Showing posts with label contemporary. Show all posts
Showing posts with label contemporary. Show all posts

Monday, 22 September 2014

Triquetra By Cassy Roop

Triquetra—a Celtic Trinity Knot made of three interlocked pieces, often used to represent groups of three. 

Dominic has survived falling in love for the first time, having his world shattered, and then finding that love again. What happens, though, when that love also loves someone else? 

Ashley finally fought and won against the people keeping her and Dominic apart, but what she soon learns is that she now has to fight her own heart when feelings for another man have developed during her time apart from Dominic. 

With a baby on the way, will Dominic be able to show Ashley they are meant to be or will she choose the man to which she owes her life? 

What happens when you have to watch the person you love, love someone else?

I freaking loved this book, so much. 
I have read Cassy's work now from the beginning and this has to be her best work to date. She just keeps getting better. 
I'd say this novel is about moving on. All of them have so many obstacles to over power, it's surprising that they do it.

I don't know how Ashley chooses between Rowan and Dominic, I really don't. Not even I can do it LOL and i'm just the reader. 
Both men are so different from each other, but both love Ashley deeply. I'm so envious of her in this book and I was worried about there being a love triangle at first as I hate them with a passion. I really do. This novel has changed that for me. She never, not once led anyone of them to believe anything other than the truth. She didn't mislead her feelings and was brave putting herself out there the way she did. 
I'm just glad she choose what her heart needed. Love is a powerful thing and can make you misinterpret in many ways.

I don't want to write much about what happens in the novel, just know it's another book that is going to keep you on your toes. 
Parts of it had me in tears and my heart breaking. I really wanted to reach in and comfort the characters. 
I'm sad that we won't be reading more about them in the future. Well done Cassy, you've done another amazing job and completing yet another brilliant novel. 

I can't wait to read more of her work. I'm looking forward to it. 

5* and if I could give it more I would.

Friday, 19 September 2014

Worth the fall: The McKinney Brothers By Claudia Connor

They meet on a beach. . . . Abby Davis isn’t wearing a skimpy bikini or sipping umbrella drinks, not when she’s busy chasing around four little ones. And Matt McKinney isn’t looking for fun—he’s a Navy SEAL, a grown man with a long list of missions . . . and fallen brothers.
They only have a week. . . . Abby has brought her children to this beach to start over, to give them the enjoyable memories they deserve. Matt’s been sidelined by a combat injury, and haunted by the best friend he lost and the promise he made: to remain a SEAL—focused and dedicated. This leaves no time for what he’s always wanted: a family.
But a week is all it takes. . . . Matt opens her heart while Abby soothes his soul. And though they plan to say good-bye when the week is over, something magical happens on that beach, something neither can forget. Something utterly, completely worth falling for.

For a debut novel, Claudia has done extremely well. I downloaded sample and I didn't even get passed the first chapter before I purchased it. I loved it. 
The kids were gorgeous and I love every single one of them.
The story isn't anything exciting, but it's the connection and past experiences that is what pulls you into the story. I couldn't seem to put it down. There was nothing but the characters that held me to that book. 
I can't explain it well enough, you have to read it to experience what I'm trying to tell you. 
Simple, loving, funny, adorable, sexy, hot, cute, tearful are all words I would describe and more about this book. 

The last quarter of the book, I found myself crying. Whether it was due to happy tears or sad tears, I was a blubbering mess LOL 
It was worse if it was one of the kids upset expressing their feelings. I just wanted to reach into the book and hold them tightly. 
The two main characters Abby and Matt are my all time favorite couple. It wasn't just about attraction or lust between them, it was straight and narrow love and connection. You felt it during the whole book or found yourself sighing whenever he picked a child or when he first feels her baby kick in her tummy, it overwhelms you. This book didn't need excitement, or drama, it just needed these two characters and four children. 
Saying that, there is drama, just not anything drastic, but something so believable that it could happen to you. 

5* for you Claudia and looking forward to reading future work :) 

Tuesday, 22 July 2014

Frenched By Melanie Harlow

When Tucker Branch, playboy heir to Branch Bolt and Screw, screws and bolts a week before their wedding, Mia Devine wants nothing more than to crawl under her newly monogrammed sheets and plan a funeral for her dignity. But her friends convince her that bitter tastes better when it’s drowned in Bordeaux, so Mia grits her teeth and packs her bags, determined to make the best of her luxurious Paris honeymoon—alone. 

She never planned on meeting Lucas Fournier. 

The easygoing bartender’s scruffy good looks and less-than-sympathetic ear annoy her at first, but when she takes him up on his offer to show her around the city, she discovers that the romance of Paris isn’t just a myth. 

Nor is the simultaneous O. 

The last thing Mia needs is another doomed love affair, but since she only has a week, she figures she might as well enjoy la vie en O with Lucas while she can. But each day—and night—with Lucas is better than the last, and suddenly her heart is telling her this is more than a rebound fling. 

Is it just the seduction of Paris…or could this be the real thing? 

Frenched is a sweet, contemporary, romance novel, with a hint of comedy and steamy sex scenes. Seriously, they were really HOT!! 

I loved the character, and although it started off really great, it dragged kind of in the middle, then the ending was sudden. It didn't seem to go anywhere. Although I'm told there is another to follow on called Yanked, Its meant to let the book down. Which is something I don't want. I was told by a few friends and fellow readers that Melanie completely changes Lucas. His whole personality. Which I personally don't want to read. I left the book on a happy note and it's staying that way. 
What can I say? I'm a romantic. 

The book is a journey (Literally) of Mia finding herself after been dumped a week before her massive (kind of celebrity) wedding. Mia and Lucas become close, and the sexual attraction is strong between the two, and even I felt uncomfortable during them moments. I just wanted to slap their heads together and say hump it already. 

All in all a sweet story, and some amazing characters. 

4* Enjoy 

Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Left Drowning By Jessica Park

Weighted down by the loss of her parents, Blythe McGuire struggles to keep her head above water as she trudges through her last year at Matthews College. Then a chance meeting sends Blythe crashing into something she doesn’t expect—an undeniable attraction to a dark-haired senior named Chris Shepherd, whose past may be even more complicated than her own. As their relationship deepens, Chris pulls Blythe out of the stupor she’s been in since the night a fire took half her family. She begins to heal, and even, haltingly, to love this guy who helps her find new paths to pleasure and self-discovery. But as Blythe moves into calmer waters, she realizes Chris is the one still strangled by his family’s traumatic history. As dark currents threaten to pull him under, Blythe may be the only person who can keep him from drowning. 
Read on for my review ....

Saturday, 11 January 2014

At any price By Brenna Aubrey

Achievement Unlocked: Geek Virgin
When Mia Strong, proud geek-girl and popular gaming blogger, auctions off her virginity online, she knows she'll make waves. But what she will not be making is a love connection. Her rules are set in stone: One night. No further contact.
It's a desperate step, but it's the only way she can go to medical school and pay her mother's mounting hospital bills.

Difficulty Level: Millionaire CEO
Adam Drake, the enigmatic auction winner, is a software prodigy who made his first million at seventeen. Now, in his mid-twenties, he's sexy, driven and--as CEO of his own gaming company--he's used to making the rules. Before Mia knows what's happening, he's found the loophole in the rules of her auction. Every stipulation she's made to protect her heart gets tossed by the wayside.
She can't tell if he's playing her...or if he's playing for keeps.
Read on for my review.......

Monday, 6 January 2014

Heaven Scent By Sasha Wagstaff

A warm, witty and wildly romantic read set in the sizzling south of France. When Cat Hayes impulsively marries a handsome, penniless French waiter in St Tropez, she didn't realise she'd be widowed in just a few weeks. Neither did she know that her late husband was actually Oliver Ducasse, heir to the Ducasse perfume empire. Invited by the Ducasse family to their glamorous French mansion, Cat finds a family in chaos. What's more she's regarded her with suspicion and hostility, especially by Olivier's playboy cousin Xavier. Will she run for the hills as fast as her high heels can carry her? Or will she realise that she is exactly what this mixed-up family truly needs? Read on for my review.....

Break in Two By M.J.Summers

Thirty-one year old Claire Hatley is running from Seattle having just discovered that her live-in boyfriend has traded her in for a twenty-two year old hostess. Devastated and alone Claire must make a fresh start. She answers an ad for a chef at a guest ranch just outside Colorado Springs and finds herself face to face with Cole Mitchell, quite possibly the sexiest man to ever ride a horse. Common sense tells them to stay away from each other, but their attraction is not to be denied. He gives her a glimpse of what love should be, but just as she starts to trust him, the past comes back to tear them apart.

Join Claire and Cole as they embark on the stormy love affair of a lifetime.
Read on for my review....

Saturday, 4 January 2014

After hours By Cara McKenna

Erin Coffey has been a nurse for years, but nothing’s prepared her for the physical and emotional demands of her new position. Needing to move closer to her dysfunctional family, she takes a dangerous job at Larkhaven Psychiatric Hospital, where she quickly learns that she needs protection—and she meets the strong, over-confident coworker who’s more than willing to provide it. 

Kelly Robak is the type of guy that Erin has sworn she’d never get involved with. She’s seen firsthand, via her mess of a sister, what chaos guys like him can bring into a woman’s life. But she finds herself drawn to him anyway, even when he shows up at her door, not eager to take no for an answer. 

What Erin finds even more shocking than Kelly’s indecent proposal is how much she enjoys submitting to his every command. But he can’t play the tough guy indefinitely. If they want to have more than just an affair, both will have to open up and reveal what they truly need. Read on for my review ......

Friday, 3 January 2014

Someone Unexpected By Ashley Blake

Packing up and moving to Miami after college was the best thing that Elena Sumner could have done. Trying to forget about an abusive ex-boyfriend who taunts her from prison, Elena throws herself into her job at Blu Sierra Miami, a luxury hotel. Meeting a man is the last thing on her list, she is career focused and knows what she wants. Until she meets him.
Billionaire Sebastian Blu is a tall, rich, gorgeous, playboy and owner of the Blu Sierra hotel chain who is used to getting what he wants. As one of the country's top ten most eligible bachelors, he literally has his pick of women and is seen with a different lady every night. No one has been able to capture his interest until he meets Elena. He is relentless in his pursuit of her and even though she tries to resist him, she fails.
Just when she thought she had met the perfect guy, their pasts get in the way of their happiness. She wonders if she will be able to accept the secret he was keeping from her all along. Read on for my review ......

Undeniable By Madeline Sheehan

Eva Fox is the princess of the Silver Demons Motorcycle Club. Growing up with bikers in the club lifestyle is all that she knows. When she’s a young girl, Eva meets the reason for her existence. Deuce West is the sexy, biker bad-ass of the Hell’s Horsemen Motorcycle Club. Like Eva, he was born and raised in the club—but that’s where the similarities end. Their first meeting is innocent, but as Eva matures into a woman, their chance reunions evolve into a fit of lust and love. Fate continues to bring them together time and time again, but their twisted journey is filled with pain, betrayal, and bloodshed that could tear them apart. Eva sees in Deuce what he cannot see in himself—a man worthy of love—and Eva spends her lifetime proving to him that her undeniable love is the one thing he can’t live without. Read on for my review .......

Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Fallen Crest Public By Tijan

Sam's first day at Fallen Crest Public doesn't go well. Some girls want to be her. Some girls want to destroy her. And some just don't like her. All in all, despite being protected by Mason and Logan, it's still only the strong survive. Sam will not only have to survive, she needs to learn how to conquer too, but there's another battle growing. Things are about to come to a disastrous end between the towns, Roussou and Fallen Crest. Sam's other main dilemma? Keeping Mason and Logan from getting arrested or hospitalized. Read on for my review ........

Friday, 27 December 2013

Wrecked By Priscilla West

Two years ago, Lorrie's mother was murdered. But that wasn't the end of it. Reeling from the tragedy, Lorrie's father spiraled into alcohol, depression, and finally suicide.

The two most important people in Lorrie's life are both gone but she's still alive.

Trying to recover from the tragedy, Lorrie returns to campus, ready to pick up the pieces of her life. All Lorrie wants is to get back to "normal."

Then she meets Hunter. The man, the legend, "The Hammer."

Hunter is a cage fighter who takes on every fight like he's got nothing to lose. His life is a tangled mess of girls, booze, and fist fights. And while it may seem like he's got a devil-may-care attitude, he's fighting a private cage-match with a monster he can't defeat.

Lorrie knows that Hunter is exactly the type of guy she should stay away from, especially in her fragile state, but Hunter has other ideas.

As Hunter and Lorrie grow closer together, will they be able to overcome their pain and heal each other? Or will they both end up wrecked? read on for my review.......

Tuesday, 24 December 2013

Needing her By Molly McAdams

She's the Girl Next Door
Maci Price isn't really into relationships. Having four very protective older brothers has always made having a boyfriend very difficult anyway. But her friend is set on finding her the right guy—and thinks the mysterious Connor Green is the perfect pick.
He's Her Brother's Best Friend
Connor Green is trying to find himself again. He loved, then lost, and it's time for him to pick up the pieces. His brooding is making his friends crazy, but Maci, who has grown up into a gorgeous and incredibly sexy woman, is about to break the spell.
They're Made for Each Other
When Maci starts up old pranks to get Connor out of his slump, an all-out war leads to a night that will break all their rules … and a relationship they must keep hidden. Together they're electric. Apart they're safe. And soon they'll each find that they're exactly what the other needs.

Sunday, 22 December 2013

Lover Undercover By Samantha Beck

Yoga instructor Kylie Roberts is the good twin. At least she was—until an accident forces Kylie to step into her twin’s sexy stilettos at a posh Hollywood “men’s club." But nothing could've prepared Kylie for the dead body in the club’s parking lot or the ridiculously hot detective who insists the killer is targeting her regulars.
 Detective Trevor McCade needs Kylie’s help to draw out the killer. It means long nights undercover and long dances where Kylie’s body tempts him with sensual promises. Dances that leave them both wanting more. But despite Kylie's hidden identity and the danger lurking in the shadows, it’s only a matter of time before Kylie and Trevor take this undercover operation under the covers…

Arrow of time By Lina Andersson

After traveling around the world for six years, both running from her past and seeking her future, Edie Yates is back in Greenville, Arizona to reconnect with her older sister, Melanie. While Edie was away, Melanie married Brick Baxter, president of the Marauder Riders MC, and found a real family, the likes of which neither Melanie nor Edie had ever known. Now Melanie wants Edie to know the love and security of that family. 
And she does. In the Marauders, Edie finds brothers, nieces and nephews, even a surrogate father or two. She begins to settle in, though she still struggles with her past. 
And she finds Dawg, who earns his road name regularly. He loves women, and they love him. Edie knows he’s bad news, and she tells him she’s not interested. But he’s funny and charming, and she enjoys his company. 
Dawg knows he isn’t boyfriend material. He doesn’t want to be boyfriend material. He likes being a dawg. And he’s far too smart to hit on his president’s sister-in-law. But she’s interesting. She’s had a life, been everywhere. He enjoys talking with her. When she makes it clear that she’s not interested, and he makes it clear that he’s not stupid, they begin to forge a friendship. 
They become close—real friends. 
And then everything explodes. 

Thursday, 19 December 2013

Razing Kayne By Julieanne Reeves

For two years, State Trooper Kayne Dobrescu has wanted only one thing: to understand why his wife inexplicably killed their children and then herself. Memories haunt his days and lay siege to his nights, leaving him questioning his reasons for living. 

Jessica Hallstatt became a widow and single mother the night her firefighter husband died in a fiery explosion at an accident scene. While her husband may have died a hero, he left Jessica with deep emotional scars that haven't begun to heal. 

When Kayne accepted a transfer to the mountain town of Payson, Arizona, he never expected to meet anyone like Jessica. From the moment he pulled her over for speeding, he was drawn in by her whiskey-colored eyes and sassy dimple. He knows she and her children are a forever type package, and he's vowed never to give anyone the power to destroy him again. Yet fate has other ideas, throwing Kayne and Jessica together in a fight against an unknown enemy to save the life of a child—and hopefully one another. 

Tuesday, 17 December 2013

Play it safe By Kristen Ashley

Play it safeNo connections. Play it safe. These were the rules Ivey lived her life by.
Until she hit Mustang, Colorado, a perfectly imperfect town where the citizens were welcoming and one of them included the tall, beautiful, macho man rancher cowboy, Grayson Cody.
On the run for a decade, Ivey knew she was supposed to play it safe. But she was tired of being on the run. She wanted a normal. She wanted real. She wanted a home. 
And she wanted Grayson Cody.
And Grayson Cody wanted Ivey.
No one who looked at them couldn’t see they belonged together. There was one man in this world for Ivey and one woman in this world for Grayson Cody.
So they fell in love.
But just as quickly as they fell together, they were betrayed and torn apart. Separated for years, Ivey was certain her life would not include her rancher cowboy. Until the town of Mustang reached out to her when Gray was in trouble. Even though she thought he broke her heart, she charged in to help. Then Gray and Ivey discovered they were betrayed and, not only that, Gray had an enemy who would stop at nothing to defeat him.

Elite by Rachel Van Dyken

For Tracey Rooks, life with her grandparents on a Wyoming farm has always been simple. But after her grandmother's death, Tracey is all her grandfather has. So when Eagle Elite University announces its annual scholarship lottery, Tracey jumps at the opportunity to secure their future and enters. She isn't expecting much-but then she wins. And life as she knows it will never be same . . .

The students at Eagle Elite are unlike any she's ever met . . . and they refuse to make things easy for her. There's Nixon, gorgeous, irresistible, and leader of a group that everyone fears: The Elect. Their rules are simple. 1. Do not touch The Elect. 2. Do not look at The Elect. 3. Do not speak to The Elect. No matter how hard she tries to stay away, The Elect are always around her and it isn't long until she finds out the reason why they keep their friends close and their enemies even closer. She just didn't realize she was the enemy -- until it was too late. 

Thursday, 12 December 2013

Calmly, Carefully, Completely By Tammy Falkner

Calmly, Carefully, Completely

I met her on the worst night of her life. She was broken, shaking, and waiting for someone to save her. I am just thankful I got the opportunity to know her. Her dad helped me with some legal trouble I got into, and I volunteered to help out at their camp for children with special needs. Horses, pools, and a tracking bracelet on my ankle. Sounds like a fun week, doesn't it? 
She was there and she wanted to thank me for my kindness on that awful night. But I want her. I want her more than anything. I think she wants me back, but she needs calm and careful, and I don't know if I can provide that. Reagan Pete saved me. But now it's my turn to return the favor. He's hot, with this tattoos and piercings but, beneath it all, he's crying out for someone to save him too. Can he love me completely? She’s been locked up even longer than he has. Peter Reed is fresh out of jail, fresh out of excuses, and ready for a brand new start. Reagan Caster needs to thank Pete for an act of kindness, but he wants more than just her thanks. Reagan knows how to protect her body, but not her heart. And her traitorous body responds to Pete in a way it hasn't with anyone else. When Pete's innocent flirtation becomes more, Reagan's ready to accept what he has to offer. Pete assumes Reagan needs to be loved carefully and calmly. But Reagan knows she needs to be loved completely.   Can he give her what she needs? 

Tall, Tatted and Tempting By Tammy Falkner

Tall, Tatted and Tempting


Logan wants to know my name, but I can't tell him. I can't tell him anything. There are too many people looking for me. He's pretty persuasive, though, and he convinces me to go home with him so he can keep me safe from this harsh city where I find myself. It's not my home. It's his. He belongs. I don't. 
Logan lives with four brothers in the inner city. Yet I've never felt more safe than I do when I'm with him. I want him. But he won't let me have a darn thing, aside from his friendship, unless I'm willing to tell him my secrets. But they're mine, and I can't share them. Not unless I want them to come and get me.

She catches my eye because she's so beautiful she takes my breath. But that's not all that I love about her. I love the way she smells. The way she smiles. The way she plays the guitar is unlike anything I have ever seen. She sleeps in my bed every night, and drives me crazy with her touch. But I can't take what she offers because I need all of her. I need for her to tell me her secrets. I need for her to trust me.