Showing posts with label young adult. Show all posts
Showing posts with label young adult. Show all posts

Saturday, 15 October 2016

Always (Carter Kids #1.5) By Chloe Walsh



Jordan and Hope have been best friends their entire lives. A three year age gap never mattered to them – they always remained inseparable. 

Jordan spent his whole life protecting the little girl who called his father Uncle Derek, and Hope spent her whole life adoring the boy with the green eyes. 
From slumber parties to camping holidays the pair have always been together, enjoying each other's company, guiding one another. 

But then, at thirteen, Jordan's mother moved him back to his hometown of Addyson, his whole life, his future, was transformed. 

Taken away from his father, his hope, Jordan spent the next few years completely closed off.

When the time comes for Jordan to finally return to Thirteenth Street, Hope discovers something is very wrong...

First, I want to say, I didn't read this until I read the third book. I didn't see it. 
I read Treacherous, the first book in the Carter kids series when it was first released, so it's been a while. I think I should have read it before reading these to be honest, but I honestly thought I had remembered everything. 
Because I couldn't remember Jordan and Hope getting married. 

There is a warning to this book that says explicit scenes, but I honestly don't think it was necessary. There's not much in here that isn't written in the other three books. Which is why I was disappointed and confused to why it was written. The only thing that I felt was needed, which could have been written in the beginning of their future book, was a quick run through of how they fell in love and become a couple.

Because I do feel we didn't need a teaser, we are teased enough during the other two. But I will have to point out now, although this isn't in the other book, that I wish she'd be with Lucky. I really liked him. You'll meet him in Thorn.

Sunday, 18 September 2016

#Bae (Hashtag series 8) By Cambria Hebert

Image result for bae cambria hebert


Happily-ever-after.
That's what happens when you get married.
Right?
Turns out sparkly rings, cake and a fantastic wedding do not automatically grant you that, not even when it's all you truly want.
I'm even starting to doubt the bottomless, unconditional love I share with the man I married will be enough.
I can't have happily ever after, know why?
Because I can't give Romeo what he truly wants. I've tried. So hard. I won't be happy unless he is and something is missing. Someone.
Paparazzi are in my face. The flashing cameras and prying eyes are everywhere. My secret is getting harder to hide, and I know the second the scoop is dished the grip I have on the fraying rope of that happily ever after will snap right in my face.
In our face.
I can't let that happen. No matter what.
Because with or without a happy ending, Romeo comes Before Anyone Else.



Holy Hell!!!!

What a great way to end a series. I loved it. 
I don't want to get into the story since it will ruin a lot for you as a reader. 
I do recommend you read this series in order. That way you'll get to know the characters from the beginning. 

I've enjoyed this series so much. I've loved it, got hooked to it and feel like the characters have become my own family. Cambria did a fantastic job with this book, with the whole series. This is one series I'll always recommend. It's one everyone is guaranteed to fall in love with. 

5*

Friday, 10 July 2015

Dare to Dream (Maxwell #2) By S.B.Alexander


Link coming soon

Bad boy Kade Maxwell knows all too well the pain and loss of the death of a loved one after his sister’s death tore his family—especially his mother—to pieces. He longs for the day his mother can heal from the mental anguish and return home to live with her family again. He prays every day that God will keep his brothers safe and that his father will one day be reunited with his wife. He doesn’t dream of his future. In fact, he had nightmarish glimpses of what his life would’ve been like as an adult until he met Lacey. She’s a light that cuts through his darkness. Her beauty, her determination, and her dedication in overcoming her own tragedy energizes his belief that maybe—just maybe—he can dream again.

Lacey Robinson has suffered tragedy at the hands of a killer who took away her sister and mother. After a change of scenery and a new life, her PTSD is on the mend. With the love and strength from Kade Maxwell and the help of her psychiatrist, she’s been able to work on the triggers that cause her panic attacks and blackouts. With a clear head and a clear road to the future, Lacey dreams of three things: She longs to find the person who killed her family. She wants to play baseball for ASU so bad she can taste it. And she wants a future with Kade Maxwell. But with several roadblocks thrown in her way, she may not get everything she wants. A trip to California opens a door that could expose the killer. Aaron Seever is up to his psychotic, bullying antics, and Kade has his own path for the future, one Lacey isn’t sure includes her.

Kade vows to love and protect Lacey even if that means his life for hers. Lacey vows to push through her demons and show Kade and her family that she has what it takes to rise above tragedy, even if she has to run into the arms of a killer to save a loved one.



For those who know me, know I've been waiting for this book for what seems like FOREVER!!!!!

I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

In the first book we know Lacey is struggling to come to terms with her PTSD and the murders of her mother and sister. All she wants to concentrate on is being accepted into ASU to play baseball. 

From the blurb I expected more from Aaron, but surprisingly after one little scene that stuff went away. Yes it was still there, but it wasn't a huge issue like it was in book one. Which kind of disappointed me. I wanted him to have some payback for his actions. After all, Karma is a bitch. 

The story changes drastically from the first book and there were times where I honestly felt like giving up, but my love for the characters was enough to keep me reading. 
I felt like in this book we see an entirely new Lacey. One that doesn't even know what she wants or who she hurts in the process. I will say she breaks up with Kade. It's not even for a ligament reason. She just ends it, not seeing what he's doing is protecting her, and trying not to come between her family. 

The whole story of her mother and sisters death is revealed and surprised me to the core. Had I not stuck with this book I would have missed an epic read. It may have been slow at the beginning for me, but in the end I couldn't put it down. I had issues with Lacey throughout the book and found myself feeling more and more sorry for Kade. I honestly thought she was selfish. 
Some parts were predictable, but even still it surprised me with the outcome. I honestly can't wait to read the next in the series and more from the brothers. 
S.B.Alexander is an amazing writer and I'm so glad I had the privilege of receiving an ARC.

4.5* 

Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Wild reckless By Ginger Scott



Kensington Worth had a vision for her senior year. It involved her best friends, her posh private school in downtown Chicago and time alone with her piano until her audition was perfected, a guaranteed ticket into the best music programs in the world. 

Instead, a nightmare took over. 

It didn’t happen all at once, but her life unraveled quickly—a tiny thread that evil somehow kept pulling until everything precious was taken from her. She was suddenly living miles away from her old life, trapped in an existence she didn’t choose—one determined to destroy her from the inside, leaving only hate and anger behind. It didn’t help that her neighbor, the one whose eyes held danger, was enjoying every second of her fall. 

Owen Harper was trouble, his heart wild and his past the kind that’s spoken about in whispers. And somehow, his path was always intertwined with Kensington’s, every interaction crushing her, ruining her hope for any future better than her now. Sometimes, though, what everyone warns is trouble, is exactly what the heart needs. Owen Harper was consumed with darkness, and it held onto his soul for years. When Kensington looked at him, she saw a boy who’d gotten good at taking others down when they threatened his carefully balanced life. But the more she looked, the more she saw other things too—good things…things to admire. 

Things…to love. Things that made her want to be reckless. 

And those things…they were the scariest of all.


Freaking hell, we need more books like this one. 

Kens moves to a new, small town with her parent's. Never really knowing why or really wanting too. In fact, she rebels against it. 
When she meets her hot new neighbor Owen, she's immediately drawn to his bad boy charm, dark memorizing eyes, and his soul. 

When she starts her new school, she makes her first friend through band practice. The one her father has demanded she attend. This is the first altercation takes place and realises what a jackass he really is. 

The two become enemy's as such, but it doesn't stop Kens from fantasizing over him. 

Owen is kind of the black sheep so to speak. After his dads death he and his brothers and mother are talk of the town. All he's ever wanted is to get through highschool, keep his younger brother through school and get the hell out of there. but when Kens turns up, everything changes. 


Secrets are held, hearts are broken and lives are torn apart, but one thing is for sure, the only one Kens can rely on to tell her the truth is Owen. The two become close, and soon they are falling for one another. That is until another bump blocks them and has them fighting for each other. That is, until Owen stops fighting and lets the darkness that weighs down on his shoulders smoother him. 

The story is brilliantly thought out and I enjoyed it so much. 

5*

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Save me (Make or break #3) By Amanda Heath



Courtney Pierce never thought he would love anyone but Annabella Gage. She was his entire world for eleven years. Even though she was dating his older brother, he couldn’t seem to let her go. Then things shifted and lines became blurred. Pierce wasn’t sure whose bed Annabella should be in anymore. 

But Annabella has secrets. Dark secrets she will do anything to protect. So like the crazy witch that she is, she rips Pierce’s heart to shreds and devastates his soul. He’s left with the emotional wreckage and no way out in sight. 

Then Rachel Sanders drop kicks into his life. The beautiful brunette is utterly hard to resist and one night of intense passion leads to an unexpected surprise. A surprise that has all their friends shocked, because Rachel and Pierce couldn’t be more different. 

Now he’s left with one option and it doesn’t include Annabella. Rachel, though, is full of surprises and Pierce finds their relationship so incredibly easy. Way easier than what he had with Annabella. So easy he finds he didn’t even know what love was before Rachel. 

But like any twisted love story, Pierce is hiding dark secrets, too. Secrets that he feels will rip he and Rachel apart. When push comes to shove will Pierce spill those secrets? And if he does, will they separate the new lovers before they even have a chance to begin? 

Much like Pierce and Annabella, someone else has something to hide. Let’s hope Rachel sticks around because when this secret comes out. , she’ll be the only one who can save Pierce


This has to be the best book out of the series. 
I've loved getting to know all the characters, but by far, Pierce and Rach have to have been the most entertaining and heartbreaking of them all. Half the time I didn't know whether to laugh or to cry. 

After both being in bad relationships they find it easy being with each other. It isn't until insecurities happen that everything turns to shit. 

Pierce starts calling another girls names while he sleeps, but in all fairness they are nightmares, and because Rachel doesn't think she's good enough and having been cheated on by her ex.... can you see where I'm going? She leaves him. 

Both of them are miserable without each other. Getting to know them as friends, then as a couple, and then reading about them apart, I can tell you, no one should be together like these two should. They were perfect for each other. Even though both of them are totally opposite from what the other one's personality is.

I couldn't put the book down and read it within one sitting. Be prepared to have a lot of awweeeee moments because I sure as hell did LOL 

5*

Break me (Make or break #2) By Amanda Heath



Wesley Bridges was lost between the living and the dead. She was clinging to her boyfriend, who passed away unexpectedly. She was left with having no way to move on. Her best friends, Annabella and Pierce were too caught up in each other to save her. Even her family turned a blind eye, not able to bear her grief. 

Then one day, Royal Sanders walked into her life. Tall, dark and sinfully handsome, but aren’t all the unattainable ones? At first it was nothing. She was asked to tutor him and found he’s different than even she thought. She even turned to Royal when things got too hard. And when she falls for him, she falls hard. 

But Royal’s the enemy. A long drawn out hatred brews between her friends and Royal’s. That doesn’t seem important to her, considering she’s still in love with her dead boyfriend. A love triangle between life and death…who will win? 

Grief is a powerful emotion but there are several different kinds of grief. Betrayal and heartache are still knocking on her door. Things are about to come crashing down around her. It will definitely break her, but will Royal be enough to save her? 


How did I not know this was out???????????
I'm a huge book nerd and make it a weekly thing to make sure what new releases are out etc etc. 
Now..... 
I had started reading Make me again and I loved it.... just like I did the first time if not more. Then, when I finished this book came up as a recommendation. I didn't even know it was freaking released. 

If you don't remember, in the first one Channing and Paisley had just found out someone is pregnant.... that there was the cliffhanger. 

In this book we have the funny, good looking, easy going, and charmer Royal. I loved his character in the first one, so I have to admit I freaking adored him in this one. His character to me couldn't get any better. Not just the things he did for Wes. 

Wes lost her boyfriend suddenly and hasn't managed to come to terms with his loss. Now, I know what your all thinking..... but no, it's not one of those depressing books where you want to go put on depressing music. It's actually funny, sexy and enjoyable. Yes, it has emotional parts, but she lost her boyfriend for christ sakes..... leave her alone. 
Anyway..... 
She not only lost her boyfriend but her bestfriend Annabella ... Ella....or what have you and her cousin Pierce had also abandoned her. When she needed them most they were to caught up in each other than to see how much she was breaking.
Take out why she was sad, depressed and lonely and just see the situation with Pierce and Ella, then you'll see that this happens with most school kids their age. I'm actually glad they put in that part because it showed Ella's true colours. Why Wes forgave her so easily is beyond me. 

Royal, after having Wes teach him History, which happens to be her favourite subject... gets to know Wes and I mean the real Wes. She doesn't hide who she is or how she's really feeling when she's around him. I liked that about their relationship. 

They have a bumpy road, but you'll have to read it because I promise it has a HEA.... and we all love those. Really LOVED this book.

4*

Monday, 26 January 2015

Keela (Slater brothers Novella 2.5) By L.A.Casey



Keela Daley is stressed out. She is moving out of her dog box sized apartment and into her first house with her fiancĂ©. Moving house is a dreaded task, and Keela would love nothing more than for things to go quietly and smoothly, but when you’re engaged to a Slater brother, nothing goes quietly or smoothly. Nothing. 

Alec Slater loves his woman. He also loves playing games and surprising her. Picking moving day to do both, turns out to be a failure of epic proportions. Alec wants to make it up to Keela for his mistakes, but as the day goes on, and things go from bad to worse, he doesn’t know if living with him is something she wants anymore. 

What started out as a simple day of packing and moving house turns into the day from Hell. Unwanted house guests. Business propositions. Alcohol. Pregnancy tests. Panic attacks. Fighting. Arguing. Sex, and everything else that is crazy and represents the name Slater. Keela has a choice to make, and not one she will make lightly. 

Keela adores Alec, and what Keela adores, Keela cherishes.


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Okay, first off, this has nothing to do with the story.... kind of. 
When I first read by L.A.Casey that she was doing novellas in between the books, I got excited. I thought we were going to get little snippets of the brothers POV. Especially with how this one ends, it would be really good to see some in one of the brothers POV. We get a whole novel of the girls, then another with the girls POV.... seems pointless.... I want to get into those boys mind argh LOL. 

Anyway, I really enjoyed Keela. I do wish we got it in Alec's POV, but still. I really do think it was a great way to start off the new novel for Kane. It really has me dying to read it. I want to know what's going on. 

Anyway, the story is about them moving, about Keela and her fears. Which are all things woman freak over. I've moved so many times I know how stressing it can be, so I felt for Keela. Only thing I can't believe is that they packed up and unpacked in a day. Okay, unpacking part yeah, cause I've done that. But, to start packing the day you leave?? I want to know their secret. When I moved from my flat to my first house, it had taken me a whole bloody week LOL 

I loved the way they played games on the boys and how they reacted. Especially Kane. He had me in stitches. 

The ending is emotional. I can't wait to read his story and to read L.A.Casey writing a serious and emotional story line. If it's going how I think it's going LOL I may be totally wrong. But I love Kane. 

Make sure you check out Keela before purchasing the next Slater brother novel. You also get the first chapter into Kane's book. Well, Adriana's. 

Oh and I love the DOG !!! He's like another character all together. Love him LOL 

3.5*

Eternal By Rachel Van Dyken



Lead singer of AD2 Demetri Daniels only wants one thing... 
To marry the love of his life and make the day perfect for her. 
But perfect isn't exactly happening, not with his sister-in-law going into labor, or with rabid fans discovering their wedding location, or birds suddenly attacking the rehearsal dinner. 
It doesn't help matters that his bride to be is starstruck as singer Ashton Hyde makes a drop in appearance to start recording their new album. 
Nothing is going right. 
And it's about to get worse.


O M G..... 

It doesn't matter what book this woman publishes, she never fails to make me laugh until I'm crying. Or literally crying. She can swing it both ways. 
I love all her work. She is one author that just gets better with each book. She keeps each characters personality's different, there are never two the same. I love that about her books. How she manages it with having so many characters I don't know, but she pulls it off. 

I absolutely loved this book. The banter and ''friendship'' between Demetri and Ashton is hilarious, oh and best not forget Cabe. 

I honestly can't praise this book enough or the whole series. They really are worth the read and to see this two books merge into one has been so good. I loved the characters. Hopefully we read more about the tour. That is something I can't wait for. 

The only thing I will say is..... Demetri and Alyssa wait to have sex until their wedding night. In fact, it's a huge deal to both of them. They want it to be special etc... So why the hell did they have it on the kitchen side??? As hot as it was, I thought he'd want to take her to a bed and cherish her. 
Not a biggy, but still, thought I'd be honest. 

4.5* 

Fighter By Tijan



All of Dale's brothers help with their bounty hunting business, all except her. Wanting out of that life, she left for college, but on her first morning back home for the holidays, she’s back to chasing after a bail jumper. When she realizes the jumper is her ex-boyfriend, Jax, Dale gets dragged into helping him evade her brothers so he can win an underground fighting competition. Jax has to win the competition to help his sister, but soon sparks fly between Jax and Dale. Old wounds are reopened, and Dale may need help herself because she’s close to falling back in love with her Fighter. 


Fighter is only a short novella by Tijan and I have to say, this is the reason I hate novella's. I wanted MORE!!!! Although I am happy it's going to be released as a full length novel. 
Also, I'm praying like hell that the other brothers in this book get their own book too because I loved all the characters. 

It seems Dale broke up with her boyfriend after she thought he had cheated on her. He had also been going through a rough time back then, so them breaking up was the best thing to happen to Jax. 

Then, she comes back from college to work with her brothers, to find their bail jumper is no other than Jax. Once Dale finds out why he's out on bail in the first place, and why he can't get caught until a certain date, she decides to help Jax hide from her brothers. 

The book has so many humorous parts I don't know where to begin. The best for me was the chicken part. You'll know if you read it or if your going to read it because you'll be laughing too. 

All in all I really enjoyed it. 

4*

Saturday, 10 January 2015

Until you (Fall away series #1.5) By Penelope Douglas



Have you ever been so angry that hitting things felt good? Ever felt numb to all emotions?


The past few years have been like that for me. Traveling between fury and indifference with no stops in between. Some people hate me for it, while others are scared of me. But none of them can hurt me, because I don't care about anything or anyone.


Except Tatum.


I love her so much that I hate her. I hate that I can't let her go. We used to be friends, but I found out that I couldn't trust her or anyone else. So I hurt her. I pushed her away. But I still need her. She centers me. Engaging, challenging, bullying her - it's the last part of me that feels anything human.


But then she left for a year and came back a different girl. Now, when I push, she pushes back.


For everyone who loved Bully . . . This is Jared's story.


After reading the newest in the series Falling away I just had to read this one. I honestly hate reading the same book but in another POV. I feel like it's boring. This one though is the second book ever to make me feel like I was reading a completely new book. 
Seeing Bully written in Jared's POV had opened my eyes a little to things that confused me. I can remember reading Bully and wishing Penelope had written it in Jared's POV as well. 

It starts off from when Jared is just a boy and Tate moves in next to door, to move on to his dads, which also made us see his side of what happened. 
I actually kind of liked this version better, but I know for a fact I would have preferred the two POV'S in one book instead of two separate one's. Still, I'm glad I got to read both. They are brilliant. 

If you've read bully and think this one will just be the same it's not. You see things differently. It really did feel like a whole new book to me. I'm obsessed with this series now and can't wait for Tate and Jared's story to continue. For those who've read Falling away will know what I'm talking about. 

5* for Penelope 

Wednesday, 7 January 2015

Falling away By Penelope Douglas



Jaxon is the guy she's supposed to avoid . . .


K. C. Carter has always followed the rules - until this year, when a mistake leaves her the talk of her college campus and her carefully arranged life comes crashing to a halt. Now she's stuck in her small hometown for the summer to complete her court-ordered community service, and to make matters worse, trouble is living right next door.


K.C. is the girl he won't let get away . . .


Jaxon Trent is the worst kind of temptation and exactly what K.C. was supposed to stay away from in high school. But he never forgot her. She was the one girl who wouldn't give him the time of day and the only one to ever say no. Fate has brought K.C. back into his life - except what he thought was a great twist of luck turns out to be too close for comfort. As they grow closer, he discovers that convincing K.C. to get out from her mother's shadow is hard, but revealing the darkest parts of his soul is nearly impossible.


Jaxon..... K.C...... where do I begin?????? 

I have loved Jaxon since he got brought into the Fall away series. He intrigued me with his long dark hair, devilishly good looks and his computer nerd personality. 
I only got more curious when he sleeps with the mom in Rival. I never really saw him as someone like that until that back and it's then I realised that he went through more than just beatings from his dad. 
Why people like his dad have kids is beyond me, why do it if all your going to do is make a child's life miserable. Especially when he was happy in a foster home before his dad had taken him back. Anyway, his life was a pile of shit before he went to live with Jared and Katherine, Jared's mom. 
Jax has to keep telling himself during the book that he is clean, he is strong, he is worthy, and it really broke my heart to read. He showered so many times, refused to have his hair touched or cut because of his past. It truly is heartbreaking. 
In the midst of all this he's become well off, living in a house Jared mom left him filled with everything he ever needs and more. Has his cars and a million and one other things to keep him busy, instead of drowning over his past. 


Then we have K,C or who I've come to know now as Juliet. She comes from a strict family so to speak and although their abuse is different, Jax and Juliet share that burden. I honestly never saw more to K.C in the other books other than a rich girl, strict parents, and a little selfish in the first book, but reading this one and reading her side I felt so sorry for her. 
All she wanted was to be loved, and to love in return, she wanted to feel. 
In the book she is doing community service. Somehow (Thanks to Jax) She got to tutor at her old school. 
There's a part in the book that she takes her journals to the tutor session, letting her group read through them and I'm not joking when I say, it made me cry. I've never read anything so honest, so true and so raw before. It was beautiful and the way she helps them with certain entries of the journal was clever. 

Anyway, K.C moves in to Tate's old room as Tate doesn't live there, so she's living next door to Jax, the one person that has always made her feel. Which I can see why. 
Penelope has taken this book to a whole other level. It's seriously hot, and Jax just makes it that much hotter. I couldn't believe it, but this has to be my first book to hit my 2015 top book list. 

The book progresses and we see different sides to both characters and read more about the other characters and I'm excited to inform all you readers that Tate and Jared are getting another book. WHOOP!!!! 

All in all the book is brilliant and I'm so glad I read it. I'll be recommending this one throughout the year defo... and I can't wait to read more from this series. Seriously love the characters and Penelope's style of writing. 

5* even though it does deserve more ;)    

Tuesday, 6 January 2015

Jaden (Jaded series Book Three) By Tijan



Being framed for murder sucks. Being framed for the murder of your old friend-turned-enemy-turned-maybe-friend-again sucks even worse. The old Sheldon would’ve raised hell, but no, I’ve been nice. I’ve been quiet. I’ve not said a word while the headlines rip me to shreds, but now? All bets are off. I’m going to find out who did this to me and I’m going to make them pay. I don’t care who will get hurt in the process.


Oh My God!!!!

This has to be one of the best endings to a series EVER. I couldn't put the book down. 
From the start I honestly thought I had it all figured out. Then reading it I started to realize how wrong I really was. It didn't bother me though, it just kept me up until wee hours of the morning finishing it :) 

I will admit, I did predict certain things, but I don't think it's because they were easily guessed, I think it's because I'd got lucky. It didn't bother me though as there were things I didn't see coming in the novel which I really loved. 

I won't give away who she ends up with because I think everyone has their own idea. I will say I am happy who she does end up with, even though I couldn't choose, this one is the right one. You feel it during the book. I just wish we could have had a book between this one and still Jaded as to how her Bryse and Corrigan got into a love triangle. I think that would have made this series perfect. 
I had loved the first, felt lost in the second, and the third blew my mind. But it really did need that much more added for us all to get where the triangle came from. 

5* Well done Tijan. Can't wait to read more from you x

Unlikely Allies By Tiffany King



Eighteen-year-old Kimberly gets the shock of her life when she learns the father she thought was dead is not only very much alive, but never even knew she existed. Angry with her mother for lying all these years, Kimberly flies to Colorado to meet the father she knows nothing about before heading off to college in the fall.
Her father’s world turns out to be nothing like she expected. Rather than the typical nine to five lifestyle, Kimberly’s father runs a summer foster camp that teaches young children skills to build their confidence and self-esteem. The Colorado Rocky Mountains are a different world than the sunny shores of California, taking Kimberly completely out of her element, and causing her to second-guess her spur of the moment decision. 
Never being one to quit anything, Kimberly is determined to show her father that a surfer girl can fit into this rugged mountain wilderness. That is if she can deal with Mason, an arrogant nineteen-year-old guy who has made it his mission to point out every mistake she has made since her arrival. While she would love nothing more than to rub it in his know-it-all face, Kimberly can’t deny the feelings he stirs up inside her, or the chemistry between them, even during their verbal assaults.
When a tragic accident leaves them stranded in the mountains, Kimberly must use her shaky skills to save Mason and survive the elements. Suddenly, fighting is the last thing on their minds as they must rely on each other if they want to live. In their struggle for survival, they realize what they thought they knew about each other isn’t true after all.


Kim never knew she had a father until her mother finally tells her. She travels to Colorado to meet him. What she expected was to spend time with her dad, get to know him as she's always craved to have a dad in her life. And to be fair, she has a pretty god damn good one. 

He runs a camp for foster kids, so when he informs her that she's going to be working there she's kind of worried about getting it right, about making him proud. 
That's when she meet's Mason, the boy who her father had fostered at a young age after he refused to leave the camp the first time he went, he has stayed there ever since. There first encounter and everyone after that is unpleasant to say the least. So, you'll know why I was completely shocked when on the night the storm happens, they kiss and she likes it. 

Anyway, they are both put in a serious situation, one where Mason has to rely on Kim to help him, to help them. 
It doesn't end good for either, and they go on like they never met but some how she can't move on from him. 

This is the only downfall to the book. There was NO chemistry between the two that I could take in account as to why they loved each other. They hardly knew each other. They basically knew OF each other. The time they did spend closely together was when they're in the situation that could cost them their lives, but even then, I didn't feel that connection. Sorry, just didn't feel it. That's the only problem, which is a pretty huge one being's as it's a romance novel, but you get my drift. 

The story line other than that and the ending, which I loved, were great and I found myself wanting to read more. 

3.5*

Wednesday, 17 December 2014

Roomie's By Lindy Zart



Graham Malone is my roommate, my personal eye candy, the reason I get up in the morning smiling (that could be from the illicit dreams I have about him too, I suppose. Let's move on.). He's also beautiful to look at, but his heart is where his true beauty lies. Take away the exterior and the interior still shines. 

I love him. I mean, I'm pretty sure I do, having never been in love before. Anyway, it seems legit. 

And now his brother Blake is here, and, well, he's the complete opposite of Graham. Sarcastic, brooding, and totally available. But he's leaving soon, and Graham's the one I want. I shouldn't have to remind myself of this, right? I wouldn't have to if Blake would quit looking at me like I'm something yummy and he's starving. 

Here's a toast to roomies; the ones you should never fall in love with. Or something.


This book had some fantastic reviews given, so I was like, I'm so reading this. It started out okay, the brother came bla bla bla and the story seemed okay. Some stuff was funny I will admit, it had me laughing, but some I just stared like HUH? What the hell LOL. 
Then about 33% in I started to get bored, so went to another book to get a break. Later when I went back to it, I realized I knew where the book was heading and who she was going to end up with etc. I honestly didn't want to read after 53% cause it dragged loads and I got really bored at the same things being done or said. The going back forth with who likes who, or admitting it etc. I just wanted to bang their heads together and I would you know, if I could and they were real LOL that's how much it annoyed me. As for the big secret as sorts between the brothers I was expecting more. Loads more, but there wasn't anything really. Yeah it's bad, but not as bad as it's made out to be. 

Anyway, I gave up so close to the end,.... why? I was bored to tears and just wanted to get to another book. I hate reading a book, whether I like it or not and not finish it. I hate it. This time, I didn't seem to mind as I was pretty much at the end anyway. 

2* for me.

Monday, 17 November 2014

Jaded (Jaded series #1) By Tijan



Sheldon doesn't care about anyone except Corrigan and Bryce. The three of them rule their school, but it seems someone else wants in on the action or that someone else just wants Sheldon. How many bodies is enough to prove their love to her?

I have had this on my TBR for so, so, so long. Because of the lack of blurb and the price it was originally at, I never wanted to take the chance. I'm glad I did though. 

I couldn't get into it at first, the characters reminded me so much of Logan, Sam and Mason. Only the opposite in certain areas. 

Like Logan is funny, whore, and always getting into trouble, whereas Corrigan is the same, but when he gets into trouble, he does get caught. 

Sam doesn't care about anything, or what anyone thinks or if she's popular or not. She's hurt by her parents neglect, but never acts on it to get their attention. Also she is honest about her feelings to Mason and would never cheat. Whereas Sheldon cares whether she's popular or an outcast, even though she says she doesn't care she does because she's constantly separating the two groups. One for popular kids, then the other losers. (Her words not mine). Sheldon does and doesn't care about her parents neglect, and she acts on it. She gets into trouble, back talks teachers, smashes her house up because she's acting out. Then we have her and Bryce, she loves him, but won't admit it. She won't label their relationship and technically in my eyes, she cheated and I hate that. I think that's why I can't form a bond with her. Secretly she's worried about people leaving her like her parents, but if anything she will be the one to drive them away with her actions. 

Now Bryce I liked the most, he is opposite to Mason. Mason would never stand for the shit Sheldon puts on Bryce and would never condone cheating or forgive her for it. I also found he's a little more outgoing then what Mason is. 
Mason is quiet, brooding and likes to do things his way. They're both top of the chain at their schools, both the male every girls dreams of and both going places with their football career. 

And then we have the dysfunctional parents. Bryce's mom is a lunatic. Literally. Sprouting stuff off about praying for Sheldon lol which made me laugh, then we have Sheldon's mom who is like Analyse, but more collected and less loony, but loony all the same. 

The story line however is totally different, but apart of me couldn't stop seeing the comparison in the characters. I liked the story line and it had me gripped once I got into it. I will be definitely be reading Still Jaded Book two next. 

5* 


Thursday, 30 October 2014

Surviving us By Erin Noelle



Two survivors. 

Two weeks. 

One awakening. 



When Bristol Criswell travels to St. Lucia for an Enduring Life retreat, she hopes to discover encouragement and support from like souls. A vacation fling is the furthest thing from her mind, especially not with a cocky-mouthed, arrogant jerk like Davis McKay. 

But when it becomes evident she can’t deny the magnetic attraction between the two, she gives in to her desires, and for the first time in her life, learns the difference between simply living and truly feeling alive. 

As their time in paradise quickly comes to an end, will her heart be able to withstand another devastating loss when it’s time to say goodbye, or will their connection be strong enough to survive the real world? 

Death brought them together, but love will give them a reason to live. 

I received an ARC of Reviving us by Erin Noelle for an honest review. 
I wasn't sure about it at first as it seemed kind of depressing from the sound of the blurb, but it's really not. I was also worried about it not being a happy ending. 
Teach me to judge a book by a blurb. I read the novel because I'm a huge fan of the author and I'm so glad I did. I got to read such a beautiful, heartfelt story. Two broken people healing each other and overcoming their fears. 
You;ll get drawn in from the beginning. The minute she hit the airport I was completely glued to it. 

I usually hate it when a book rushes the connection between the two and that the characters fall in love from first sight. But with this book it wasn't rushed, but their connection was instant, and their love grew slowly. 
It truly was an amazing, addictive, brilliant written love story between two people with the most tragic pasts. 

I've rated Surviving us 4*. Well done Erin Noelle on another amazingly written romance novel.