Showing posts with label Mafia. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mafia. Show all posts

Sunday, 26 February 2017

Lucca (Made Men #4) By Sarah Brianne



Lucca was made the underboss, being what nightmares are made of.
Chloe was scarred by her past, learning too young that nightmares are real.
He has waited long enough to claim her soul, but he must take it from the devil first.
Her soul might have been better off claimed by the devil.
The only way to save her from her past is to delve into his.
The world as she knows it will come crashing down.

I'm the fu**ing boogieman.
I'm just a fu**ing freak.


Okay, as you know, I was NOT TEAMLUCCA, I was totally TEAMAMO. 

But I didn't even get halfway through the book before I was swayed by Lucca and his love for Chloe. 
I really loved him. He was incredibly charming in his own dangerous way and I couldn't put it down. 

Chloe reacted to Lucca in a way she really needed too. He's perfect for her. Yeah, he went about getting her the wrong way but it was the ONLY way. I couldn't see that at first but then as the story progressed... okay, as the story began, I understood. 

We get to know Lucca on another level. He's not such a mystery in this book and we get to see the real him, the man behind the cold mask. And I have to say, I'm now Team Lucca. I just hope Amo gets his own story soon. I hate knowing he's lost Chloe, but he didn't love her the way Lucca did.

Look at me... LOL 
Read my CHLOE review and you'll see how against Lucca I was LOL I'm not singing a new tune and I couldn't care less aha He really did knock me sideways. Sarah Brianne has really blew us away with this one. She's changed so many minds and for a moment, I didnt think mine could be swayed LOL 

The book is brilliant, the plot much better and although I would have liked to have skipped the rehashing past stuff, I still enjoyed the story. 
The ending was fantastic. 

5*

Cole By Tijan



I shouldn’t have remembered him.
He was just a guy who walked through a restaurant. I didn't know his name. We never made eye contact. There was no connection between us at all.
But I could feel him.
The tingle down my spine. The command in his presence. The snap of tension in the air around him. That was the first time I saw him, and I was captivated.
The second time was different.
He was in the mysterious back elevator of my apartment building. Our eyes met for a fleeting second before the doors closed, and I was staggered. My breath was robbed. My senses on high alert. My body hummed.
That was just the beginning.
He was the leader of the mafia. I was about to fall in love with him, and his name…
Cole Mauricio


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

What can I say...
I really LOVED this book. 
It was a page turner from the very beginning. 

Addison is still grieving after losing the love of her life and struggling to come to terms with moving on, she finds herself haunted by her dead husband. So moving into the hard to rent, silver building with a mystery owner, she starts out her new life. Or tries to...

But then she sees Cole in a restaurant and her life changes forever. 

Cole, my God, I knew he would be sinfully dangerous and sexy to boot, but my God, I loved his character. 
We meet him in Carter Reed 2 and even there, we know he's got a lot to offer. But he is to die for in this book. 
He's sweet, funny, mysterious, sexy, deadly and a hard man to get close to but even still, he lets Addison in as far as he can without endangering her. Or tries...

The last part of the book was explosive. I couldn't put it down. So much was going on, so many secrets, so much action, I couldn't look away. 

Perfect read, packed full of everything you want in a mafia romance novel. Really did enjoy it. Will definitely be reading this one again.

5*

Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Amore Part 2 By Bella Jewel

Image result for amore part 2 bella jewel


Second and final instalment in the thrilling romance series, Amore.

Run. 
He told me to run. So I ran. 
It turns out just because you run from something, doesn’t mean it can’t find you.
He’s coming for me. 
He wants what I hold closest. 
He wants to lie, manipulate and use me. 
He wants me to betray him. 
Rafael. 
Leader of the Italian Mafia. 
Love of my life. 
Father of my child. 
He’s going to make me do the unthinkable. 
There is no way out. 
I’m trapped and about to make the biggest mistake of my life. 
I’m running full throttle towards an oncoming train, and there isn’t a single thing I can do to stop it. 
I’m going to become what I was most afraid of. 
A monster.



I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

So, after part ones explosion, I knew I had to read this as soon as possible. I LOVED it.

I couldn't put it down. I did have a few things I wish were added or more explained but I'm not the author, so it's not my say. Either way, she did an amazing job. I do think it could have been extended too. It was far too short for what was happening. 

That said, the Joker's Wrath MC and Marcus make an appearance. Hot damn I love those men. I hate knowing their series will end soon. 

Marcus' appearance is there for Juliette but he's also a friend of Raf's. He sees the pain and torment when no one else does. And when he offers her help??? SWOON!!!!

I loved the conclusion to the series and I really hope Bella Jewel writes more Mafia romance novels in the future. I don't want to say more on the book since it does ruin it for readers who haven't read it yet or not read the first one. But I can say it is totally worth the read. It's one you'll read again that's for sure. 

5*





Sunday, 23 October 2016

The Fall By T Gephart



Salvation doesn’t exist.
It’s a lie people tell themselves in the dark, alone so their conscience might be eased. To give them hope that, in the end, we can all be forgiven.
Except we can’t. 
And no amount of praying will change that.
For me there will be no redemption, and I will leave this world with the same black heart I entered it with.
The comfort in knowing who I am and what I am capable of keeps me warmer than any lie of having my soul saved. 
Because I know the truth. 
Because I know there is no Heaven.
And there is no Hell.
There is only the fall.

Michael has no one. No family. No Friends. And not a soul in the world cares about him, only a system that tried to break him.
With a strong dislike for establishments and conformity, he has lived his life as a rogue. A hired thug with no allegiances except to his own word.

Sofia has grown up in the shadow of her father—one of the most powerful drug lords in the city. She has vowed to bring him to justice, moving through the ranks of the Chicago PD in an effort to be as far removed from her father’s lifestyle as possible. 

Two worlds collide when Michael shows up at her door, a gun in his hand and a look in his eyes that terrifies her. Suddenly, Sofia has a price on her head and Michael is the only one who can keep her out of the crossfire. 



I received an ARC in exchange for and honest review...

Sofia comes from one of the most powerful families in Chicago, and when she turned her back on them, joining the force, they cast her out. For justice, she's been seeking her own investigation to not only take down her father, but other families out there who get away with what they do. 

Unknown to her, her investigation is known. Not only by her father but from the others she's investigation. With a bounty now on her head she has no choice but to trust Michael, who shows up, a gun in his hand and orders to keep her safe. 

What I thought would be a simple story of boy saves girl, turns out to be so much more. 
Not only does Michael have his own demons, but there's also a twist to the story I didn't see coming that concerns him. 
There was a whole love-hate thing I had for Michael. One minute he was charming, redeemable, and in the next he was an insufferable asshole who I thought was heartless. But his actions stem down to his up-bringing. 

He and Sofia, they're like chalk and cheese. They don't match but in a way, they do. She helps him bare his burdens, making him feel and in return he makes her feel safe, something she's never truly felt. 

I loved this story. 
I am a little disappointed certain bits dragged, and that the ending didn't anything more away. The cliffhanger drove me mad but in a good way. I seriously can't wait for the next book. 

So many dark twists and turns. It will have you hanging on to the edge of your seat, biting your nails, and wishing you had the next book. 
This book is so much different than T.Gephart books. Its a risk she took and it's fallen in her favour because the book is brilliant. I know most people don't like authors going off genre and sometimes I understand but in this case, T.Gephart really proved herself. The writing is brilliant, the story-line gripping and thrilling and the ending just blows you away. 
Make sure you check it out. 


4*

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Amore Part One By Bella Jewel


LINK COMING SOON


I’m just a normal girl. 
Or so you would think. 
I’ve never thought of myself as anything different. 
Until I met him.
He doesn’t think I’m normal. 
He thinks I’m special. 
Special enough to be in his life. 
Special enough to enter his world. 
Special enough for his bed. 
Rafael Lencioni. Dangerous. Beautiful. Terrifying. 
My story is the one that’s never told. 
I’m not the daughter. 
I’m not the wife. 
I’m not the forbidden lover. 
I’m not a sister or a mother. 
I’m not who you think I am. 
So for me to fit into their world, I have to do something I never wanted in my life. 
Something I would have frowned upon until I met him. 
I have to change who I am. 
I have to shut down my heart. 
I have to accept my place. 
My body belongs to him. 
My heart isn’t permitted to.
Those are his rules. 
But rules were made to be broken…right?


Bella Jewel seriously needs to write more Mafia romance novels. I've never been so hooked on a book like this in ages. I loved it. 
I woke up early this morning and thought, hell, I received an ARC off Bella Jewel last night, I'll have a look. 
What was supposed to be a quick flick through, turned out a one read through setting. I literally devoured the whole book. I was gutted when it come to an end and left me with THAT CLIFFHANGER.

I don't condone cheating, in any form and usually it puts me off a book and although parts did, I also pretended he wasn't married, even if it was a forced marriage and a loveless one. 
Juliette was also a girl who didn't deserve to be treated like that. But she asked for it, agreed to it. 
I didn't trust the wife. It's clear she was working with whoever the bad guy was. I think! I'm still not sure LOL That's how GOOD the book was. I really did enjoy it and I can't wait to buy it when it comes out. 

The story line was captivating and the chemistry between the two main characters was explosive. It was off the charts hot and Raf, OMG, he was such a charmer. He treated her well all things considered and he did it with love and care. Kind of. It's hard to explain. But Bella wrote their story perfectly. She did fantastically. 

I do feel like the book was just an introduction and we've seen nothing yet. I'm really excited about part two, so hopefully, we won't be waiting too long. 

5* read and if I could, I'd definitely rate it higher. Another top read for 2016 

Saturday, 18 June 2016

Empire (Eagle Elite Book 7) By Rachel Van Dyken



I have lost everything.
My purpose.
My love.
My soul.
Death knocks on my door, I want to answer, but every time I reach for the handle--the promise I made her, brings me back.
So I breathe.
I live.
I hate.
And I allow the anger to boil beneath the surface of a perfectly indifferent facade.
I am broken, I dont want to be fixed.
One last trip to New York, one last chance to redeem a lost part of the mafia family. The Empire is crumbling and it's my job to fix it, my job to mend the pieces that were scattered over thirty years ago.
The only issue is, the only way to fix, is to do something I swore I'd never do again.
An arranged marriage.
Only this time.
I won't fall.
Or so help me God, I'll kill her myself.
My name is Sergio Abandanoto, you think you know my pain, my suffering, my anger, my hate--you have no idea.
I am the mafia.
I am the darkness.
Blood in. No out.


I can't even begin to describe how much I enjoyed this book. From reading the very first word I knew it was going to be a 5* and Rachel didn't disappoint. 

As you know, Sergio finally loved, but sadly, that love didn't last long and Andie died but what didn't die with Andie was her secrets, her plans for Sergio. 

I felt for Val, really I did. She was so innocent to the life of the mafia and innocent to any bad in the world really. Her Uncles and twin brother kept her from that side of their world, Hoping she never had to find out. 
It wasn't just about her innocence but the struggle she had to go through... Enter, Sergio. 

Forced to marry again, he promises himself he won't be stupid enough to fall in love again. He's still very much in love with Andie. When he meets Val he has to fight hard not to feel anything towards her and goes out of his way to make her feel like crap. But I could understand his feelings, feel the pain he felt and the loss he still harbored. He was being pulled in two different directions and it was heartbreaking to read. 

Val's is intrigued by Sergio, his dark looks, his broody behaviour and the fact he can set her body alight. 
When she finds out she's being forced to marry him, it's not that she finds that bothers her but the fact that their marriage is going to be one sided, loveless on his part and that's what she's struggling to come to terms with. In the end she makes a pact to herself, to just make him happy. He deserves it and boy does Sergio deserve to be happy. 

Anyway... Bullets fly, Tex doesn't shoot first and we finally get to see the boys carefree... okay, their drunk but it's the most carefree those boys will get. And boy, do they feel carefree. LOL !!! Tex sober??? Love him... Tex Drunk???? Hilarious and HOT!!! ALWAYS HOT!! WITH TEX... ALWAYS!!!

This novel, this series, is one everyone should be reading. I can't stop reading them and after reading Empire, I went back to the beginning and started the series all over again. Perfection. 

Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Chloe (Made Men Book 3) By Sarah Brianne





Chloe's scarred face makes her the school's freak.

Her reflection is a constant reminder of how she got them.
The man who scarred her haunts not only her dreams, but also her reality.
Some nightmares don't go away in the daylight.



Two men stand up to save her from the nightmares.
Both are men of the mafia, waiting behind a door she doesn't want to open.
Amo the soldier and Lucca the underboss.
The Beast and the Boogieman.



Who will she choose?


First off, I've wanted to read this book for so long.... 

Chloe has always been that character you've wondered about, worried about and wanted desperately to have a happily ever after. *Coughs* WITH AMO

It basically runs through everything we've already read, but it's all from Chloe's POV and Amo's. I've seen some bad reviews about this, but can you really say, when you read Nero that you didn't wonder what happened when Amo walked Chloe to class???? Because I did. I wondered so bad. Now I know and know more.... but still, HAVE QUESTIONS. 

When I read the blurb, it said "This is a standalone novel" Then a few lines down had CLIFFHANGER written. Can you end a book with a cliffhanger and it be a standalone series??? Nope, this book is a series Sarah. Some emailed me and actually felt lost reading it. Thinking they'd read the other books in the series I asked her what she was lost on. Turned out, she thought it was a standalone. Thankfully the blurb on Amazon has been added, cliffhanger.... must read others to get full effect. 

So, we know this book is about who Chloe will end up with. My guess????

Lucca!

Do I want it to be Lucca? 

HELL NO!!!!!!! 

Why do I think it's going to be Lucca? 
Well..... The book could go anyway, thanks to the way Sarah had brilliantly ended it. NO SPOILERS HERE!! 
But, did any of you notice most of the book is about AMO and CHLOE's relationship, not a love triangle between Chloe, Amo and Lucca. We only get to see him a few times for brief moments, so my guess is, book 2 to Chloe will be all about Lucca, whether that be that she chooses him, or because she doesn't choose him, I don't know. 

For me, she already chose in this book, when she ran to the person she felt safest with, felt more for, but then Sarah put this big twist onto it and now I'm not so sure. I'd like to think Chloe ends up with Amo, for me Lucca is too much of a trigger from her past. Plus, why would she choose him? She doesn't even know him. She's spent countless hours with Amo and has became incredibly close to him. There is no spark between Lucca and her, for me anyway. 

That's my theory on the triangle. I am excited to read the next in the series. 

PLEASE BE AMO!!!!

4* 

Wednesday, 21 October 2015

RIP By Rachel Van Dyken



Pretty things aren't meant to be broken. 
But I broke her, and now we both have to pay the price. 
I'm her nightmare. 
I'm her savior. 
And now that I have her signature on an ironclad contract, I own her body and soul. 
She doesn't remember me. 
She will. 
It's inevitable. 
Because as much as I know I need to stay away, for fear of unlocking the memories I helped her father bury--I can't. 
She was the apple in the Garden, dangled in front of me, her core so tempting and sweet. A voice whispered. Just. One. Bite. 
I bit. 
I tasted. 
I fell. 
Welcome to the world of the Russian mafia, where death, is your only future.



Didn't take me long to figure out who the characters were, and OMG such a freaking surprise. To me anyway, everyone else already probably knows. 

This books, although not directly Elite, is connected to the Elite series. Nic, is Andies friend that visits the day of the funeral, he's a part of the Russian Mafia.
Maya on the other hand is Andie's SISTER. Yes, sister. 
Only, there's more to Maya than you think. 

Nic, who works for Maya's father is a hypnotist. He is the only one in the world who can do what he does at the level he does it at and it's scary as all hell. You honestly wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of him. He literally had someone hypnotized to walk into a burning building and stay there until he was dead. 
The book showed immense research that Rachel did and she wrote it in such a manner, it made sense. 
I don't know even know where to really start with the review. I feel like each of Rachel's books should be read going in blind, not reading someone else's review on what happens in the book. 
So I'm just going to say this, READ IT. It is honestly one the best series you'll ever lay your eyes upon. 
Also, don't threat, we still meet the gorgeous Mafia men and they are all funny as hell, even Luca has jokes. Yes, Luca. 

Make sure you keep me posted on what you think of RIP. 

5 flipping amazing *

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Hurt By Rachel Van Dyken



Enrapture by Rachel Van Dyken



Trace is everything.

My freaking world.

And I would do anything to keep her safe.

But, I can't protect her from every kind of evil..and I can no longer keep the past a secret...

We were left folders.

Each one filled with the sins of our pasts.

And Traces grandfather just asked us to read his.

There was no preparation.

And now I'm wondering if I should have let the love of my life read it at all, because some things can't be unsaid, some words stay with us forever.

I know, from this day forward, nothing will ever be the same.



I know you're wondering why I've only put the one blurb and the one author, but I only read Enrapture so far..... Can't wait to read the rest, I've never read the other two authors work before. 


The book is after Surgio has left with Frank to go find the twins. But before leaving Frank leaves Trace an envelope of the missing pages of her Grandma's journal. With the gang all together and sat around, we begin to find everything out from the start. 

Twins you ask???

Well read this story and you'll find out just how the twins came about and who they are. 

Reading this book hurt my heart for Trace, for her grandma, and for Frank and Luca. There were so many questions I had left unanswered, but so many I did have answered. 
In this book we find a different side to Luca, a side I believe is the real him. He was always making sure there was always a backup plan, that someone had someone and for that I think it made his heart all the more bigger. 
It made me hurt for Trace because she never got to see this side to Luca. The one she's reading in her Grandma's journal, letter etc. Only Phoenix has had the pleasure of seeing Luca at his best, and for that, I'll be forever hurt for Trace. 

Bu then, this is Rachel Van Dyken. 
Will Luca end up been alive? Will he have done it to get out of the mafia the same as Frank wants out? 
What will the twins places be when they come into the story? 

Enrapture is only an insight to what's to come. And I don't know about anyone else, but I can't wait to read more. 
This is one of my favorite series.  

5*

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Untouchable By Cindy Skaggsun



She'll do whatever it takes to find her son - Lie. Cheat. Steal. Seduce...
As the former wife of an infamous crime boss, Sofia Capri is untouchable. She exists outside of the law...and outside of the criminal world. When her son is kidnapped, Sofia's desperate to find him. She'll do anything. Lie. Cheat. Steal. Anything but trust. But it's a strikingly handsome FBI agent who's her only chance to get her baby back...
Something about Sofia's fiery beauty must be hitting all of his weak spots, because suddenly Mr. Law And Order Logan Stone finds himself bending the rules. When they're implicated in the kidnapping, Logan and Sofia discover a horrifying reality - they have less than 72 hours to find the boy and clear their names.
Now the heat is turning up...and time is running out...for everyone.


Untouchable kicked off right from the beginning, their was kidnapping, bombs, escaping and lives threatened. 
It did feel like this was book two during the beginning of the book, but once we got through to the end, things started adding up. 

I liked the chemistry between Sofia and Logan, but sometimes I wanted to shake her awake and see what she had in front of him. 
I also hated what she had to live with in her life, especially when she come from such a close loving household before been taken into her ex husbands. 

When she left her ex husband, it was to keep her and her son safe, but all it did was cause her ex to keep more tabs on her, give her more threats. So when her son gets taken, her husband is quick to tell her if he isn't back she'll be punished, thinking it was her that had done it to escape him. Funny thing is, that is exactly what Sofia was planning. 

When Sofia starts her mission to find her son, knowing it has something to do with her ex husband and the life he leads, Logan, an undercover FBI agent sacrifices everything to help her.

I really enjoyed the story. It didn't waste time getting into the story plot, or into the action part. It slowly reveals hidden plots along the way that will keep you guessing. 

3.5*

Obligation (Underground kings series #2) By Aurora Rose Reynolds




[ob-li-gey-shuh n] 

An obligation is a course of action that someone is required to take, whether legal or moral. 



At six years old, Myla was sent to a family her father and mother had chosen for her when they knew their time on earth was almost up. What they were unaware of was what they thought would be her safe haven would become her living hell. 



Kai has been watching Myla from afar since he took over the family business from his father and inherited the responsibility of keeping her safe. When word gets back to Kai that Myla is not only in danger, but that his assets are being compromised, he immediately jumps into action and does the only thing that can be done at the time by marrying her. 



Neither Myla nor Kai would have thought that something that started off as a farce would become the most important thing either of them could've ever done. 



I love Aurora Rose's novels, and Obligation was just another. 
I couldn't remember much of the first in the series, and had to go back and read that one before continuing with this one. I kept wondering if I had missed something. Both can be read as a standalone, but I do think reading Assumption (book one) will benefit. Both are fab reads. 

Kai, who is head of his family now, marries Myla. I was unsure as to why. He could have kept her safe no matter whether they were married or not. 
Kai was so sweet to Myla. He's this big, alpha, scary, badass male, but when it comes to Myla, he's so sweet and sooooo romantic. 

Everyone needs a Kai to look after them. It was adorable. 
Myla was like a light into his world, kindness in the world of hate that he lived in and I felt so sorry for him when it came to that. He was trying to hard to make peace with everyone so he could lead a normal life. 

Myla has had a rough life. From the moment she was handed over to another family her life had been turned over. 
She's shy, timid and resilient, but when it comes to Kai, her feelings are anything but.

The book is full of pain, anguish, love, and passion and even had me in tears at one point in the book. 

But.....

And this is a big but...

I felt like I had been missing important criteria throughout the book. It felt like i was reading a book with missing pages and some parts of the story did confuse me. 
That said, I still enjoyed the read and was glad I picked it up. 

3.5* 


Friday, 10 July 2015

Elude (Eagle Elite #6) By Rachel Van Dyken



Twenty-Four hours before we were to be married--I offered to shoot her.

Ten hours before our wedding--I made a mockery of her dying wish.

Five hours before we were going to say our vows--I promised I'd never love her.

One hour before I said I do--I vowed I'd never shed a tear over her death.

But the minute we were pronounced man and wife--I knew.

I'd only use my gun to protect her.

I'd give my life for hers.

I'd cry.

And I would, most definitely, lose myself, to a dying girl---a girl who by all accounts should have never been mine in the first place.

I always believed the mafia would be my end game--poisoning my heart, while it claimed my soul. I could have never imagined. It would be my redemption.

Or the beginning of something beautiful.

The beginning of her.

The end of us.


Rachel Van Dyken has done it again...
LOVED, LOVED LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

Knew to expect the worst when I read the blurb, and also the backstory of Andi, but I was never prepared for what actually went down. 
I swear to God, it tore my heart out into a thousand pieces. I'll never forget this book in a hurry that's for sure. 

As like all the other Elite books, there is a reason for EVERYTHING. Secrets are kept, lies are unraveled, and people get shot. So what makes this different from the other Elite novels? Sergio and Andi. There are no other two people like them. I can't picture them not together and it's heartbreaking to know there story was short, but beautiful none the less. 

It was touch and go throughout and it kept me on my toes. I read in one sitting and loved everything about the book and everything it brought to the Elite series. I can't wait to read the next in the series. 

Andi is dying, yet so full of life. She brings out another Sergio, I swear. She was like a miracle worker. When I thought of Sergio before I pictured a broody, depressed, angry man, but with Andi he was anything but. She got him to laugh, and to admit his fears. She brought him to life and it was beautiful to read. 

5* and I wish I could rate it higher. 

Friday, 22 May 2015

Bound by Duty (Born in Blood Mafia Chronicles Book Two) By Cora Reilly



Dante – The Boss – Cavallaro’s wife died four years ago. On the verge of becoming the youngest head in the history of the Chicago mafia, Dante needs a new wife and Valentina was chosen for the role. 
Valentina lost her husband, too, but her first marriage had always been for show. When she was eighteen, she agreed to marry Antonio in order to hide the truth: that he was gay and in love with an outsider. Even after his death, she kept his secret, not only to preserve the honor of a dead man, but also to protect herself. But now that she’s about to marry Dante, her castle of lies threatens to crash. Dante is only thirty-six but already feared and respected in the Familia, and he’s notorious for always getting what he wants. Valentina is terrified of the wedding night that might reveal her secret, but her worries prove unfounded when Dante shows her the cold shoulder. Soon her fear is replaced by confusion and indignation. Valentina is tired of being ignored. She’s determined to get Dante’s attention and desire, even if she can’t get his heart that still belongs to his dead wife. 



Bound by Duty is the second novel in the born in blood mafia chronicle series. I loved the first one that much I immediately went straight out and bought the second. I don't usually spend what I did on an ebook, but this was so worth it. 

Valentina is in the first book. We meet her briefly at Aria and Luca's wedding, so I was surprised she got a book of her own, especially when the other books in the series is about Aria's sisters, Gianna, and Lilly. I was going to skip, but something stopped me and I'm so glad it did because I found it hard to put the book down. 

Valentina is a great character. She's strong, independent and funny. I think that's what Dante needed as he also lost his last wife, like Valentina lost her husband. 
This book surprised me more than Aria and Luca's, I don't know if it's because I didn't expect much or what, but I loved it just as much. Valentina's last marriage was a lie. She was married to Antonio who was gay, so they never actually had the proper wedding night. So getting married again she was hoping Dante would rectify that. Then he doesn't make a move on their wedding night and Valentina starts making advances, but they all seem to get shot down until she admits she's a virgin. 
Anyway, the two aren't exactly close, Dante is mourning over his late wife still and doesn't want another weakness in his life as he'll be the new capo soon enough. But then Valentina changes it all, slowly. At times I didn't feel like it worked between them and couldn't understand why she kept trying. But just like Luca, Dante was another strong, alpha male and I warmed to him. It couldn't be helped. I like who he was to her in a sense, but then sometimes I didn't. It was confusing. 

There are a lot of twists and turns that will have you gasping, I did NOT expect what happened to happen. 

Also, we meet Bibi, who we meet briefly in the first book, but not much was said. All we know is she married an older man three times her age and was not happy. He raped her repeatedly, but because they were married the men in the family didn't call it rape. 
Bibi and Valentina are best of friends and family, so we read more about Bibi story. I'm not joking there were parts I literally heaved thinking of the stuff she went through. I hated her husband with a passion and honestly wish she would stab him in his sleep. I really did hate him. He was a mean sadist. 

The story plot to the book was brilliant and I didn't feel like this one ended too quickly for my liking. It was perfect. I can't wait to start the third book which is Gianna and Matteo story, Luca's brother. 

5*