Showing posts with label abuse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label abuse. Show all posts

Sunday, 1 February 2015

Dare By Allie Juliette Mousseau

Josh North – a risk-it-all bad boy - sexy dirty talker - bad ass defender and UFC’s Light Heavyweight Champion— is about to meet his match. 

Sophie Garner is a single mom who’s been raising her daughter on her own, fighting for both of their lives ever since going into hiding to escape her abusive husband. 
When Sophie gets offered the job of a lifetime as the exclusive massage therapist for Josh “The Jackhammer” North’s team, it’s difficult to say no to the outrageous salary—and the bet—that Josh proposes. But for Sophie it’s a risk that could cost a lot more than just her heart – if she’s found, it could cost her her life. 
Should she dare? 

Josh wants to break through Sophie’s fortified walls, but is unwilling to put the jackhammer to his own and reveal his secrets and the side of him few have ever known or seen. To do that, he’ll have to confront the darkness of his past. 
Will he dare?

I love MMA/UFC novels. There's something about someone that strong that I love reading about. But Josh North isn't just UFC heavy weight champion, hes a fire fighter too. 

After getting hurt in the line of duty to save a little boy in a burning building, Josh has Sophie start therapy at the hospital. They have instant attraction to one another and it moves on that Josh and his team hire her to work with him outside of the hospital for an OBSCENE amount of money. 
Sophie accepts because she needs to the money. If she ever has to run again she wants to have that insurance. She's also at risk of her heart been broken. 

There were a few things off with the story, like how intelligent the three year little girl is. I have three kids and not one could speak like that or know the stuff she does LOL 

The story line is fantastic. I was a little confused on what the ex wanted with Sophie in the end and where his secret partner went to. I mean, wouldn't he be after her now??? 

All in all, I couldn't put the book down long enough to do anything productive and have recommended it to other readers who have loved it just as much as me. 


Saturday, 17 January 2015

Heart of Light By T.K.Leigh

Twelve years ago, Jolene’s adoptive mother died. Twelve years ago, a man showed up at Jolene’s door and promised to take care of her. Twelve years ago, Jolene was happy. Then it all changed… 

Jolene Bergio has spent the last twelve years of her life asking one question… Why? Why was she left in the custody of a man who would sell her each and every night to the highest bidder? After a few years, she shut off, giving up hope that anyone would ever find her. Until her luck changed one night and she escaped. 

Twelve years later, she finally feels something she hasn’t felt in a long time… Free. 


Scared that her past will find her unexpectedly, she hides away in a rented beach house, trying to distance herself from everyone… Until Dr. Cameron Bowen enters her world and slowly tears down the walls that she has built up over the past twelve years of her captivity. Jolene begins to learn to love again. 

And trust again. 

But when a man from Jolene’s past emerges, will she be able to keep her identity hidden? When lies are told and hearts are broken, will the truth surface in time to bring Jolene back from the shadows that threaten to expose who she really is?

This is twenty years later and Cam's story. He's reaching his forties (nearly) and is a DR, helping other woman come to terms with sexual abuse, sex trafficking, or abusive relationships. 

When his friend rents out his beach cottage to a frightened young girl he is reluctant at first until he sees her.
This book made me sick. What poor Jolene went through was crazy sick and I felt deeply sorry for. 
I will say I really liked Cam in the first book but in this book he got on my nerves A LOT!!! He acted so naive. He has seen the signs of abuse for years, not just by working with abused woman, but for looking after his sister Marley. So why he acted dumb through this book is anyone's guess. 
I wanted to smack him upside the head. Honestly. 

Jolene was a kind character. Kind of broke my heart the life she had to go through. The ending was really sad too but I was glad for the outcome. 


Heart of Marley By T.K.Leigh

To the moon and back… 

From the stars to the ocean… 

That was Marley and Cameron Bowen’s secret code. 

Twins born just five minutes apart, they have the perfect life… Until tragedy strikes just weeks after their eighth birthday and their father is killed by a drunk driver. Having trouble coping with the loss of her soul mate, their mother tries to find comfort in drugs and alcohol… And an abusive man with a penchant for underage girls. No longer able to stand listening to his sister’s screams and cries every night for nearly three years, Cam takes matters into his own hands and they’re finally able to escape the nightmare. 

They’re finally able to start over… 

But the nightmare still haunts Marley. The years go on and she is forced to put on a smile, making everyone think that she is the perfect, well-adjusted teenager that she is supposed to be… Until she is faced with a painful reminder of her past during her senior year of high school and she’s no longer able to keep on the mask that she has been compelled to wear.

Where to even begin with this book.
I'd chosen it as a random read not really taking in the blurb or anything, so I pretty much went in blind. 
My God, I was completely shocked by everything, of how quickly I got sucked in and how thankful I was to the author at not being descriptive on heartbreaking scenes involving rape. 

The whole story is involved around Marley and her twin brother Cam's lives, how they moved from an abusive home, to live with their aunt and uncle. 

I will start with talking about them because never and I mean never have I hated two people like I hate them. I understand peoples beliefs in forgiveness but in this novel it took the biscuit. The uncle mostly because he forgave the abuser. You'd think with someone with two young girls he'd want to protect the world from someone like him. Three years of abuse she suffered by this man, it wasn't something that happened once and was a mistake. The man kept doing it. Yet the uncle forgave him, vouched for him and got him free. 
Then we have the aunt. As a woman you'd think she would understand what Marley had been going through. Also with two young daughters she'd want to help Marley move forward, but all the aunt did was parade her around like a sex symbol. It made me sick to my stomach. 

Marley finally feels what it's like to love. She dates, has sex, moves forward and finally starts to open up about her past, a past she's been told she can never talk about. It's forbidden. 

It all shows her brother Cam beginning his first relationship. 

As the story progressed I honestly saw it ending happily, that it was a book about moving forward, forgetting the past, but I was so freaking wrong. 

I'm not ruining the book, but I will say I cried ugly tears from the minute Marley says from the sea to the stars. or whatever their saying is. My god, I had to stop reading I was sobbing that hard. By the end of my cry fest my pillow was soaked and my cheeks felt raw. I've cried in books, like really cried, but nothing will ever compare to the tears and heartbreak I felt in this book. 

T.K.Leigh really outdone herself with this one because I don't think I'll ever get over this book. Even now five days later my heart still breaks thinking about it. 


Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Seeking Karma By Melanie J Cole

Trent Evers has spent the past eight years of his life, dreaming about the same girl. He doesn’t even know her name. What he does know, is that she was there for him, on the toughest night of his life. She stayed with him, holding his hand, humming to him, until the police showed up. 
Desperate for a distraction, he drowns himself in alcohol and random girls. It’s not enough, though. When he sees her again – at a McDonalds of all places – he’s determined to make her his. He doesn’t care that she’s dating one of his frat brothers. No one is good enough for her, especially not Aaron Jones. He’s on a mission. Now, he has a new distraction! Make her remember him, and make her his. 
Unlike Trent, Karma Davis had a perfect childhood. She grew up in a loving home with her parents, and sister. 
Her life begins spiraling out of her control, three months into her relationship with Aaron Jones. He’s not the person she originally thought him to be. He’s controlling and abusive to her – both physically and mentally. 
Fearing for her life, Karma makes a plan to break it off with Aaron – once and for all. But Aaron is not the type of person who can take no for an answer. 
Karma’s terrified of what Aaron will do, if he finds her. Desperate for freedom, she moves off of campus, and rearranges her entire schedule. Will all of her efforts, be enough to get rid of Aaron? She hopes so. 
When she meets her new neighbor Trent, she knows he looks familiar, but she cannot place where she knows him from. She reluctantly forms a friendship with him, but soon realizes that friendship with Trent is not enough. She wants more, but can she trust any guy after Aaron? She’s determined to try. 

Seeking Karma grabbed my attention after finishing Melanie's novel Finding you in me. I'm not very keen on the cover, I think the girl in it is perfect for Karma, but the lad in the cover??? Not so much, so please don't let that put you off the book. 
I'd read the book in one sitting and really enjoyed it.... 
As you know the blurb says a lot about the book, so I won't repeat what that tells you. Just know that Trent is such a fantastic male boyfriend that I had a hard time liking Karma LOL I wanted him for myself. 
There are a few little twists that I don't think everyone will see coming. It depends how much of a book nerd you are heehee. 
The ending for me was perfect, I loved it. There was so much guessing, so much going on, and excitement that I got really engrossed into the book. I also liked the fact Melanie ironed everything out about Aaron and didn't leave us guessing or questioning anything.

Only one flaw and it's not with the story as such or with the writing, although I did have the same problem with paragraphs as I did with her other novel Finding you in me. But with Aaron and his friends. They all saw how he cheated on her, so why would they think HE deserved to speak to her???? Do they really have no morals???? Also the same with the interfering girl, she knew what the fucker was like yet did what she did. I didn't like that part at all. 


NOTE TO READERS: Please, if you are a victim of domestic abuse then please get in touch with Woman's aid, or a charity near you that helps with these types of situations. Know, that you are not alone, and that there will always be someone, whether you think there is or not, that will help pull you through it. Never learn to live with abuse, but to walk away from it, no matter how hard it is. 
I did have a list of UK, US, CA numbers for different woman's refuges, but I can't find them. So please, google it for the information near you xx 

Friday, 28 November 2014

Patch Up By Stephanie Witter

Skye followed her long time boyfriend to Seattle for their first year of college, but he dumped her after only a week. The relationship brought only pain and destruction in Skye's life, and yet, she can't bring herself to open up and live her life.

"What if I am already broken into pieces?"

She hates to be touched, hiding under her oversized shirts and behind her wild frizzy hair. Even her bubbly roommate can't reach her. And yet ...

"I'm the guy who knows how you can hurt so much that your insides feel like they're cut and bleeding."

The tall, handsome, and tattooed TA in her psychology class changes everything when he literally collides with her and confronts her. For the first time in a long time, she wants to try and open up to this guy whose dark, intense eyes can't hide his own pain despite his dazzling smile getting to her.

However, just when she's starting to live again, her ex-boyfriend comes back, breaking her time and time again, making it all the more complicated.

She wants to fight for herself and for this building thing with the TA, even when he pushes her away, but can two broken people patch each other up?

"I never thought colliding with someone could change lives, but it is possible."

I was recommended this novel through amazon. I was a little unsure at first because I'd never heard of the author or read any of her work. So I downloaded a sample at got really into it. 
I immediately connected to Skye and her reasons for keeping quiet. Only someone who has been through the same thing will understand her fear and her silence. Should she have told someone? Yes, but its how she coped with it. Not everyone wants to talk about their pasts and what they've been through. 

I loved Duke and her roommate Kate from the start too. I knew they were both trust worthy. Her ex boyfriend Sean on the other hand is another story. I hated him, like really hated him. His need for control is sickening. I... oh God... I just hated him. 

I felt the book dragged towards the end, but then it picked up around 94% and I got glued to it again. 
The ending stopped my heart. I felt like everything had stopped and I needed to know what happened. I won't ruin it for you, but trust me, it's good. 

So would I recommend this to you? YES!!! It's a beautiful, heartbreaking, ugly, loving story. It's about a young girl who has been through a violent relationship for 3 years and even though they have broken up he still haunts her. She's such a broken, fragile girl and Duke sees past the facade she puts on in front of people. He sees what's deep down into her soul. They connected wherever they both knew it or not on their first meeting. They both SAW each other. It truly is a ugly, loving, heartbreaking journey she leads us through with Skye, Duke and Sean. 

3.5 *

Wednesday, 26 November 2014

Safe (Conquering Book 1) By Ryan Michele

Moving to Williamsfield, Georgia is not what she wants … it’s what she needs. An escape—from him. 
After being brutally abused for years, Sadie seeks sanctuary and safety. But can she ever be safe when evil has his eyes on her from afar. 
Landon doesn’t want a relationship. He’s been burned too badly to want anything more from a woman than the physical, but one look at Sadie and he’s rethinking everything. 
Can trust be formed when it’s been so beaten down? Can love conquer fears? What happens when evil doesn’t give up? Can Sadie ever really be safe? 
**Please note. This book contains the very difficult subject of physical abuse and has a nonconsensual sexual scene. It also has a very strong woman who learns to heal from these acts and finds the kind of love we all dream of having.

Oh my God. I don't know what to say. No scrap that, I have too much to say about this novel. 
I've only ever read one other novel like this one that has got to me the way this one did and that's Don't make me beautiful by Elle Casey. 
Sadie, although broken up with her ex boyfriend Rob he's still abusing her, having nonconsensual sex with her and threatening her. He uses her family to keep her where he wants her. Threatening their lives as well as hers. He manipulates everything she believes, controlling what she does. Up until one day her mother confronts her about it. Sadie doesnt listen at first, until Rob turns up at the hospital threatening her if she told anyone. Her mom over hears from outside and then demands Sadie to move away. Which, thank god, she listened. 

She moves to her aunts house for a fresh start, but every day Sadie fights through battles of the effects of years of abuse. Jumping out loud noises, flinching at play fighting and shouting. She doesn't like to be cornered which is how her and Landon got so close. He helps keep the men from going up to her and chatting her up. Although their connection started before that night, I think it helped her start to trust him, even if she didn't know it then. 

She also fights through their relationship to push her time with Rob away, but certain things would remind her of what she had been through and she has some major breakdowns in the book. 

All in all without giving the book away it is completely heartbreaking, heart warming, loving and totally inspiring. You'll fall in love with all the characters, especially Landon and his two brothers. 

The only downfall to the book is the typos in it. There are quite a few and I did find myself re-reading certain parts for me to make sense of it, but it didn't stop me from reading. I just ignored it. 
Then the biggest thing is that the book was released 2013 and I'm worried there isn't going to be a second :( Her cousin and Landon's sister is going through a really bad time after been kidnapped by Sadie's ex boyfriend. I don't know what went on it that bar, but Sadie's cousin completely locked herself out of everyone lives. She wouldn't speak to anyone, not even Renzo could get in to talk to her and she wouldn't let him in either and she is in love with him, so it had me wondering if more went on than the author let us see. 
I really am praying there will be another novel to this series. I cannot wait to read it. 


Friday, 24 October 2014

Playing Patience By Tabatha Vargo

Sometimes all you need is Patience. 

Life’s been hard for Zeke. Being a punching bag for his alcoholic father has turned him into stone. Not even the dodgy trailer park he lives in can scare him. Fighting is his release and sex, drugs, and his guitar bring him peace, but deep down Zeke isn’t quite as hard as he makes himself out to be. When he meets Patience, she finds all his broken pieces and puts him back together, but she’s a ray of light in his shadowed life and the last thing he wants to do is bring her into his dark world. Playing careless is easy, playing the bad guy can be fun, but playing Patience is impossible, especially when she can see right through him. 

Zeke isn’t the only one who’s broken, and for the first time, in a long time, Patience feels alive. Her black and white world gets a shot of color when she meets Zeke. He’s unlike anyone she’s ever met with his tattoos, piercings, and blunt honesty. She wants nothing more than to let go and ride the wild side with him, but some wounds never heal and the broken pieces of Patience aren’t so easy to find. 

Playing Patience isn't your typical school romance. It's deep, it's dark, and it's shockingly stomach turning. 
When I first read this I couldn't believe what I was reading. As a mother, I could never imagine hurting my kids physically or mentally and I don't even want to get into sexually. 
Zeke has being his dad's punching back from as long as he can remember. The abuse has hardened him out of his trailer. He doesn't let anyone in, doesn't let anyone see the abuse he receives. 
I really liked him. I could understand why he acted the way he did with Patience at times, but then at others, I wondered what the hell he was thinking. 

Like all the other reviews I had read I will say the ending is really rushed. We don't get answers to what we want to know. I mean, there must have been a case as to why the dad was shot dead etc. And how Zeke never got caught in the case. I dunno, the ending all seemed rushed, especially when the rest of the book dragged in places. It repeated on it self a few times also. 

Other than that, the seriousness of the book is heartbreaking. It's just shocking to read. How a parent, or pretty much anyone could do this to someone else is beyond any words I could give you. I think the author handles the situation well and doesn't overdo it or over step the mark. 


Sunday, 19 October 2014

Defying the odds By Kele Moon

When struggling waitress Melody Dylan gives a handsome, lonely stranger a simple gift she has no clue her life is about to take a drastic turn.

The stranger ends up being Clay Powers, a famous UFC heavyweight fighter. Clay’s large build and dangerous fists have always intimidated. People in his hometown keep their distance and Clay is fine with that. Everything changes when a new waitress at the local diner buys him a piece of pie on Thanksgiving. Touched by the gesture when it’s obvious she can barely afford to survive, her warm smile and lush body churn up powerful feelings that leave Clay wanting more from her than pie.

Melody is running from her past and the small, country town of Garnet is the perfect hiding place. With an ex-husband after her and scars from her abusive marriage etched deep, the last thing she expects is to fall for a man who makes a living with his fists, but she can’t resist Clay or the tender connection they share.

Finding love in the most unlikely of places, the passion is undeniable, but Clay and Melody know their haunted pasts and unpredictable futures leave the odds stacked against them.

Melody is a struggling waitress. She's on the run from her abusive ex-husband. It doesn't elaborate on that as much as I would have liked really. 
Straight off we can tell what kind of woman Melody is from the first scene. She's working double shifts, struggling to make enough money to live off, yet when she sees the lone stranger by himself on thanksgiving she buy's him a piece of pie.
Clay touched by her buying a piece of pie struggles through eating it just to appease her. 

I loved Clay because he wasn't one of those UFC champions that are all about women, sex, women, money, sex and sex. He actually wants the connection between himself and another woman. 
It's why I find it so sweet when the two find an uncanny bond together. 


Friday, 19 September 2014

Translucent (Luminous Book one) By Erin Noelle

**WARNING** This book is intended for mature audiences only due to explicit sexual content as well as the graphically violent and psychologically disturbing nature of some scenes. 

Sometimes you reach a point where you just can’t take anymore—a breaking point, some call it. The day I watched my husband murder the woman who was pregnant with his child, my point didn’t just break; it exploded like a full magazine’s worth of hollow points firing through the barrel of a fully-automatic AK-47. Literally. I am no longer his American Princess, nor am I his slave. Now, I’m a murderer in hiding. My name was Bryleigh Carter Oliveira, and that was my story. 

Translucent is one woman's story of breaking free, starting over, and learning to trust again through willful submission.

Translucent has been on my TBR list for a while, but the blurb didn't stand out all that much to me, but the increase of 5* reviews had me taking another luck. So, when I happened to stumble on the book, I downloaded a sample. I got to chapter three and deleted it and went and bought the ebook I loved it that much already. I seriously couldn't the book down. 

Translucent is the most heroic novels I've read since Don't make me beautiful By Elle Casey. They are both about a women with an abusive past. Both different abuse, but abuse all the same. It was heartbreaking to read. No matter how many times I kept telling myself it isn't real, I'd read another page and my heart would break all over again. It was worse when Blake had flash backs from her previous life and I was a blubbering mess again. The torment, abuse, sexual abuse she encountered is unimaginable, but it happens to women on a daily bases.
Blake is a strong women, no matter what she tells herself, she is remarkable.
It has to be the most profound read this year and I'm so glad I took a chance on this amazingly, heartfelt, heartbreaking novel. It's novels like this that should win awards, that should be heard, should be read. 
It's a powerful, emotional, journey of a women breaking free, becoming the women she was meant to be. 
we see Blake at her best, happiest, and at her damn right worst. There are no words for me to use to describe her when she's at her worst, but let's say emotional is what you'll be. Don't get me wrong, it's not a sad the way you think, it's emotional reading about her growing, about her moving forward, about what she's overcome. It really does bring out some deep, raw emotion. 

Then we have the ending. Oh My God. I don't even know where to begin. It takes you completely off god. 
Usually, I hate big cliff hangers like this one, but in this novel it was a perfect ending. Well, not in a way because it left me screaming for more. It has left me guessing on who was in the car. Something tells me it's either the girl, or his brother. One of them, but I could be completely wrong. You never know lol
All in all, was a brilliant 5* read 
One I could read over and over and over and over again. 

Monday, 28 April 2014

Promise me by Cora Brent

Promise Talbot needs to escape. 
Forced into a polygamous marriage to a sadistic man, she grabs a desperate opportunity to flee his clutches. 
And falls into the world of the Defiant Motorcycle Club. 
Grayson Mercado seethes with the injustice of a long imprisonment for a crime he did not commit. Finally free, he is trying to make a life among his new Defiant brothers. Everything changes when a battered young woman approaches him, begging for help. 
Promise and Grayson couldn’t be more different. 
But the collision of passion and danger will spark a love written in their fates. 

This story is different to any other MC novel because of the story dialogue. Promise is from a cult, and not a very nice one. Her back ground story is tragic and sad, yet she comes out stronger. 

I would have liked to have known more about the cult and the MC. When Promise and Gray get together its all about them and them alone. we dont get to really see anything outside of them two, which is a disappointment.

The story in itself must have being hard for the author to write about. Its raw, and honest but so out there. I found, the first part of the book, i had to grip my kindle, not knowing what was going to happen next. Though the prologue kind of ruined the story if im honest, it took the mystery out of it. 

The book is intense, raw, and emotional. 


Sunday, 19 January 2014

Heaven and Hell By Kristen Ashley

After making a bad decision when she was very young, Kia Clementine finds herself in hell. Then, suddenly, within the time it takes for a shotgun to blast, her hell changes. Completely. Then out-of-the-blue she sees Sampson Cooper, her celebrity crush. A man the whole world knows is decent. A man the world knows is loyal. A man the world knows is good. All of these very unlike her now dead husband.

He’s sitting at a table right next to hers. And she catches his eye.

Terrified of the interest Sam shows in her, Kia finds the courage to go out with him. Not long after, she shares her dark secrets and Sam shares that he’ll stop at nothing to gain her trust. 

As Sam leads Kia to heaven, Kia realizes that Sam is living his own hell. But although he gives her beauty and she gives him everything, he withholds his trust.

Even with all the beauty Sam shows her, Kia wants it all. But Sam forces Kia to make a heartbreaking decision and only she can decide. It’s all or nothing.
Read on for my review. 

Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Fallen Crest Public By Tijan

Sam's first day at Fallen Crest Public doesn't go well. Some girls want to be her. Some girls want to destroy her. And some just don't like her. All in all, despite being protected by Mason and Logan, it's still only the strong survive. Sam will not only have to survive, she needs to learn how to conquer too, but there's another battle growing. Things are about to come to a disastrous end between the towns, Roussou and Fallen Crest. Sam's other main dilemma? Keeping Mason and Logan from getting arrested or hospitalized. Read on for my review ........

Sunday, 29 December 2013

Bully By Penelope Douglas

My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all. No, he'll barely even speak to me. 

But he still won't leave me alone. 

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went to France for a year, just to avoid him. 

But I'm done hiding from him now, and there's no way in hell I'll allow him to ruin my senior year. He might not have changed, but I have. It's time to fight back. Read on for my review ......

Tuesday, 24 December 2013

Torn from you By Nashoda Rose

Love is like an avalanche. It hits hard, fast and without mercy. 

At least it did for me when Sculpt, the lead singer of the rock band Tear Asunder knocked me off my feet. Literally, because he’s also a fighter, illegally of course, and he taught me how to fight. He also taught me how to love and I fell hard for him. I mean the guy could do sweet, when he wasn't doing bossy, and I like sweet. 

Then it all shattered. 

I was alone and fighting to survive. 
When I heard Sculpt's voice, I thought he was there to save me. 

I was wrong. 

With you By Nashoda Rose

Sculpt is an illegal fighter. 
He’s also the lead singer of a local rock band. 
No one knows his real name. 
And from the moment I met him, he made me forget mine. 

In order to convince Sculpt to give me self-defense lessons, I had to follow his one rule—no complaining or he’d walk. I didn't think it would be a problem. I could handle a few bruises. What I hadn't anticipated was landing on my back with Sculpt on top of me and my entire body burning up for him. 
I tried to ignore it. 
I failed of course. And having a hot, tattooed badass on top of me week after week, acting completely immune to what he was doing to me—it was frustrating as hell, so I broke his rule—I complained. 
Then he kissed me. 

Sunday, 22 December 2013

Arrow of time By Lina Andersson

After traveling around the world for six years, both running from her past and seeking her future, Edie Yates is back in Greenville, Arizona to reconnect with her older sister, Melanie. While Edie was away, Melanie married Brick Baxter, president of the Marauder Riders MC, and found a real family, the likes of which neither Melanie nor Edie had ever known. Now Melanie wants Edie to know the love and security of that family. 
And she does. In the Marauders, Edie finds brothers, nieces and nephews, even a surrogate father or two. She begins to settle in, though she still struggles with her past. 
And she finds Dawg, who earns his road name regularly. He loves women, and they love him. Edie knows he’s bad news, and she tells him she’s not interested. But he’s funny and charming, and she enjoys his company. 
Dawg knows he isn’t boyfriend material. He doesn’t want to be boyfriend material. He likes being a dawg. And he’s far too smart to hit on his president’s sister-in-law. But she’s interesting. She’s had a life, been everywhere. He enjoys talking with her. When she makes it clear that she’s not interested, and he makes it clear that he’s not stupid, they begin to forge a friendship. 
They become close—real friends. 
And then everything explodes. 

Friday, 20 December 2013

When it rains By Lisa De Jong

One night changed my life forever. 
Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it's more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can't. 
I haven’t told anyone. 
I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone. 
Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn't care who I used to be, he's simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life. 
I’ve been hurt. 
I’ve been saved. 
And I’ve found hope. 
I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down… 

Thursday, 12 December 2013

Calmly, Carefully, Completely By Tammy Falkner

Calmly, Carefully, Completely

I met her on the worst night of her life. She was broken, shaking, and waiting for someone to save her. I am just thankful I got the opportunity to know her. Her dad helped me with some legal trouble I got into, and I volunteered to help out at their camp for children with special needs. Horses, pools, and a tracking bracelet on my ankle. Sounds like a fun week, doesn't it? 
She was there and she wanted to thank me for my kindness on that awful night. But I want her. I want her more than anything. I think she wants me back, but she needs calm and careful, and I don't know if I can provide that. Reagan Pete saved me. But now it's my turn to return the favor. He's hot, with this tattoos and piercings but, beneath it all, he's crying out for someone to save him too. Can he love me completely? She’s been locked up even longer than he has. Peter Reed is fresh out of jail, fresh out of excuses, and ready for a brand new start. Reagan Caster needs to thank Pete for an act of kindness, but he wants more than just her thanks. Reagan knows how to protect her body, but not her heart. And her traitorous body responds to Pete in a way it hasn't with anyone else. When Pete's innocent flirtation becomes more, Reagan's ready to accept what he has to offer. Pete assumes Reagan needs to be loved carefully and calmly. But Reagan knows she needs to be loved completely.   Can he give her what she needs? 

Monday, 9 December 2013

Misled By Kathryn Kelly


He deals in a world of violence, sex, drugs, and crudity. As president of the Death Dwellers' Motorcycle Club, Christopher "Outlaw" Caldwell presides over a club in chaos after the death of their longtime president and his mentor, Joseph "Boss" Foy. 
Megan Foy runs from her abusive stepfather, hoping for her daddy's intervention to save her and get her terrified mother away before it's too late. Only problem is, she soon discovers her beloved daddy is dead and the man who killed him is the man she's falling in love with. 

Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Fear of falling By S.L.Jennings

Fear of falling

I can't remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn't bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I've run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn't run anymore.
He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fiber of my being. It wasn't the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn't the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just...him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear.
My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.