different outcome. 

3*

Echo (Black Lotus Book Two) By E.K.Blair



It's been said the longest echo ever measured lasted 75 seconds, but I can assure you, this will last much longer. The bang deafened the world around me, muting everything into nullity, allowing the reflection of its destruction to live far beyond its intended life.

It will follow me forever, destroying me--destroying you.

You want answers?

So do I.


After Bang ended with such a cliffhanger I decided to read this one. It starts off from the end of Bang. 

Alone and not knowing who she is anymore without anyone in her life, Nina, Elizabeth, decides to go to the place where she can feel connected to Bennett, her true love. She travels to Scotland and stays at a little B&B where she meets Isla. 

Still mourning Pike and mostly Bennett she finds herself at a crossroads, hurting herself physically. She starts stalking the house Bennett told her they could escape to and my god, when she finds him there, I knew it would happen, everything just goes from twisted to worse. 

Not only does he HATE Elizabeth, but he harms her, ripping a chunk of hair out. She picks at the thing, making it worse and my insides churned. 
I didn't know what was going to happen, but my like for Bennett disappeared the minute we meet the new one. I couldn't stand him or understand him. 
Personally, I'd never be able to forgive Elizabeth, but hey, he's male and this is a book. But for some reason I was still rooting for Elizabeth to become normal. We see glimpses of it in the first book, but during this book it just becomes worse. 

There's more twists and turns throughout the book and as a sucker, I had to get book three. I reckon I was just punishing myself but I just needed to know.

3*

Bang (Black Lotus #1) By E.K.Blair



They say when you take revenge against another you lose a part of your innocence.
But I'm not innocent.
I haven't been for a very long time.
My innocence was stolen from me. Taken was the life I was supposed to have. The soul I was born with. The ruby heart embedded in a life full of hopes and dreams.

Gone.
Vanished.

I never even had a choice.
I mourn that life. Mourn the what-ifs.
Until now.
I'm ready to take back what was always meant to be mine.

But every plan has a fatal flaw. Sometimes it's the heart. 


Something about this booked kept me reading it. I don't know what it was but it had me needing to know what was going on, what was happening. 
It was all secretive... every word was like a riddle, laced with secrets, deceit and lies. 

The book is written in present and past POV. We see what Nina and Pike had to endure when they were little and although I didn't read some parts I could only imagine some of the sick stuff their foster dad made them do. 

But, it was where the Nina needs revenge thing that had me reading. I wondered at first if her husband, the person she hates, was somehow related to her foster parent. 

Nina was so messed up. She had a chance to change her life to make things better and I could only imagine the pain she lived with each day, but she made everything worse for herself after getting out from her foster dads care. 

And Pike, the two had such a sick, twisted relationship that not even I could understand. It made me feel grubby reading there part because it was so... WRONG. 

But then Nina seduces Bennett who I completely loved. He had an air of charming arrogance around him along with a personality you couldn't say no to. Yes he had a dark side to him, but it wasn't evil, it wasn't black like Nina, like Pike. 

The book ends with a bang, literally. I didn't know what to think but WTF!!! 
I could have screamed. I didn't really want to buy the next one but something about needing to know that they got a happy ending, that somehow Nina could redeem herself made me buy book two. 

3.5*

Saturday, 2 April 2016

Fearless By B.B.Reid



When faced with broken love… 

Have you ever had the feeling you were a stranger? 
Out of reach, I watched and mourned me. 
Nothing moved. Breathed. Nothing lived. 
I was in an alternate universe. 
No longer an innocent. 
I had blood on my hands, and I wasn’t even sorry for it. 
I was only afraid for Keiran. 
Of his reaction when the shock wore off. 
It would be an explosion. 
Of hurt, anger, and mistrust. 
He’d know I lied. 
And to him… 
The betrayal born of my good intentions is worse than the act of murder. 

…will you succumb to fear… 

She was supposed to be my light. 
The one who saved me from the monster. 
But when I looked in her eyes that day, I didn’t see her. 
I only saw my father’s killer. 

Her love saved me from the monster. 
Mine turned her into one. 

…or will you be fearless?


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.....

I had a little trouble getting into the last Broken Love novel, but I have to say, this one has topped them all. Everything I had been questioning started to get answers. 
Everything started to fall into place. I love it when this happens in a book. It makes everything come into a new light and you think 'wow, how did I not pick up on that?' 

Keiran is back to his old ways, but Lake.... She's stronger, wiser, and is now the perfect match for Keiran and his dark side. Don't get me wrong, she still has that flight instinct whenever something goes wrong, but this time she does fight back. They have to fight bigger obstacles than dead beat dads, and crazy mothers. This is a whole new level of fighting for the group and the only way to defeat their demons is together, as a family, as a group, united. 

You can tell a lot of detail and thought went into all these novels. BB Reid just proves again what a talented writer she is. 

The ending, which I'm not going to divulge in, was the best for me. Keiran... My God, it's what I wanted for him from the beginning. 
I also like the fact we will be getting another book from another secondary character in the book, I will not be spoiling this, but he's been one of my favourites. I think it's because he's such a mystery. 

5*

Monday, 21 March 2016

Corrupt By Penelope Douglas



Erika

I was told that dreams were our heart's desires. My nightmares, however, became my obsession.

His name is Michael Crist.

My boyfriend's older brother is like that scary movie that you peek through your hand to watch. He's handsome, strong, and completely terrifying. The star of his college's basketball team and now gone pro, he's more concerned with the dirt on his shoe than me.

But I noticed him.

I saw him. I heard him. The things that he did, and the deeds that he hid...For years, I bit my nails, unable to look away.

Now, I've graduated high school and moved on to college, but I haven't stopped watching Michael. He's bad, and the dirt I've seen isn't content to stay in my head anymore.

Because he's finally noticed me.

Michael

Her name is Erika Fane, but everyone calls her Rika.

My brother's girlfriend grew up hanging around my house and is always at our dinner table. She looks down when I enter a room and stills when I am close. I can always feel the fear rolling off of her, and while I haven't had her body, I know that I have her mind. That's all I really want anyway.

Until my brother leaves for the military, and I find Rika alone at college.

In my city.

Unprotected.

The opportunity is too good to be true, as well as the timing. Because you see, three years ago she put a few of my high school friends in prison, and now they're out.

We've waited. We've been patient. And now every last one of her nightmares will come true.


This book was thrilling, captivating, and so different from Penelope Douglas' other work. It was mind blowing. She kept you hanging on from the very beginning to the end. I literally couldn't get enough.

'Beware the fury of a patient man' 

I've clicked the book as a dark read, but I wouldn't say it was dark, just darkish. It's very explicit, sexy and hot. It always has scenes where you'll want to shake a few of the characters. Everything is so hidden, so secretive and we never really get down to the reasons why they torment Rika until the end of the book and even then I wanted to roll my eyes. Even I could tell she'd never do something like that. 

Micheal holds so much anger, so much resentment it's hard to like him at first. Yeah, he's hot, yes, he cares for Rika, but he does have a funny way of showing it. 

All in all, Penelope went out of her normal boundaries writing this and took a chance publishing it. I can honestly say she did a brilliant job. 
I had read Misconduct not long before Corrupt and couldn't get on with it. I stopped at 30% which is why there isn't a review up. So when I came across this I was a little unsure. There were a few bad reviews, but it was a friend that got me to read it. She loved it and I was so glad she pushed me into it. 

The story is high on adrenaline and you feel every emotion. It was brilliant. 

4.5*


Friday, 1 January 2016

Breaking Love By B B Reid



She’s the girl who got away, but now she’s back… 

Four years was all it took. 
I told myself I didn’t need friends. I didn’t need family. I sure as fuck didn’t need him. 
And you know what? 
I was right. 
He had been inside of me, coursing through my veins. 
So I cut and bled Dash Chambers until I was free. 
But the day I returned to Six Forks and was thrown at his feet, I realized I would never forget how it felt to have every inch of him inside me. 

...and he’s waiting. 

Angel thought if she ran far enough, she’d be free. 
What’s mine will always be mine. 
This time I do things my way. 


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review..... 

This story was one I was waiting for. I had thought it would be the best one. 
When Keenan and Sheldon's daughter gets kidnapped, the kidnappers mention having two girls. I thought Willow would be the second one. I was wrong. 

Don't get me wrong, I still love the series, but for me, Breaking Love wasn't as good as the others. 
It didn't have that depth that the others had. I think Willow and Dash needed more excitement. It wasn't until the end really that it got interesting.

Willow comes back to town a different person. Not only does she not dress the same, but her attitude is tougher than before too. She stands up for herself and against Keiran who had tortured her best friend for years. 

The part I did love was getting to know Willow's past. More secrets. 
But what I loved the most was Dash at the end. It was brilliant. 

I don't want to give too much away, but I will say I will be reading the rest in the series. 

3*

Unlawful Justice By KC Lynn & K Langston



Seek the truth and you will find justice. 

The peaceful town of Harmony Falls, Texas, has been rocked to its core by an unspeakable crime. 

One that harbors revenge and injustice. 

Schoolteacher Olivia Bradshaw can’t remember what happened that horrific night, but it’s easy to see the effect it’s had on those around her. All she wants is for peace to be restored to her beloved hometown, but Deputy Grayson Taylor is on a different mission. He seeks truth and justice, and he’ll do whatever it takes to find both for Olivia. 

Lines will be crossed. 

Secrets revealed. 

Can justice prevail, or will the citizens of Harmony Falls succumb to the corruption and hate that continues to plague their small town? 

K.C. Lynn and K. Langston have teamed up to bring you a story about hate, race, corruption, injustice, and above all, love. A story that may change the way you view the world. 


I'm finally able to upload this review. It's taken me a while to get the blog working again, and now it's up and running, I wanted this to be the first review I posted. 

2015 was a year of great book, but this one will always stick out for me. 

I received an ARC of Unlawful Justice in exchange for an honest review. 

The teasers for this novel did not do the book justice. From the very first page I know this book was going to be powerful. And boy, was it powerful. 

The is placed in a small town called Harmony Falls. The place has a lot of history. Some good, some dark and some really dark. It also has hidden secrets. 
The story begins on such a high. I was literally at the edge of my seat, and it kept me that way all the way through. 
Olivia, the town sweetheart is caught up in the middle. When she's used as retaliation, something seriously bad happens to her. 
My heart had literally broken at this point and I honestly didn't know if I'd be able to put it back together. She's such a loving, good, kind, and generous character. She holds no judgment on anyone and is always looking at the good in people. 
When she's attacked I thought she'd lose that. But if anything, it brought that strength out in her. 
All she wanted was to get her town back to how it was. But with what happened to her, it started something, that would be hard to finish. 

Grayson Taylor is called to Olivia's farm when there's a break in, there's instant connection. He's working on a case that involves farms being broken into, crops stolen and barns burnt down. 

Grayson is the one to find Olivia and save her when she's hurt and my God. I felt like I was standing above watching the whole scene. It felt so real. Just thinking about it now has my heart beating faster. 
Their relationship from there only grows. He's so sweet to her. Protective. But more, he's there for her in a way she needs him to be there. 

Their romance continues into a beautiful, raw, and so powerful that you won't want it to end. 

But more than that, this story is just so much more. It's based on the actions, an consequences of racism. The two authors have gone above and beyond to get this novel to where it is. 
I want to write so much more. Talk about how powerful and emotional the story is. But I want everyone to feel what I felt when I read the story. To get enraptured in the story and the romance. 

5* 

I wish I could give it more, because it honestly does deserve it. I've found it hard to find a book that made me feel what this book did when I read it. It was amazing. 


"Seek the truth and you will find justice."  

Wednesday, 21 October 2015

Transparent (Luminous Duet #2) By Erin Noelle



Her elusive past didn't worry me, 
Her heartbreaking scars never made me cringe, 
And her haunting demons only made me a stronger man, 
But the day Blake Martin was stolen from me, 
I was scared to death. 
Prepared to do anything necessary to get her back, 
Little did I know it just might cost me my life. 
My name is Madden Decker, and this is my story.


This is book two in the duet series. I loved the first book and was so gutted when it ended. I remember screaming at the phone because of the huge cliffhanger it leaves us on. 
So you can believe it when I say I was excited to read this one.

Only to find it disappointing. I don't know whether it's because the author left a huge time gap between the two books been released or what, but the story just wasn't what I expected. I had built up so much high hopes only to have them shot down. 
It took me ages to get into the book, and I found it predictable. 
I knew what was going to happen before it even happened, and some parts seemed like they were just written to pass time, or for the author make the story longer. I don't know. 

I will say, near the ending it had me in tears. We meet new characters, and questions are answered. We meet Raze, the one person has can finally help Blake, but at what cost? 

They expect Blake to do the unthinkable, to cover their own backs,  but what will happen to her when she follows out their orders? The only one that can answer that question is also the person who kidnapped her, and saving her. 

I think the author should have given us more action, it's mentioning the mafia after all, and no one crosses the mafia. The whole ending should have been more exciting. After everything we read in the first book this one should have outdone it, but for me, it was really disappointing. 

However, I will rate the book a 3* because in some way, the two still managed to get an ending. 

Thursday, 10 September 2015

Fear Us (Broken Love Book Three) By B.B. Reid



KEENAN 

It’s been four years since I ran away—from home, my brother, and my maybe father. I created a life free of expectations while pretending I wasn’t being hunted by all of the above. I managed to stay under the radar all this time… or so I thought. When big brother shows up and saves my ass, I’m forced to face everything I left behind, including her. 

SHELDON 

It’s been four years since I became another statistic. I made a lot of mistakes when it came to Keenan Masters. The first was loving him at all. He took something from me the night he left, and when I told him I still loved him, he told me he’d always hate me. After that, I learned how to be okay… until he came back. Gone was the boy who always knew how to make me laugh, and in his place was a cold, arrogant monster. 



Firstly, I received Fear us as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Please note, that everything that is about to spill out into my review is not from hate, but from everything the book has made me feel. Which is what an author looks for when publishing a book. They want you to get angry, get upset, get annoyed etc. 

Secondly, when reading this book and the other two, I always here EMINEM FT RIHANA ~ LOVE THE WAY YOU LIE. Anyone else think the song is perfect for this series? 

Keenan, Keenan, Keenan. 
What can I say? Well, for one he's not the fucked up lovable character I was rooting for in the first two series. He's cold, calculated and a complete jerk. I always found it hard to understand Lake's love for Keiran, but during the second book I got it. 
But with Keenan, I didn't feel it, nor did I understand it. 

To understand what I mean more, you need to read it for yourself, but this book, as much as I loved it, made me furious. It's where the Eminem song came in. LOL 
Sheldon, four years on, is a single mother to Keenan's daughter, Kennedy. She's a lovable, forward three year old, and is so freaking cute it's untrue. I loved Keiran's interactions with her, he played the uncle pretty freaking well, and I loved seeing that side to him. 
Then he goes and finds Keenan, who has run off to do god knows what with god knows who ;) ;) 

When Kennedy is taken, Keenan is forced back and has the shock of his life. But instead of stepping up, taking responsibility, he blamed it all on Sheldon. Her kidnapping, her getting ********* and everything. It made my blood boil when they all accused her for being a bad mother because she couldn't protect her. I'm sorry, but crossed the line for me. It made me furious. 
And although I'm writing this and it may come across as negative, it's coming from a good place. This is what BB Reid brought out of me. 
Fear us isn't a fairy romance novel. It's raw, it's gritty, it's sickening, and its dark. It's not a boy meets girl and lives happily ever after. 

Keenan, in the four years away seemed to have changed when we see the book in his POV, but it soon turns out it's all an act. 

The story will have you on your toes, gripping your kindle, book, ebook, etc in a tight grasp and shouting until your throat hurts. 
Keenan is damaged, not only by neglectful parents, but from broken promises, broken love, and Keiran drilling it into his head hurting people is for his best interest. 

Sheldon, bless her heart is a strong woman. Not only is she in full time education, but she's also a single, full time mother who lives on her own. She tried to find Keenan at one point in the four years, but as time passed she resented him even more. He cheated, he lied, he manipulated her, then had the audacity to accuse her and treat her like she's the one in the wrong. I wanted to smack that boys head up the wall and tell him to wake up. He had a girl that loved him, forgave him time and time again, but then treated her like she was the one who had been unfaithful. 

It's a rocky relationship between everyone and Keenan, and the stress levels are high in the book. 

What really got to me though was Keenan's behavior towards Sheldon, the mother of his child. He hurt her. And I don't mean spanked her ass, and made her scream. 
I mean the sort of hurt that could get him arrested. He physically abused her, nearly killing her more than once, and she still slept with him. She didn't even like him. It wasn't the sort of torture Keiran inflicted on Lake. His was pleasurable to her, and he only hurt her emotionally. Whereas Keenan really wanted to kill her. It was wrong, and with a child in the picture no less. I just thought this was wrong. Really wrong and it made my blood boil. I wanted Sheldon to run away, to escape. She was willing to put her daughter in the line of fire with him. That is the only time I found her to be a bad mother. I wanted her to step up and tell him, I don't want you near our daughter. If you could hurt me so easily, be so callous and cruel, what is stopping you from touching our daughter like that when she steps out of line. 

That was the only sore subject for me. 
But like I said, the book isn't about happily ever afters and although he doesn't redeem himself, we do see a tiny glimpse of the old Keenan towards the end. 

The story line is well written and very well thought out. I can't wait to read the next one in the series. B.B.Reid really knows how to get your heart pumping. 

5*

Sunday, 30 August 2015

Slammer By Tabatha Vargo



The last place Christopher Jacobs, aka X, thought he’d find himself was behind bars. Ten years later, the boy he used to be is gone. In his place is the shell of a man with murder under his belt. Any emotion he once had was left under the gavel when he was given life in prison. That is until the new nurse in the infirmary joins the block. 
Putting your hands on a prison employee will get you the hole, but some things are worth their punishment, and something tells him Lyla will be worth more than he bargained for. 

Lyla Evans isn’t sure about her new job at a maximum security prison, but showing uncertainty and weakness isn’t an option. Taking care of murders and rapist isn’t ideal, but survival is key. She’s warned ahead of time about a prisoner named X, but when she’s attacked, it’s the dangerous X that saves her. Fraternizing with the prisoners is forbidden, but sometimes the most forbidden things are the sweetest. 


Warning, this is a VERY DARK read and does have rape in it, so I strongly suggest you have a strong stomach. Although I didn't read the scene, and moved past it once I realized what was happening, it still made me feel sick reading about the after affects on the incident. 

This book is NOTHING like I thought it would be. I'd been hoping it would be a strong case of wrongly excused. And without giving anything away, the books is so much more. There are so many hidden turns, so many hidden twists that I didn't see the ending coming. No matter how much you tried to work your mind around what was going on, it still fucks with your head. 

I'm not going to go into what happens through the book, or describe each character to you, or what I enjoyed most about the book. This is one book you can't review like that. It needs to be read going in blind. A must read.

It's brilliantly written and you can tell Tabatha has put a lot of work into this book, you can see that with every page you turn. 

4*

Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Among the Echoes (Wrecked and Ruined #2.5) By Ali Martinez



My name was Dr. Erica Hill. I was a victim, then a witness, and then I ceased to exist altogether. 

I may still be breathing, but stripped of my identity, I have long since stopped living. I am invisible, and my life depends on my ability to stay in the shadows. 

But he sees me. 

Slate Andrews is the embodiment of everything I have been taught to avoid. He’s rich and famous, and one image of him with a woman would earn millions for any paparazzi lucky enough to snap it. He has vowed to protect me with his life, yet he exposes me with his every breath. I should be stronger and walk away. I should disappear. But I’m terrified he would come after me. 

I’m on the run, determined not to take him down with me but absolutely unable to let him go. 

My name is Riley Peterson…at least for today.


I honestly don't know how Riley aka Erica was able to live with Leo for as long as she did. I know she felt some kind of thanks for saving her, but he also stood by and watched, in fact, he stood guard while they attacked her viciously. 

That said, I could also feel her love towards him, and the need to protect each other. 
This is a darker read, and has to do with Erica witnessing a murder, then been kidnapped, raped repeatedly, before she was able to escape them killing her. 
They have been looking for her ever since, and she has been running from town to town, city to city with different identities each time. So many in fact, she's forgotten who she is. That is until she meets Slate. 

Not only does her scare away her demons, but he helps her move forward. In the coming end, he is the hero in her story. 

When the time comes, and Riley's past catches up with, she needs to be strong enough to fight back, to fight for her life back, because she might be alive, but she wasn't living.

It was a gripping story, and have read it a few times by now. I'm also glad we got Leo's book, because it made me look on him completely different. 

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

321 Three Two One By J.A.Huss




ONE GIRL
Battered, barefoot, and huddled under a bookstore awning in the pouring rain, Blue only knows one thing. After fifteen months of captivity, finally... she is free.

TWO FRIENDS
Self-made millionaires JD and Ark are not out to save anyone when they stumble upon a wet and shivering girl one early Sunday morning. But when you sell sex for a living and salvation rings your bell... you answer the call.

THREE SOULMATES

After years of searching, love lifts the veil of darkness, and three people--with three very big secrets--find themselves bound together in a relationship that defies the odds.

Or does it?
Love. Lust. Sex.
This trinity might be perfection... but not everything should come in 3's.



WOW!!! is all I can say. 
And not in a good way. 

JD and Arc find Blue in the rain, soaking wet, and looking worse for wear. Does it stop them from pushing a desperate girl to have sex with them. Some might not say this is what they did, that it's not classed as rape, but in some way YES IT IS. 
They knew she was in no right mind, drugged, obviously hurt and desperate to get home to her family, rather than go back to where she had just escaped from. So, normal human beings would call the police, help her, no they basically push her to do sexual acts in front of a camera. 

The book goes on to the same, and I will admit, I couldn't get into it and found myself skimming through most of it. 

Blue is broken, she enjoys being hurt during sex so that she can get off, but she also loves the softer side of it. Which is where Ark and JD come in. JD loves to hurt her, be rough with her, where as Ark wants to make love to her and just LOVE her. 
Both of them have their secrets, their hidden personalities, but one thing JD doesn't hide is his need to hurt his women, to be forceful, to mark them. I don't think Blue actually wanted to be hurt, I just think been in the place she was before had made her feel like that is what she liked. 

Anyway, the book goes on and certain things are revealed, but this book is not something I enjoyed, liked or recommend. It's defo not my thing. Nothing wrong with the writing, and I'm not saying the book is crap, because it probably isn't to some people, I just didn't ENJOY the story line. 

1*

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

Fading (The Fading series #1) By E.K.Blair



Can a guilty conscience keep wounds from healing? 

Fine arts major, Candace Parker, grew up with a mother who thinks image is everything, and her daughter’s perfection will never be good enough. About to graduate college and pursue her dreams of becoming a professional ballerina, Candace decides it’s time to let go and have a little fun. But fun is short-lived when a brutal attack leaves her completely shattered. 

The memories that consume and torment Candace are starting to destroy her when she meets Ryan Campbell, a successful bar owner. He feels instantly connected and tries to show her that hope is worth fighting for. But is Ryan harboring his own demons? As walls slowly begin to chip away, the secrets that are held within start to become painful burdens. 

At what point do secrets become lies? 


Fading was recommended by a friend of mine and I'm glad I got a chance to read it. 
The book starts of in Ryan's point of view. He's in his office, fed up with nameless girls when he hears a girl outside screaming. When he goes outside to check he's shocked by what awaits him. 

The story then continues in Candace POV. Her character is strong, funny, sweet and kind. It shows her meeting up with a guy she knows through her parents club called Jack, who she goes on a date with. When she admits she doesn't feel a connection to him she goes out with him one last time to break it off with him. 
What should have been an easy let down turns into something horrific for Candace. She runs from the party scared out of her mind, to be chased down by said Jack and raped brutally. 
This part of the story I skipped, as I couldn't read it, so I have no idea what happened here, but I skipped to the hospital and from there on out I cried. I cried for the girl she was, for the hell she was living and for what happened to her. The story is so emotionally bang on E.K.Blair couldn't have written it any better. It brings out everything and I honestly felt like I was sitting beside Candace and involved with her story. 
She shuts everyone out apart from one of her best friends who is gay. Their relationship is what gets her through the worst part, but it's meeting Ryan that helps her move on. 

The story continues with her fears, her lack of social life and what have you. It really brings out the emotions when reading it.

Candace has a bad relationship with her parents because she wants to become a dancer. But when her dancing career is jepodized because of her lack of emotions after her attack, things start to feel worse for her. I really admired her strength to get through it but there were time I screamed in my head at the book and wished she would press charges. She had so much evidence to prove it was him that attacked her, who hurt her, yet she let him roam free to move on with his life. I don't know what I would have done in her situation, I could see her point at not wanting to press charges, but she could have erased her fear of him. She was so scared about seeing him, about him popping up out of nowhere that she could have prevented that. 

Anyway, her story doesn't end there. It turns out Ryan is hiding his own secret, one he didn't know for sure about until things happen to get heated between the two. 
I felt the booked dragged a third of the way through and I just wanted it to end, but I enjoyed the ending. I'm glad I didn't give up with it because I really did enjoy it and it's the beautiful, heartbreaking story around. It's not all about doom and gloom, but about strength and moving on. It really was a brilliant read. 

4*

Friday, 1 May 2015

Fear you (Broken Love #2) By B.B.Reid



What happens when she’s had enough? 

Lake Monroe has given in to her childhood tormentor too many times. She knows it, he knows it, and even their enemies know it. When he returned after being found guilty of a crime he didn't commit—a crime he thought she set him up for, he returned darker than ever, demanding her body and her submission. To survive him, she knew she had to give in to fear once more or suffer the deadly consequences... 

But Lake experienced what it was like to submit to the dark and demanding boy who invaded her dreams. Now she’ll experience what it’s like to fight him. 

What happens when he wants more? 

Keiran Masters has a past that is both shocking and dark. Once enslaved, he now has demons he can’t escape—demons that have followed him for ten years, demons he blames his beautiful obsession for. He promised to make her pay. He promised to make her break... 

But when Keiran conquered her body and tasted her submission, he found a new addiction instead—one he has no intentions of giving up. 

As secrets unfold, 
Identities are revealed, 
Danger closes in, 
And they both discover what it really means to fear...


I was given an ARC for an honest review.... 

So glad I got the chance to read and review this book. After the first one left us hanging I was excited to see how this would play out and if Lake had finally grew some balls. 
A lot of things are explained in the book, a lot of twists unfolded and it was great. The suspense keeps you on your toes, and has you gripping the edge of your seat. 

Keiran is a hard character for me to explain. He's so dark, so angry, so controlling that you have to hate him, but there is just something about him that you can't help but be drawn too and it kills you for liking him even a little. 

Lake on the other hand gave me whiplash in this book. Sometimes I felt like she needed the spanking just to get through to her because it was like she could hear him, but she wasn't actually listening and at times even I wanted to smack her LOL 
I still don't think his obsession with her is a healthy one, I can never understand the way he wants to kill her but keep her at the same time, but in this book it's finally all brought to life. 

Speaking of..... Keiran's past is brought up a lot and we go back in time to certain scenes that shaped who he became and it was so hard to read. I ended up in tears more times than I like to count, the scenes were so perfectly written you couldn't help it. Especially when I have an eight year old daughter and thinking of how tiny she is and how tiny Keiran must have been I just couldn't fantom how someone could do that to a child, never mind one actually going through what he did.

I did feel like it dragged a lot towards the end and wished it would finish. Then when a certain piece isn't explained or finished I got really annoyed. But then..... I read the third book is going to be Keenan's and Sheridan's. I love this too but I can't help but feel that Keenan is going to turn into something I'm not gonna like, and I really like who he is now.

4*