Showing posts with label Rock star. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rock star. Show all posts

Friday, 15 July 2016

Keep (A Seaside Pictures Novel #2) By Rachel Van Dyken



My name is shouted on rooftops. 
It's written on bras, on the inside of bathroom stalls, hell my name is everywhere. 
To say my name is to experience an orgasm without ever leaving your damn house. 
My name is Zane "Saint" Andrews. 
I'm sex. 
I'm a rock god. 
I'm also...a virgin. 
What they don't know won't kill them right? Give the people what they want. And what they want is the idea of me; the pleasure they gain at listening to my song and knowing without a doubt I'm talking about them and only them. 
It worked for a while. 
Until a nerdy girl with glasses falls at my feet, literally, and suddenly I don't want to be Saint anymore, what I want? What I really need? 
Is to be kept. 
By her. 

This is a rockstar romance with lots of kissing, sex, funny one liners, and life from a different angle. I hope you guys enjoy, and remember, it's all about the mallow.


How can anyone not fall in love with this guy???? He's so freaking adorable and not just because he doesn't jump on every woman who bats an eyelash at him. Yeah, that is what originally made me want to know more about him. I mean, why would someone as good looking, as famous as him, NOT want to have sex with all the hot supermodels, actresses and singers?? It just didn't seem right and I knew there was a story there, more than just the whole virginity part.

Oh, and it also had me interested because of the whole reference to him being related to the mafia, a certain mafia we all know and love. The fact they aren't brought in to this book breaks my heart but then, what would come of our lovely seaside adventures if there was blood and gore going around... we have enough dealing with Demitri LOL 

Anyway, Zane stumbles across Falon (LOVE THIS NAME) and is taken back by her reaction, since it's not the normal screaming, drooling and trying to rip his clothes off reaction. That, and I think it had to do with the fact her lip gloss tasted like marshmallow. That boy and his marshmallows. 

I really loved the story and wasn't surprised to know that Zane had more to him that his marshmallows and his virginity. His story is raw and I know personally what it's like having that level of anxiety that you can't leave the house. I just wish I had my marshmallow to help calm me down. 

The only fault I will have to say with the story was certain things with the story line. It says at the beginning that Fallon had one awkward encounter with her lab partner but then later on says she slept with a football player at her school and someone at band camp. 
There were also a few errors in the book but none major enough to call the grammar police LOL

The ending did feel rushed but then, I was enjoying it, I guess I just didn't feel like it had what the other Seaside series books had. There just seemed to be something missing. It makes me sad having to write something negative, even though this is only one opinion and it could just be me that thinks it. 

RVD can tell me to stick my review up my arse and I wouldn't blame the woman. She's a fantastic writer and amazing person, one I was luckily enough to meet this year at Four Brits. So please don't be offended by my review, RVD. 

I also wished we got to see more of Will, who will be in book three with Angelica, the she devil LOL I reckon it would make me want more if we knew about him, got to know him more... or if we knew they were all going to be together. Because where Angelica and Demitri are concerned.... Anything could happen and I also love his and Alec's reaction to her. RVD has a way of making you laugh in the worst situations. 

4*

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Forever Rockers (The Rocker Series #12) By Terri Anne Browning



All I wanted was Harper’s happiness and I would move the world to give her anything she ever wanted. We’ve searched for answers, talked about our options, and finally—FINALLY—found hope. 

Yet, just when things seemed to be perfect, it all came crashing down around us all. The one person I’ve always counted on to hold us together—to hold me together—was lost in her own nightmares and I felt like I was losing everything. 

Everything. 

I wasn’t going to lose the woman I loved. I would hold onto her until the last breath left my body. It was my mistakes that were hurting us and I would be the one to fix it. I wouldn’t let my past ruin my forever with Harper. 


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

HOLY FUCKING SHIT!!!!!!!

No!! seriously, holy crap!!!!

When I noticed this download onto my kindle, I was unsure what to do. I couldn't get into it since Gabriela's book. I read to about 39% and gave up. I haven't read the others until this one. 

And shit.... what a way to end a series. 

As you know Shane WAS the biggest whore out of them all. He slept his way through faceless women, not caring about a single one. Until Harper. The love of his life. 
Married, Happy, it all comes back to bite him in the ass. His past has it out for him, ready to punish him, well, those around him and for some reason, that person has their sights on Mia, Harper, Emma and Gabby. 
With their lives in danger in previous books, we finally get to see how it all ends. 

The book is written in multiple POV's. With so much drama going on around all the couples I was surprised it only confused me in a few places. 
I'm not talking stalkers, although that is the biggest issue the Rockers have going on, but it's more. 
We're having births, pregnancy's, miracles, weddings, baby showers, births, threatening emails, deaths, heartbreak. But through it all the ROCKERS stand together and get through it. 

I've never been so glued to a book before. After feeling out of sorts about the Gab and Ax story I was sure I wouldn't get into it. But I was wrong. My favourite characters are the main focus during the book, Shane and Harper, which I loved, but it was more than that, it was all of them still being there for each other with so much going on in their lives. 

I did feel for Emma during this book and I've disliked her a little through the first few books, finding it hard to relate to her character. But Terri blew me away with this heart stopping novel. 
I've never gripped to my seat so hard in my life. The anticipation was killing me, especially at the end. 

The book was epic, defo one I'll be reading again and again. 

5 ROCKING *

Friday, 19 February 2016

The Rocker Who Shatters Me (The Rocker Series #9) By Terri Anne Browning



A Bet… 

Yes, I made a bet with my best friend—my now ex-best friend. It had been a stupid, heat of the moment kind of thing. I’d just wanted to get her out of my system and move one. Instead I’ve lived to regret it ever since. I lost the girl I loved, a girl that possessed my very soul. Now I can’t even get close to Natalie. She thinks all she ever meant to me was just the means to the end of a stupid, stupid game. 

…For a Bet! 

In the span of one night I’d gone from thinking I had a future with the man I loved to SHATTERED at his feet. I can’t get over it. The pain is too strong, too destructive as it festers more and more inside of me. And then my friend came up with the perfect revenge for both our broken hearts. 

“I bet you…” 

Those three little words gave me a reason to ball my pain up and throw it back in Devlin Cutter’s face. I would let him back in, let him think he had a chance with me once again. And then I would walk away, leaving him broken and bleeding at my feet as he once had left me. 

This time he would be the one SHATTERED. 


I received this book in exchange for an ARC. 

It all starts with a bet. A stupid bet. 
When Nat finds out what happens she's completely broken, hating the two friends hard, but it's Devlin that tore her heart to shreds. 

She's still broken up months later. 
So when she has to go back on tour, Nat grows a backbone. Making another bet in a previous book to make Devlin fall in love with her again, so that she can leave him broken and shattered. 
It's all fun and games until someone gets hurt. 

As we know, Marissa is the first to drop out of the bet, and as the book continues, so does Nat. It still doesn't stop her from having her guard up. 

This book has loads going on, not just Nat and Devlin. It's exciting, and a lot of drama. 
We also see Lucy, Layla's little sister, and Harris, Devlins boy's friendship. I'm hoping the two get their own book because they are so adorably cute together. 

4*

The Rocker Who Cherishes Me (The Rocker Series #8) By Terri Anne Browning



Wroth 
The marines took me from a Tennessee farm boy and turned me into a hard man. Between the things I’d seen during my tour of duty and the things I’d done during my years as a member of OtherWorld, nothing could faze me. Nothing. 

Except for HER. 

She’s everything that is good in the world. At least, my world. Everything I’ve ever done has been for her. Always for her. I feel as if I need her to breathe, to feel alive. But I can’t have Marissa. She’s to innocent, to damn perfect. And me? I’m not good enough for that girl. She deserves better, someone who would spend their life CHERISHING her. Not breaking her heart. 

Marissa 
Between my brother and Wroth Niall I’d been protected from the world for most of my life. You would think I was still a little girl the way they treated me. But I wasn’t made out of glass. It would take a lot to break this girl. Because if a childhood cancer hadn’t kicked my butt, nothing would. Right? 
Wrong. 
All I’ve ever wanted was for him to look at me. Really look at me and see that I wasn’t a fragile piece of porcelain that would break if he touched me. What I got was a lot more…but nowhere close to enough. Once I touched heaven—at least heaven for me—and now I didn’t know how to go back to what Wroth and I had had before. I can’t go back to the life I was living before my short time with Wroth. It would destroy me to stay that close, when I know that I’m not what he really wants. So when my brother asks me to go on tour with him yet again, I decide to jump on that tour bus without a backwards glance. 

Only I wasn’t prepared to be stuck on HIS bus. 


I've always been curious about this couple. They've always been close in other books and Wroth has never left her side. He's always so protective of her, more so than her brother. 

In Dallas's book we know they hook up and they become a couple. But what we didn't know was that more happened on that tour than met the eye. 
Marissa thinks Wroth cheated on him. 
Crazy right? 
He doesn't deny it so why else would we believe any different? 

Marissa has her own issues. Having her childhood taken away from suffering with an illness. So having Wroth see her as more than a girl was everything to her. But then he broke her heart. 
When she ends up on the same tour bus with him, I honestly believe it's not going to go right. Something is bound to happen. But she actually surprised me how much stronger she became when it come to the broody, beast, Wroth. 

My favourite part of the book is towards the end. Oh My god, I've never smiled or gushed so much in all my life. Wroth took something that meant the world to Marissa and turned it into something so beautiful. 
The Rocker who Cherishes me has to be the most romantic book out of all of them so far. He'd die for her, it's that kind of love. But more than that he wants to give her her hearts desire. 

4.5*

The Rocker Who Wants Me (The Rocker Series #7) By Terri Anne Browning



Axton 
I thought I had everything I needed in life. More money than I would ever spend in my lifetime. A successful band that traveled all around the world. Girls throwing themselves at me on a daily basis. A kind of pseudo family in the Demon’s Wings guys and Emmie. And then she fell into my life. The second my eyes landed on the blonde bombshell with her sassy mouth and those hot piercings and tats, I knew that I’d finally found someone I wanted for life. 

Dallas 
I fell hard for a Rock God. When it was over, I was left shattered. But I was stronger than anyone—especially my mother—gave me credit for. I picked myself up and worked my ass off to get through nursing school, putting the rest of my life on hold to finally fulfill my dreams. 

When tragedy strikes, Dallas and Axton are thrown together again. Dallas is along for the ride as OtherWorld goes on a three month tour. Will Axton finally be able to convince her that his feelings go deeper than he first let her see? Or will Dallas be left wondering if Axton Cage was just THE ROCKER WHO WANTS Me? 


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

I freaking loved this book. 
I knew there was more to Axton then what Terri let on in the other books. As you know he and Dallas have a short fling where it leaves the blond bombshell a broken mess. She tries to hide how much he hurt her, but we all know better. 
When Dallas comes close to another member, and a tragedy strikes, Dallas and Axton are yet again thrown together. 

Dallas is such a lovely character. I really liked her. And when she is on tour with the Otherworld, she sees a side to Axton that no one else sees. A part in this book, where they meet a young fan who saved up and snuck out just to see them, had me melting in a puddle. My God, it was in that moment that I fell in love with Axton Cage. 

Their story is just as epic as the others, and we get to see more into new secondary characters lives. 
I can't wait to read more. 

4.5*

The Rocker Babies (The Rocker Series #6) By Terri Anne Browning



After the nightmares of our childhoods my guys and I have finally found the happiness we deserve. Shane is getting married, Drake and Jesse are going to be fathers, and I’m making my own career with Nik’s encouragement. It’s taken a lifetime, but finally we have moved on… 

I should have known better than to think life was just going to be simple from here on out. I knew from firsthand experience that right when you get comfortable and content those bitches Fate throw a curve ball into the mix. I wasn’t expecting the possible tragedy that we are faced with. I’m the strong one, the one that has to help the rest of them through the tough times, but I don’t know how strong I can be for them through this… 
-Emmie 


For the sixth book in the series you'd think you'd be a little bored with the characters, but your not. Each story is unique, with different characters and the main story plot, but with The rocker babies it's written in multiple POV's. We get to see everything from different POV's. 

As you can see from the blurb, everyone is moving on with their life. They are all either married, getting married, or they've got children or one on the way. 
But as the blurb says, fate throws another curve ball into the mix and once again the tight group are faced with another dilemma.

It's exciting, full of suspense and will have you on the edge of your seat. 
I can't wait to read Axton's book as I feel there is more to his character than meets the eye. 

5* 

The Rocker Who Holds Her (The Rocker Series #5) By Terri Anne Browning



I had big dreams of how I wanted my life. Becoming a rock star was all I wanted. It would solve so many of my problems. With the money that I would make I was going to take care of my mom, get her out of the hell hole we had been living in all my life. Having your dreams come true isn’t something that many 
people get to accomplish in life. I did, and I loved it. 

For about a minute… 

It’s funny how when you think you have everything you could possible every want, your dreams change. Mine did without my even realizing it. Then I opened my eyes and saw that everything I ever wanted was standing in front of me. 

From the first day I set eyes on Emmie she became a part of me. The guys and I spent years watching over her, caring for her… Loving her. Then without my realizing it my love for her changed. I found myself aching for her, wanting her in a way that a guy like me had no right to want her. My love and need for Emmie became an all-consuming ache that I was helpless to fight against. 

Would she ever open those big green eyes and see me as anything but a friend? 


This book is literally book one but in Niks POV. The book is a lot longer than book one, and starts with how Emmie and Nik first meet. 
It's basically a run through their story, how they met, how their love grows.

I don't really have a lot to say without ruining the story for you, but if you want to read the deeper reading of their love and how they come about, then this is definitely a book to read. It also has a few other parts of the previous stories involved. 

The Rocker Who Loves Me (The Rocker Series #4) By Terri Anne Browning



The Rocker…. 
I was the fun loving, easy going, different girl—okay, different girls every night—Demon. One look into a pair of violet eyes and all of that changed. She doesn’t even realize how beautiful she is and that makes me want her even more. Realizing that she is just as damaged as I am breaks my heart. Harper is a part of me, my other half. If only she would open her incredible eyes and see how I feel… 

The Beauty… 
I knew that I wasn’t Shane Stevenson’s type. Hot rockers don’t go for plain girls like me. Years of my mother telling me just how unbeautiful I am has assured me of that. I have nothing to offer a guy that is so used to hot girls drooling over him. So why is he always there when I turn around? And why does it feel like little needles piercing my heart at the mere thought of him with someone else?


I couldn't believe this book. It was nothing like I imagined it would be. Shane is such a whore I never thought he'd change his ways. 
With the rest of the band members off the market, Harper becomes the most hated person. 
And having to deal with her own life and her past issues Harper isn't willing to chance Shane breaking her heart. 
But after becoming friends with the rocker and seeing a new side to him she takes that chance. But she constantly believes she isn't good for him. This coming from the pure good girl. 
Her mother lay so much on her. I honestly wanted to bitch slap her mom. She constantly out her down and out Harper's step sister, who isn't her daughter on a high pedistal. It broke my heart seeing how much it hurt and embarrassed Harper. 

Although I wanted more from the book I couldn't put it down. Not only because of Harper's and Shane's tragic past but because of their story. 

They were both good for each other. They balanced each other out. 

This story is one of the quickens ones but it doesn't ruin it and doesn't feel rushed. It was well mapped out. I also became to love Shane as a character. Reading his story as well as Drakes really broke my heart and the author captures all that emotion in her writing and you feel it. 

4*

The Rocker Who Needs Me (The Rocker Series #3) By Terri Anne Browning



The Demon… 

I’ve been fighting my own demons for most of my life. The alcohol seems to numb the pain, but it never makes the nightmares go away. All I want in life is a little peace. When I met my angel it felt like I found it, but there is so much standing between us. Why does she have to be so young…? 

The Demon’s Angel… 

Meeting Drake was the best thing to ever happen to me. I found my friend, my soul mate. But he lets my age stand between us. There is something that haunts him, and I selfishly want to be the one that helps him conquer his ghosts. If he would just let me in, let me closer, I think I could help him…


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Drake is an alcoholic. He's not hidden that fact and drink freely whenever he pleases. How he manages to still play for the band is anyone's guess. 
In the other books you know something dark is haunting Drake. You know it's going to bad but never and I mean never would I have guessed what it was. I honestly thought it was from a bad childhood and growing up on the wrong side of the tracks. But reading his story made me understand his character more and why, out of all the band members he seemed the most distant from Emmie when they are all close. 
It seems he holds a lot of guilt stole something that could have happened to her. 

Angel, Layla's sister, Lana is smitten with Drake from the get go. We see their friendship blossom in book two but in this book we see the real depths of their feelings for each other. 
This book is my favourite so far because of this. It had so much more meaning, so much emotion it kept me captive all the way through. 

Drake screws up so much during the book and although at times I'd say it was unforgivable, the two do work through it. But Lana knows something is holding Drake back. 
He's obsessive protective, he obviously loves her and even follows her to New York after a year I think it is after his first screw up. To me, how he redeemed himself and how he did it is the best way he could have. He really proved to everyone he was worthy of Lana. 

But again, nightmares haunt him. He spills his secrets to Lana whilst drunk but he doesn't know she knows and she doesn't know the full story. But until he opens up, she knows nothing will be fixed. 
Their story is tragically beautiful and I was glued to the screen reading it. 

5*

The Rocker Who Savors Me (The Rocker Series #2) By Terri Anne Browning



Layla… 

…has had a hard life. On her own at a young age, always having to do what needed to be done just to survive. Now she has two other people depending on her and she needs a job fast before they get evicted. A job interview introduces her to Jesse Thornton, the delicious drummer for Demon’s Wings. He reminds her of all the mistakes of her past, but is also her hope for the future. 

Jesse… 

…has never let anyone in. The only real family he has ever had are his band brothers and Emmie—the only women he has ever loved. But then Layla comes into his life and he would do just about anything to get one taste. Can he move past his own insecurities and allow this woman into his heart?

Awe. I love Jessie. He's like the dad of the group. The word of reason. The sensible one so to speak. 
He's childhood memory of Emmie broke my heart. No child should have to live through that. 
Although all the band members have their own stories to share, I think Jessie's shaped him more into the person he's become. With his insecurities and only letting in his right circle of friends. 

Layla, who I instantly loved the moment she arrived at Emmies to be the house maid, I fell in love with. She hasn't had it easy and as a daughter from one of her mothers many one night stands with a rockstar, she isn't a fan. She makes it known and doesn't care. She's strong willed and looks after her two sisters, one of who is under 10. 
When she applies for the job with Emmie you can they'll be good friends. But I have to admit there were times when I felt Emmie needed to butt out. I could understand her need to want to protect her family but come on, there grown ass men. 

The story moves quickly and the relationship nearly comes to blow a few times but somehow, Jessie always manages to fix things. 
With Layla having to look after her sisters she can't afford to lose her job. But the job becomes more to her than cleaning. What she does for one of the band members really got to me. That there showed just how much of a good person she was. 

This story is what got me wanting to read the next. I love the family feel the band has even though only two are actually blood related. I love books like this and it was one reason it got me hooked. 

Would defo recommend to other readers. 

4* 

Wednesday, 3 February 2016

The Rocker Who Holds Me (The Rocker Series #1) By Terri Anne Browning



Touring with four rockers is the thing of dreams… 

At least that is what people tell me. To me those four rockers are my family. They have watched over me from the time I was five years old. Protecting me from my mother and her drunken, drug addict rages. When they made it big they still watched over me. And when my monster of a mother died they took over as my guardians. 

In the six years since that happened I have watched over the four men that 
mean everything to me. I take care of them just as they once took care of me. I handle all the dirty work behind the scenes of a rockers life. It isn’t always pretty. At times it can be damn near disgusting, especially when I have to get rid of their one night stands. Ugh! 

Taking care of them doesn’t bother me though. I mean it’s not like I’m in love with one of them. That would be crazy. Falling for a rocker is NOT smart. 

Okay, so I’m not smart. I love my guys, and one of them kind of holds my heart in his big old rocker hand. But I’m dealing. I’ve been able to keep it my little secret for years now. 
I'm not, however, dealing with this bug that I seem to have caught. It scares the hell out of me. I hate doctors, but I’m suddenly more worried about finding out what is wrong with me than what the doctor might do to me. 

When I get my test results back my life will never be the same again… 


The rocker who holds me is the first in the Rocker Series. It's not very long which was disappointing, especially having read all the series now. 

Em grew up in a trailer park with the members of the band. All of them meant something different to Em, but all of them were her family. She's only young, like 5 or something, when they first meet her and they are all teenagers. 
I wouldn't even say what they did was protect Em. When I first read about the characters, it was in Angel Halo's novel, and presumed an adult had adopted her. But it's not. It's actually the members of the band. Very unlikely, but hey, it's a novel, I can live with that. Anyway, they don't actually protect her, they're there to clean her up after her mom badly beats her. How no one could report such violent, noticeable acts is sickening. From what I read Em is always covered in some sort of cuts and bruises and is always missing. As she escapes to one of the boys beds to get away from her mom.

Nic also has a past of his own and his feelings for Em have changed. Neither admit their feelings until Em's mysterious illness, which actually isn't an illness. 

I really did love the series. Em's sassy, easy going and doesn't take any shit. No at all like the little girl we meet in the beginning of the book. 
The story plot is really good, but wish we had more of their story. I felt like it was rushed. The book felt more like an introduction to the other characters, and for me, these two are the main characters in every book. Everything is always centered in someway around them. 
The like the alpha female and male of the group.

4,5*

Friday, 15 January 2016

Talon (Ashes & Embers Book four) By Carian Cole



DESCRIBE YOUR IDEAL PARTNER: 
Caring. Hard-working. A devoted family man, loves kids. 
Clean cut, funny, smart, quiet, but a good communicator. 

~ Asia Jenson 

DESCRIBE YOUR IDEAL PARTNER: 
Independent. Tall, blonde, sexy. Outgoing. Intelligent, neat. Unslutty. Confident. Loves to travel. Committed. 
~ Talon Valentine 

A SOCIAL EXPERIMENT. 
The concept was scary but exciting... 
Marry a total stranger. 
Live together for six months. 
Journal everything. (Feelings. Fights. All of it.) 
After six months, we each get $50K in trade for our journals, whether we stay married or not. But the goal is to commit to the experience and see if the relationship experts could put together the perfect matches. 
I have never been lucky in love. This was my chance to find my soulmate. 
I couldn’t wait to meet the man the experts felt was perfect for me. 
My hopes were immediately dashed when I saw him at the altar. 
Shit. I married my worst nightmare. 
Right?! 



I received an ARC in an exchange for a review. 

Where to start.... This book is so unique. I've never read anything like it. 
Talon, ever the loving rockstar, is funny, beautiful and really doesn't mix his words. I've never laughed so much. Talon, is kind of a manwhore, but he's getting fed up with the usual lay, he wants something more, he wants what his brothers have. 

Asia on the other hand is unlucky in love, and can never find the right guy. So when her best friends tells her to enter a social experiment, she's wary at first. But the more she thinks about it, the more she gives in. 

The two don't meet each other until they're walking down the isle, and even then they are speaking their vowels. 
As soon as the two come face to face they're are fireworks. I mean, explosive fireworks. Neither were expecting each other. 
Even I believed there had been a mistake and burst out laughing. They were so awkward. He expected so much from her, especially on their wedding night, and she just wanted the man she asked for on paper. 
But then, everything on paper sounds good, right? 

The experiment, although it wasn't real, was so fun to read. How the two grow close, how they build on their marriage and become a real couple. I've honestly never read anything like it, and it was a breath of fresh air to read. 

I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone, and I have promoted the ass off it. This book will become so many readers favourites. 

The story moves onto a sad subject towards the end and my God, it broke my heart. It felt like they were finally getting their lives together, fighting away their insecurities when it all comes crashing down around them. Some awful happens to Talon, the most hardest thing to happen to a musician. 

To find out for yourselves how a social experiment on two strangers getting married, works, read TALON. I promise you won't be disappointed. 

5 ROCKING STARS ***** 

Storm (Ashes & Embers Book one) By Carian Cole



The calm before the storm… 

I lived in the quiet stillness. 
I felt the wind rustle, warning me, telling me to get out of its path. 

But I didn’t. 

I never stood a chance. 

A series of weather and road mishaps leaves me trapped in the middle of a blizzard with a complete stranger. In the back of a pickup truck. For forty-eight freakin’ hours. 

A stranger with long hair, tattoos, and rippling with muscle. 
A stranger with an insanely sexy voice and a wicked smile that turned my insides to jelly. 
A stranger who held me in his arms, calmed me, and then set a fire in me that I couldn’t put out. 

Storm lives up to his name. Beautiful. Dangerously inviting. Tumultuous. Dark. A clash of hot and cold. 

He’s used to getting everything he wants. 

And now he wants me. 

Some people chase storms for the beautiful thrill. What happens when the storm chases you? 



I actually read Talon before reading Storm. Backwards? Yes. But I'm so glad that I did. 
Honestly, Talon was so much better, but I'm so glad I read this novel. 

Two people getting stranded in a storm, getting off on each other, then becoming friends? It can happen, right? Right? 

It all happened so quickly. I can't stand cheating, and usually refuse to read any book that has it in, but Carian made me see it differently. Yeah, cheating is cheating. But her relationship needed to come to an end. She needed Storm to push her in the right direction. Her bloke was an ass. Sorry but he was. Big fat, cheating, loser. 

All in all, I loved the book. It made me giggle and I loved how HOT Storm was with Evie. His dirty talk? Off the charts. 

Will be reading more from this series for sure....

3,5*

Saturday, 29 August 2015

Finding us By Debra Presley



Pop star Abby Murphy is living every girl’s dream. She has fame, fortune, and a handsome boyfriend, a guitar player named Sean. That changes the night she finds him in the arms of another woman. Hurt and betrayed, Abby ends their relationship. But Sean won't accept the breakup, and she soon learns that he’s had a hidden agenda all along. Overnight, Sean transforms from loving boyfriend to dangerous adversary, and Abby no longer knows who she can trust among her friends and family. 

Abby turns to her bodyguard, Danny Nucci, a man who will do everything in his power to keep her safe. But when Abby realizes her feelings for Danny run much deeper than she thought, she refuses to give in to her attraction in order to preserve her new found independence as well as protect Danny from Sean's machinations. 

When Abby finally finds the strength to reclaim her life and acknowledge her growing love for Danny, will she be able to let him in? And will Danny be able to overcome his own demons to be the man she needs him to be? Or will she be forced to let him go forever?


Pop star Abby Murphy is on tour, ready to start her new album. She's dating the guitar player Sean, but because of the schedule her mother has her on, she has no time to see him. 

So one night when she's doing her interviews and what not, she tells him she'll just see him back at their room. When he's not there and realizes she's left her phone in her dressing room, she takes a risk going out on her own without her body guards to retrieve it. 
It ends up with her walking in on Sean sleeping with the groupy she caught him talking to earlier that night. What should have been a couples tiff, turned into an argument, things got heated and shit was said, but I honestly didn't get that vibe off Sean. 

Everything is blown WAY out of proportion and I honestly nearly gave up reading it. But the more I read, the better it got. 

Abbie and Danny find themselves fighting the attraction they have to one another, but Danny, having lost someone from not been able to save them before starts to realize he's pushing his body guard boundaries over the line. He's there for her in more ways than someone just protecting her for a job. 

I loved the two together, and was so glad I picked this up. 

The book does need a little bit of work done on it, but other than that, it is fine. 

4*

Friday, 1 May 2015

Deep (Stage Dive #4) By Kylie Scott




Positive. With two little lines on a pregnancy test, everything in Lizzy Rollins' ordinary life is about to change forever. And all because of one big mistake in Vegas with Ben Nicholson, the irresistibly sexy bass player for Stage Dive. So what if Ben's the only man she's ever met who can make her feel completely safe, cherished, and out of control with desire at the same time? Lizzy knows the gorgeous rock star isn't looking for anything more permanent than a good time, no matter how much she wishes differently.
Ben knows Lizzy is off limits. Completely and utterly. She's his best friend's little sister now, and no matter how hot the chemistry is between them, no matter how sweet and sexy she is, he's not going to go there. But when Ben is forced to keep the one girl he's always had a weakness for out of trouble in Sin City, he quickly learns that what happens in Vegas, doesn't always stay there. Now he and Lizzie are connected in the deepest way possible . . . but will it lead to a connection of the heart?


Lizzy has been in the series since Book Two, Mal's story who is with her older sister Anne who has basically raised Lizzy her whole life. 
When Lizzy first meets Ben she's instantly attracted to him, but Mal and Anne warn Ben to stay away. 
Not concerned that Ben will betray his bestfriend they don't see what Ben and Lizzy are doing behind their backs. 

Lizzy and Ben become friends as such via text messaging. Nothing more. But you can't help but feel their feelings through them and when he picks her up once from a bar he warned her not to go to. So when they see each other at her sisters wedding he takes her back to her room, where the two share a night together. I didn't know any of this until reading the book as in the previous two books the characters haven't really shown that much of an interest in each other. There is a part in Jimmy's story where she storms out after a comment Ben say's, but that's it. 


I didn't like Ben after the stunt he pulled in the first novel Lick. His sister is the one that was previously in a relationship with David, but cheated on him with his own brother Jimmy. So when they find out he's married, Ben helps his sister break them apart. I didn't like him for that, it was a dick move. 

Anyway. Lizzy ends up pregnant and the news comes out in the worst way possible. It's actually Ben's date that shares the news. Funny? Yes!!
When Ben finds out he's not happy, but he wants to pay for the baby, which is another dick move. 
I never really felt the connection between him and Lizzy. Yes, I could feel the want with Lizzy, but not the why she felt the way she did because he had been nothing but a selfish dick. When she's sick and has to stay in bed with a doctor on standby he's across the country playing music and only sending her far apart texted messages. I could have screamed. If that didn't shout unemotionally Involved then I don't know what does. 

I suppose the book is about Lizzy searching for something in Ben, the truth to why he is the way he is. 
But when his sister returns and demands Lizzy sign a contract, basically paying Lizzy off all hell breaks loose. What I don't get is the fact Lizzy, not once, ever asked for anything of Ben apart from himself. Then his sister, who he's basically supported with high cost clothes and living since he become famous walks back into his life and demands that Lizzy, out of both of them, sign the contract. 

To me that would have been the end of it for me. I hated Ben before, but that took the piss. Excuse my french. 

Nothing is thrown back at his sister and all I wanted was for her to have a taste of her own medicine. 

It's a HEA but I just didn't feel it and I'd been looking forward to their story as soon as I found out they were having one. It really disappointed me. Not at all like the other three previous books where the men live and breathe their women. 

3* 

Lead (Stage dive series #3) By Kylie Scott




As the lead singer of Stage Dive, Jimmy is used to getting whatever he wants, whenever he wants it, whether it's booze, drugs, or women. However, when a PR disaster serves as a wake-up call about his life and lands him in rehab, he finds himself with Lena, a new assistant to keep him out of trouble.



Lena's not willing to take any crap from the sexy rocker and is determined to keep their relationship completely professional, despite their sizzling chemistry. But when Jimmy pushes her too far and Lena leaves, he realizes that he may just have lost the best thing that ever happened to him.




I've not liked Jimmy in any of the other books. In fact I really disliked him. It's one of the reasons I didn't read the book straight away, but then something I read made me go back to read this one. 
Bit of a late review as I read this a long while ago, but I loved it and I loved Jimmy so much, he's officially my favourite character. 

Little back track on Jimmy. In the first book where his brother David married Evelyn in the first book in the series LICK. It turned out that Jimmy slept with David (his brothers) girlfriend.
You see, Jimmy Ferris is the lead singer of Stage dive, he's obnoxious, unpredictable and used to getting everything he wants. 

After a stint in rehab he's reformed, changing his ways, all of his ways. When Lena is given the job to keep Jimmy on the straight and narrow they push at each others boundary's, Jimmy never giving her the time of day or the respect she deserves, so she never respects him back and doesn't take his shit. She just works through her job day by day hoping one day she'll wake up and he'll actually be nice. 
One the day of the funeral of Mal's mom things change for Lena. She see's the vulnerable side of jimmy, and not the hard front he puts on for everyone. It's actually what had me reading the book. I really wanted him to change. 

Anyway, after seeing Jimmy in a new light and been his rock through the funeral, holding into him and walking up with him for his speech, things begin to heat up for Lena. 
She lives with Jimmy, so being with him day in and day out starts to get hard, especially when their chemistry starts to become heated and she struggles to keep their relationship platonic. 
when her feelings are blurted out to Jimmy, he decides to help her get rid of her crush by demanding her to date, to do certain things, to push her away, but all it does is bring the two closer together and hilariously so..... 

I swear after reading Play, Mal's book I never thought I'd find another book as funny and enticing, but my God this book had it all from start to finish. I didn't want it to end. 

I honestly would recommend this book to anyone, and it can be read as a standalone, but to really get Jimmy, I'd read the other two books in the series.

5*

Saturday, 28 February 2015

A twist of fate (Lexi #1) By T.Gephart



Lexi is a successful PR manager for a multinational firm, based in Melbourne, Australia. She is an energetic and impulsive soul whose passions sometimes control her life. Through a twist of fate she is chosen to represent a famous client, catapulting her into a new life in New York – fulfilling her in a way that she had never imagined. 

When Lexi meets Alex, sparks fly. Their chemistry is explosive and they can’t get enough of each other. Her role as the PR manager for his band, Power Station, means that they have to keep their arrangement secret and this proves to be a complication for both of them. 

The story follows the twists and turns of six months in Lexi’s life, exploring the complicated rules she creates to govern her relationships and the friends that help her realize that life is more fun when you throw out the rulebook and that love is a major part of being happy.



Because of reading High Strung and Crash Ride, I wanted to know Alex's story. I wanted to know about him and Lexi. 
The story begins off slow and it did take me a while to get into the story, but once I was, I got completely hooked. I loved Lexi's no bullshit attitude and I LOVED Alex's take no prisoners attitude. Both of them together proved they were going to hit it off. 

The story continues with Lexi and her commitment issues.... 
Alex's wanting to be tied down.... 
and the bands upcoming album...... 

I did feel like it dragged towards the end and I won't be reading anymore in this series. I didn't feel like the end, ended with something that made me go 'ohhhhhh' I need to read the next one. 

The author is a brilliant writer and I reckon if I had read this series first I would have read through them all, but because of reading her newest novels I knew most of it. 

3*