Showing posts with label Aurora Rose Reynolds. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Aurora Rose Reynolds. Show all posts

Thursday, 11 May 2017

Until Sage (Until Him) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Sage Mayson had Kimberly Cullen once, and the memory of that brief encounter has tortured him since the moment he pushed her away. He should have followed his gut, but he didn’t, and now he’s left watching the woman he wants more than anything from afar. 

Kimberly vowed to protect her heart from Sage, but when her sister is murdered and her world starts to fall apart, he’s the one person she finds herself leaning on. 

Getting a second chance is something Sage knows is rare. He’s not going to squander the one he’s been given, and he won’t take no for an answer when it comes to making Kim his.

But what Sage doesn’t know is Kim has a secret that could leave them both devastated and heartbroken

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review....

I'm not going to lie, I'm disappointed about how the last two books turned out (TO ME) I know there are thousands who enjoyed the last two. 

But something about this one really bored me. Like, it took me awhile to read it and usually I can devour a book in a night, hell, an hour. But this took me a week and a half. 
I knew the story plot before it even happened. Nothing in it surprised me at all, or kept me hooked. And although I love the whole BOOM theory, I didn't feel it in the last two books.

I felt like we missed a chapter in Until Ashlyn when she's kidnapped. It all happened too fast and out of nowhere, and in this one, we got nothing. It just didn't have that BOOM effect. 

The part I did like was the adoption scenario. My mom is adopted and I can't imagine my life without my nan. She's amazing. And although most stories where adoption is involved turn out bad, I'm glad this one didn't. 
I know every story is different but when people get angry for finding out their adopted, it makes me angry. They get angry at the wrong person and it breaks my heart. 
Adoption is a beautiful thing. 
People often wonder how someone could love a child that is not theirs. They may not be blood, but they are their child. They love you just as much because you're a gift given to them. Because life, life is precious. 


Back to the story...

I loved her parents. How involved they were, how much they loved her. But more than that, I loved how Sage didn't even think twice about adopting. 

Because of that part being in the story, I'm going to give it a 3*

Tuesday, 27 December 2016

Until Ashlyn By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Dillon Keck knew Ashlyn Mayson was drunk when she suggested they get married. He knew he should have taken her back to their hotel room and put her to bed. Instead, he did what he had been craving to do since the moment they met. 
Claim her as his. 
Waking up married in Vegas isn't something Ashlyn Mayson ever thought would happen to her. Having Dillon, her boss, a man she thinks is a dick, insist they stay married is absurd, but every time he touches her, she gets lost in him and wonders if maybe they are meant to be together. 
But someone isn't happy for Dillon and Ashlyn and their new found romance, and they're willing to do anything to keep them apart. Even commit murder.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Okay, so first off, I love Ashlyn's character and her moaning towards the infamous Dillon Keck, her new boss, from the other books so I was so glad when her story was next. 
Little back story; Ashlyn is Cash and Lily's daughter, and Jax's little sister. 

Dillon takes Ashlyn to Vegas for a work convention, and we all know what happens when people go to Vegas and get drunk. 
They get married. 
Waking up, Ashlyn didn't know what the hell was happening. She was married to her boss, who not long ago was engaged to the she-devil. 
But still, after he explains they aren't together she can't help but feel the pull towards him, letting him him and feeling they belong together. 
We've known from the start Ashlyn has had feelings for Dillon, but seeing them grow into something deeper, something more was amazing. 

The only problems I had as such with the book was the end of the blurb. It didn't fit the story. The other was a part in the book, the big boom so to speak was over to quickly and nothing really led up to it. 
One minute they're going to bed and the next, something is happening and I'm like, what the hell, when did this happen. It did lose me a little bit. That's the only thing that disappointed me but it didn't stop me from reading or loving the book. I just feel that part needed a better flow. Even the ending, it seemed a little rushed written, but I was too much into the book to care. That's how much it captures you.

Still, the book was freaking amazing. The chemistry and connection between Ashlyn and Dillon was strong and consuming and I think the two were perfect for each other. 

I love Aurora's writing and how she captures you into her story's. I'm also in love with the boom. I don't think I'll ever stop reading these books or recommending them to other readers. 


Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Until June (Until Her series Book 3) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

June Mayson and Evan Barrister’s whirlwind courtship resulted in a secret marriage right before he left for boot camp. Evan knows deep in his gut that June is too good for him, but after getting a taste of the beautiful life they can have together, he’s unwilling to let her go. June promises to wait for him, knowing neither time or distance will ever change her feelings for Evan—that is until she’s served with divorce papers while he’s overseas and she’s forced to let him go. 
Her marriage and divorce a well-kept secret, the last person June expects to run into when she moves back to her hometown is Evan. Angry over the past, she does everything within her power to ignore the pull she feels whenever he is near. But how can she ignore the pain she sees every time their eyes meet? How can she fight the need to soothe him even if she knows she’s liable to get hurt once again? 
Is it possible for June and Evan to find their way back to each other again? Or will they be stopped by an outside force before they ever have a shot?

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review 

I love this series. Been a huge fan from the start and can't even tell you how many times I've reread them all. 

Evan and June have a secret relationship, one that ends up with the two getting secretly married and then divorced, leaving her heartbroken and open to disaster. 

She moves on and when she starts a new relationship she knew she'd never love another person like she loved him, but she tries anyway, wanting to move on. Only that turns out badly when she finds out he isn't who he says he is. 

When she finds out it's none other than Evan who is on protection detail while her ex is waiting trial, she's devastated and all over the place. 

Every pretty much runs smoothly throughout the book and I was surprised there wasn't more drama involved with such a high case involved with her ex. 

However, hearing more of Ashlyn's problems have me more curious about her book. I seriously can't wait to read it. 


Monday, 1 February 2016

Distraction (Underground Kings #3) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Sven is a man who takes pride in his ability to separate himself from his emotions. He's a man who knows who he is and where he’s going in life, a man who needs no one, because needing someone, anyone, is a weakness. His past taught him love isn’t enough. Maggie wants the happily ever after, but has never picked the right men, or stuck around long enough, to build a forever. It’s always been easier to get out early, before emotions make things messy. When Maggie wakes up naked in Sven’s bed, with no memory of the night before, these two must be honest about their feelings and face their fears, so they can build a future together. Will love be enough for them to get their happy ending together, or will a threat from outside strike them down before they ever have a chance? 

When I signed up for an ARC, I wasn't sure what to expect. I mean, Sven? We meet him in the other books, but in Distraction we see a side to him that we've never seen before. 
Yes he's still charming, sexy, hot and mouthwatering, but we see a sweeter, caring side to him. 

It also gives us a glimpse into his past, one that had the hair on the back of my neck standing on edge. Its bad, really bad. 
But I also didn't predict that everyone would be okay. From the way the flash back ended and the way he tells Maggie what happened, you presume the worst, but it's not what you think. 

When Maggie turns up at his club looking for the person who drugged and beat her sister, Sven is infuriated with her, but he can't hide what she does to him. So after weeks and weeks of having her scare off women in his club, he decides to hire her so that he can keep an eye on her. There's other messes in his life that he needs to clean up, but for some reason his attraction to Maggie out weighs them all. 

Maggie, who has lived with the let down of her parents and her sister feels like she's the only responsible adult to help her sister. And from what we know, she actually really is.  Her parents are hippies and ever since Maggie and her sister were born they've never been ashamed of who knows. They don't own a phone,, any up to date technology and are stuck in their hippy ways. They believe the girls should make their own paths, live their own lives and make their own mistakes. But they haven't seen just how much Maggie's sister needed parents until it's too late. 

When Maggie's sisters trouble turns up at her doorstep threatening her, she ends up moving in with Sven. Okay, he buys them a house so they can move in together. They actually get a long except for the sexual tension which let's say is suffocating. 

Maggie finally gives herself to Sven but doesn't do it willingly. She's drugged at the bar of Sven's club, and when he picks her up, although she told him time and time again, she doesn't drink, he thinks she's buzzed. If he knew she was drugged he wouldn't have started what he did. 

It all turns out well though. Maggie loves him even though she hasn't said the words outloud, and deep down I believe she always knew she would give herself to him. 

If you've read the previous two books you'll know the trouble they've been having with petey and his son. With his son now dead, Petey is keeping his head down. But for how long?

All of the boys meet up with their woman, staying in one of Kyes fortresses. 

I loved the story line and was completely glued from the beginning to end. I couldn't put it down. 

The only downfall and the reason why I rate this a four * is because of how everything happened so quickly then cut off. One minute Maggie is going to work, the next she's waking up in bed. It seemed too much in the middle was missed. 
There were other times this happened and I'd groan, thinking pleaseeee, why did you just end it there. It annoyed the hell out of me. I just wanted full detail LOL


The best part of the book is the sneak peak into Justin's book and I can tell you right now, I cannot wait until that bad boy is out. I hope I get the chance to read it as an ARC. We get a little info on his relationship in this book, but it's nothing to reading the first two chapters of his actual book. My god, I didn't want it to stop. He's changed so much over the series, and I've always loved his character, but since the first book in this series, he's grown. He's harder, more tough, and very much in love. We know he's brainy, that he's a master on a computer, but in a relationship? I can only see good things. I seriously can't wait to read it. I'm actually jumping with glee because those two chapters were sooooooo good.

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Until Jax (Until Him #1) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Ellie Anthony isn’t looking for love. She isn’t even looking for a man, but when Jax Mayson insists on keeping her and her daughter safe, she’s left with no choice but to trust him. Now she just hopes she doesn’t get hurt when she falls hard for a guy who’s known for breaking hearts. 

Jax Mayson knows that Ellie is his BOOM the moment he sees her. When he finds out she has a daughter, he realizes he wants a family, and he will do whatever is necessary to keep both of his girls safe, even if that means facing the demons from his past. 

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

First, I want to say thank you to Aurora for giving me the privilege of reviewing her book. 

Secondly, I want to add, I wouldn't class this as a standalone. I've read all the Until series, and even I got confused at the beginning. It wasn't until things are explained half way through the book that I caught on. So I would recommend you read UNTIL JULY before reading this one. It will explain more about Ellie and who she is and what happened to her. 

I loved this book. How freaking Hot is Jax????? The cover says it all, but the book, oh my dayz. 
If I'm remembering correctly, he was such a man whore in the last one I'm surprised he wanted to settle down. Every moment in the book that included him and Hope made me swoon and awe. He was so sweet to her, always giving her everything she need whether she knew it or not. Damn adorable. He's also overprotective, which I love in a male. 

You see, Ellie has a daughter, but there's more to it. Her family....let's just say, her mom is batshit crazy. Though we don't get to meet her. Which I was gutted about. It would explain more about Ellie. 

After Ellie is taken to hospital Jax demands she moves in with him, along with her daughter. After all, one of the kidnappers were still out there somewhere. Wanting nothing more than to protect her daughter she finds herself agreeing to move in with Jax, taking her daughter with her. 

Jax is more than ready to marry Ellie the day she moves in, but they've only just met, but Jax knows what the BOOM means to the men in her family. Now he needs to show Ellie what it means. 

The two are adorable together and the story is fitted together nicely. We get introductions I'm hoping to what will be other Until series novels. My favorite one I think will be Ellie's work mate story with Sage. She's not well, and he thinks she's her twin sister. 

The ending to the book was perfect and as usual, Aurora gives us an extra Epilogue. I love her Epilogues. They always seem to be the perfect end to a book. I love them. 


I can't wait to read more from the series. I'm so glad I got chance to review. 

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Obligation (Underground kings series #2) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

[ob-li-gey-shuh n] 

An obligation is a course of action that someone is required to take, whether legal or moral. 

At six years old, Myla was sent to a family her father and mother had chosen for her when they knew their time on earth was almost up. What they were unaware of was what they thought would be her safe haven would become her living hell. 

Kai has been watching Myla from afar since he took over the family business from his father and inherited the responsibility of keeping her safe. When word gets back to Kai that Myla is not only in danger, but that his assets are being compromised, he immediately jumps into action and does the only thing that can be done at the time by marrying her. 

Neither Myla nor Kai would have thought that something that started off as a farce would become the most important thing either of them could've ever done. 

I love Aurora Rose's novels, and Obligation was just another. 
I couldn't remember much of the first in the series, and had to go back and read that one before continuing with this one. I kept wondering if I had missed something. Both can be read as a standalone, but I do think reading Assumption (book one) will benefit. Both are fab reads. 

Kai, who is head of his family now, marries Myla. I was unsure as to why. He could have kept her safe no matter whether they were married or not. 
Kai was so sweet to Myla. He's this big, alpha, scary, badass male, but when it comes to Myla, he's so sweet and sooooo romantic. 

Everyone needs a Kai to look after them. It was adorable. 
Myla was like a light into his world, kindness in the world of hate that he lived in and I felt so sorry for him when it came to that. He was trying to hard to make peace with everyone so he could lead a normal life. 

Myla has had a rough life. From the moment she was handed over to another family her life had been turned over. 
She's shy, timid and resilient, but when it comes to Kai, her feelings are anything but.

The book is full of pain, anguish, love, and passion and even had me in tears at one point in the book. 


And this is a big but...

I felt like I had been missing important criteria throughout the book. It felt like i was reading a book with missing pages and some parts of the story did confuse me. 
That said, I still enjoyed the read and was glad I picked it up. 


Monday, 20 April 2015

Until July By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Wes Silver wasn’t looking for love, but when July Mayson literally knocks him on his ass during their first encounter, his world is turned upside down by the quirky blonde, and every moment with her makes him more determined to protect her. 

July Mayson doesn’t understand the pull she feels toward the bad boy biker Wes Silver, but she knows being with him is like nothing she’s ever felt before. Now all she has to do is tell her overprotective father, Asher Mayson, that she’s found her boom. 

Gah, I didn't think I'd get to read more from this series but then Aurora has proven me wrong. 
I loved all the first books in the series and although you can read each one as a standalone, I suggest to read them all because you get that sense of family, you feel it and with each book it only get's stronger. 

July is the daughter of November and Asher Mayson. She's come a long way in life, owns a house, and an animal hospital. 
The beginning had me giggling and smiling like a teenager. I loved what she did because it's something I'd totally do. You see, she's on her bike and speeding down the road when bikers come up behind her. She's enjoying the ride, totally in her element, and not particularly bothered by the bikers, although she does get a good look, intrigued by them. So when she stares too long at the one biker she nearly runs over a bird with a broken wing. She swerves to miss the bird only to nearly knock into one of the other bikers. 
Anyway, the bikers think she's a bloke and when they chase her down she panics, but when she finally does stop it's all worth it. There's manhandling, sassy attitude, momma attitude where she tells one mean ass biker off, and then tazers. Even with all that she still goes back for the bird. 


The story progresses when Wes, the hot biker, moves into town and walks into her vets looking for a dog. Only, he ends up leaving with two. July has been having dogs dumped on her animal hospital doorstep, most already past helping, so when she takes matters into her own hands that's when things start to heat up. 

ONE thing I had to put a downer on is the ending. None of it felt finished. NO!!! IT wasn't finished. I don't want to explain without ruining the story. So I'm not. All I can say is the person causing her trouble doesn't get caught, and he's still out there. So when the dogs are rescued, she goes home and boom, the next page is an epilogue. It didn't feel final like the other books in the series. 
Did anyone else have this problem? Or am I just been picky? Although to me, it felt like a big issue lol It felt rushed at the end. It's why I rated the novel 4* If that ended differently, no doubt I'd be giving it a 10* rating LOL 

Still, even with that, make sure you read this one. I did really enjoy it even if I was disappointed in the ending. 


Tuesday, 6 January 2015

Until Nico(Until series #4) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Sophie Grates has never had it easy, but she’s finding her way through life one step and one day at a time. That is, Until Nico comes in and flips her world upside-down. He forces her to see you cannot live life from the outside looking in, and sometimes you have to step out onto the ledge so you can really enjoy the view. 

Nico Mayson knew the moment he saw Sophie Grates that she was the one. His whole life, he has been judged by what’s on the outside, so finding a beautiful woman who sees the real him only makes his feelings that much stronger. 

Nico knows the kind of man he is, and the things he is capable of, and he will do everything in his power to help Sophie fight her demons so they can have their happily ever after. Everything in life worth having is worth fighting for.

I really enjoyed this series, the whole series follows one thing and that's, that the Mayson boys are cursed to fall in love. Like BOOM she's the one. 
Like the others Nico spends the majority of the book convincing Sophie that she's his Boom.
Nico never thought he'd get his BOOM and often makes fun of his other siblings, but when he gives sophie her phone back all bets are off.

Nico saves Sophie time and time again in the book, but the one part he does, kind of, I felt a little short changed on. I hate that in the series it skips all the action parts, like we're meant to get to that part ourselves while she just closes it all up to a finish as such. 

I'm not as keen on this one as I was previous novels from this series, but then I did read them all one after another. The only thing I really loved was the humor in each book, and the loyalty the family have to one another. It's something everyone should treasure. 


Sunday, 4 January 2015

Until Lilly By Aurora Rose Reynolds

When Cash Mayson was forced to choose between the love of his life and his unborn child, he knew exactly what he had to do. No matter how broken it left him. 
When Lilly Donovan was forced to accept that the guy she loved wasn’t who she thought he was and became a single mother, she knew exactly what she had to do. Proving just how strong she was. 
What happens when years later you find out that everything you thought you knew was a lie? 
Can two people who once loved each other overcome the obstacles that are thrown at them and fall in love all over again? 
Cash Mayson had forgotten how it felt to be loved Until Lilly came back into his life. And now that he remembers, he will do everything within his power to keep not only the woman that he loves, but also his children. 
The power of love is a beautiful thing.

Lily is so sweet, and I loved Cash. I felt so sorry for him when I knew what was coming for him in the book before. I just wanted to reach in and warn him, but obviously I couldn't, it's a book LOL. 

Like all books that have kids in, it had me connecting to it. I love it when we see a family coming together. 

I can't say much more because I don't want to give the story away, but I really did enjoy the book and the characters. We get to know them more with each passing book which I like. 

Enjoy x

Wednesday, 24 December 2014

Until Trevor (#2 Until series) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Trevor Mayson had his life planned out - make the family business successful and play the field for a few more years before eventually settling down. Then he sees her. Liz Hayes was beautiful, shy and everything that he could ever want...but she didn't fit into his plans. After Trevor painfully rejects her, Liz finally starts to move on, but Trevor is finding it difficult to truly let her go. It seems the more he tries to stay away, the more intense his feelings for her become. Like a stretched rubber band, he can only take so much before snapping. 

Liz Hayes is done waiting for Trevor and isn't interested in getting her heart broken by him again, but Trevor is making it difficult for her to forget him when he shoves his way back into her life. 

Can Trevor prove to her that he is worth falling in love with again, and is he ready to change his life plan to let her into his heart? 

ahhhhh Trevor Trevor Trevor, what can I say? Where to start.... hhhmmmmmmm. 
Okay, their relationship. I liked how they were friends before they were a couple and just like the other Mayson brothers, Trevor is a strong, alpha male character. He doesn't do slow, or want his woman to be slow. 
There were times in the book that I thought it dragged. I found there was more sex in there then a story, and just when the story started to get exciting, it missed SOOOOOOO MUCH. It literally came out the blue. I was gutted. It seemed so rushed, happening so fast. Nothing lead up to it, which really annoyed me. I didn't feel the same about this one the way I did the first book, I don't know why. 
I am going to go onto the third which is Until Lilly, so I'm hoping they get better and less rushed. Hope this review helps anyone who hasn't read it. I know I never say a lot but I never want to give the whole story away. I notice in some reviews people basically write the every that happens in detail, I'm not like those reviewers

Until November (Until Series #1) By Aurora Rose Reynolds

November is looking forward to getting to know her father and the safety of a small town. After leaving the big apple and her bad memories for Tennessee, November starts working for her dad at his strip club doing the books. The one time she’s allowed there during club hours she runs into Asher Mayson. He’s perfect until he opens his mouth and makes assumptions. November wants nothing to do with Asher but too bad for November fate has other plans. Asher Mayson has never had a problem getting a woman that is until November. Now all he can think about is making November his and keeping her safe. 

I didn't have my blog when I first read this novel, but this book is the reason I became a blogger. 
Until November is the first in the Until series. I loved it from start to finished and loved Asher. 
He's a real strong, alpha male character. I also like how the Mayson boys love. They do it fiercely, devotedly, and completely wholeheartedly. I didn't want the story to end. 

November's mom is such a B I T C H, I really wanted to read more about her at the end, but it was explained quickly, just letting it pass off as nothing when her mom plays a big role in the book apart from her relationship with Asher of course. 


Saturday, 13 September 2014

Assumption: Underground Kings By Aurora Rose Reynolds


a thing that is accepted as true or as certain to happen, without proof 

They say when you assume that you make an ass out of you and me. Kenton Mayson learned this lesson firsthand when he made assumptions about Autumn Freeman and the kind of woman she is based on what little information he had. What he finds out is she’s not only beautiful, but also smart, funny, a fighter, and exactly the kind of woman he wants to share his life with. Autumn made assumptions of her own about Kenton, and now he needs to prove her wrong in order to protect her and their future. 

Assumption? That's what I did before buying this book. I assumed it to be like another book I had read, but I was mistaken. 
Autumn Freeman is more than a stripper, more than a pretty face, and more than a nurse. The one thing that stuck out to me about her was a comment she said about appearances. About girls being jealous of her, calling her names. It's true. Someone sees a pretty girl and they automatically think sl*g. It's the same with men, they see a gorgeous women, they don't want to get to know her, they want to bang her. So it was nice for an author to say how it really is. 
I enjoyed Autumn's character, she made me laugh, especially with her banter. So bloody funny. I also shed a tear for her past, it was emotional to say the least. 

Then we have cocky, hot, Kenton Mayson who I actually adored from the beginning. He came across as honest, and even though at first he saw her as others see her, I still really liked him, but then Autumn had her own assumptions about Kenton. 

The story plot is really good. I had to read it through one sitting because it was that good. Although the action doesn't really start until the end, it's still an amazing book to read. 
The only problem I had with this book was a few of the sentences didn't make any sense what-so-ever and I found myself re reading it to make some sense of it using my own words LOL. 

eg.... I scoot back up the bed as he crawls to me, his legs spreading my hips wide. When it should have said ....I scoot back up the bed as he crawls up to me, his hips spreading my legs wide.

There were a few sentences like this and a few mistakes. Other than that I loved the book.