Showing posts with label Alpha Male. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Alpha Male. Show all posts

Sunday, 14 June 2015

The Sterling Boys (The Sterling shore series #3 By C.M.Owens



A love that never came to be, a letter that ruined it all, and secrets that shred and heal... 
Rain Noles left Sterling Shore to break free from the painful life she had, but she left behind the man she loved, expecting him to come after her. When he didn't, resentments festered, and Rain lost faith in the love she felt couldn't have been stronger. 

Dane Sterling watched his best friend walk away, but he assumed it was only temporary. He didn't realize she was walking out of his life. And now she's back in Sterling Shore and his life. 

Life has a way of creating a path for fate to travel. Despite their buried resentments, Dane is there when Rain needs someone the most. But as much as life gives, it also takes away. It's only the strong who brave worst times.



Nwahhhh, this book is so freaking sweet. 
They're all friends, but Rain has a romantic connection to Dane and after six years of thinking he didn't think the same she returns to Sterling shore disliking him. Thinking he was the one to break her heart, only Dane sees her the same way, the girl who broke his heart. 
I just wanted to smack their heads together. 
But another story deep with the two is Rain and her illness. Her mother had cancer and when Rain was eighteen she had to have her breasts removed. The speech she gives at a breast cancer convention really tore me for two. It was seriously heart warming. 
Then, there is another operation that she has that she has everyone believing was a gall bladder removal. 
Only, Dane's sister, WHO I FREAKING LOVE, makes it known what it really was, but only when its too late. Well, mostly too late. 

The story is so romantic and loving and fun to read. We meet new characters who you'll love even more. 
I swear, I can't wait to read Dane sisters book. She was so funny and forward spoken it made me laugh. She asked her therapist once if he always got a boner when his receptionist was in the room. My God, so funny. 

Anyway, another 5* from me. 

Thursday, 11 June 2015

Tagged and Ashed (Sterling Shore series #2) By C.M.Owens



The cunning predator, the willing prey, and a weekend neither of them will be able to forget - ever. Ash Branderwood was told one thing before going to her best friend's brother's wedding - don't get Tagged. 

There's always that one guy you shouldn't want, but you just can't help yourself. He's going to be horrible for your health, he'll probably break your heart, but he's going to be so much fun while he's doing it. Stay away. Ash Branderwood can't seem to heed such logic when she meets playboy millionaire Tag Masters. 

Weddings always seem to create a false sense of intimacy, but Ash doesn't take that into consideration when she starts fantasizing about the man she can't possibly tame. She's a good girl... well, good enough. She's never really taken any chances or done something irrational or foolish. Tag is just the person to rectify that for her. 

Tag has never done anything but take chances. He never had anything to lose - so he risked it all and built his name up in Sterling Shore. Meaningless sex is one of his many hobbies, and he's not looking to settle down any time soon. After all, these are the best years of his life. 

But, one look at Ash, and he almost forgets his own name. And what in the hell is she doing at Wren's wedding with Bity? 

Tag is almost furious when he sees Billy Prize brought a girl as stunning as Ash, considering Tag doesn't feel as though Billy deserves such a thing. He has to have her - at least once, possibly twice. 

It was supposed to be a weekend of fun, one she'd remember just long enough to forget. But she quickly realizes there's one thing for sure - she's never going to be able to forget Tag Masters, only it isn't for reasons one might think. 

All hell breaks loose when secrets emerge, but when Ash's life is endangered, Tag has to put aside his own issues to keep her safe.


Ahhhhh, TAGGED. I've seriously, most certainly, been TAGGED.

Oh my God, I loved him from the start. He walks into the party, calling Billy, BITY, also with two dates on his arm, but the second he spots Ash all other women fall away from him. 
Ash is also the same, even after been warned numerous of times to not get Tagged, which is what everyone calls the girls that fall for his charms. 
It was so hot, and funny seeing the two get together. The chemistry was sizzling, but Ash gave him as good as he gave and believe me, he tried his goddamn hardest. 
When it finally happens, and Ash thinks he will want more with her than he has with his past conquests, she looks out of her bedroom window to find him hugging a girl, but to her, it's another conquest, to him, it's his cousins girlfriend. 

Both of them get mixed signals, and after months and months of avoiding each other, they both end up in a cafe having a meeting. 
Tag finds out that Ash is still being stalked, and decides to help her. But then not long after she finds out she's pregnant. 
The stupid girl, who may I add, is stupid, tells Tag he isn't the father. 
The time flicks quickly through the book, and it killed me knowing he didnt know. 
It also annoyed that through her troubles, and believe me there are a few. Stabbed, shot, attempted rape, kidnapped you name it, it happened, and all to her. But even still, in the middle of all this she has to tell Tag the truth and he doesn't take it well, which also killed me. Not that he didn't have the right to be mad, he did. 
But what annoyed me was Melanie, Billy's mother. At the beginning of the book Melanie was all over Ash like a fly to poo, but then when it's announced that Trip is Tag's son, she completely ignores Ash, rushing by her to introduce Tag and Trip to everyone. You see, Tag grew up with Melanie as a mother as such, but the relationship between Ash and Melanie seemed to be closer, so it disappointed me Ash didn't have anyone as such to lean on. 

There is so much Drama during this book, but I LOVED it. I couldn't put it down and although I've only read one Sterling shore book so far, I can tell this one is going to be the best of them all. I loved it and defo one for everyone to read. I still can't believe it's taken until now to find this beauty.

5*

Hooked on the game (Sterling shore series #1) By C.M Owens



Everyone has secrets that define them, a past that has shaped them, and a game they play - whether they know it or not. 

Despite the fact they live next d
oor to each other, Kade and Raya have never made an effort to speak, until a wild party, four frat boys, and... a bulldozer. 

Sterling Shore was supposed to be a new start for eighteen-year-old Raya Capperton. Everything was working out perfectly until her two roommates were expelled for a prank, leaving Raya with the house she couldn't afford on her own. Fate intervenes before she has the chance to find a new home, but she struggles to decide if it's divine luck or the devil's cruel sense of humor. 

Twenty-one-year-old Kade Colton has his life planned out, and everything he does is an elaborate game to aid him with his future endeavors. Coming from money has made Kade's life easy, but he wants to build his own name - his own future. The thing he doesn't realize... when you only put forth superficial effort, you only acquire superficial friends.

Raya is torn between being amused or disturbed by Kade and his philosophy, but the drive behind his determination isn't what Raya expected. Little by little, her hatred fades and is replaced by emotions she never would have believed she could have for the rich jerk she desperately doesn't want to care about. Too bad you can't force yourself not to care. 

The problem is... Kade's shiny name can't be tarnished, and Raya has a jaded tie she can't cut loose. Nothing about them can work, nothing about them makes sense, but nothing can seem to stop them from trying. 


I can see this been one of my new favourite series. 
Raya is lower class, making ends meet just to pay the rent. One night she's on the phone to her father, worrying about rent and tearing up the check he sent her. She could use the money, but Raya, been the girl she is refuses to take money when it's criminal, only to find out on a later date her dad has been making money from prison legally. 
Coming off the phone when she spots some frat guys heading towards the bulldozer, she heads to the bathroom, getting ready for bed. Only to find her house falling down on top of her. 

This is how Kade and Raya begin....

Kade's dad, who owns tones of fashion stores, disciplines Kade the only way he knows he'll be punished when the courts decide he isn't guilty of anything other than letting frat guys to drink at his party. So his father, after finding out the extent of Raya's problems invites her to live with Kade, but not only move in but if he wants to do anything he has to run it by her. Having no other choice but to say yes she ends up moving in with him. 

The friendship that forms between the two is so cute. Mostly on Kade's part because you can tell he's so serious ALLLLLLL OF the time. He loosens Raya up, but more importantly she loosens him up. The two were made for each other. He's so protective of her and she doesn't even see it. I loved reading about them getting together. 

I'm going to love this series, I can't wait to read more from the characters. 
The ending is funny, full of drama and so addictive. It's funny because of how Raya saves the day. It's full of drama because their are forces behind the scenes trying to ruin Kade. But addictive because of the way Kade wins her back. 

For a free book this was brilliant. This book should be on sale, it's that freaking good. 

4* 

Monday, 20 April 2015

Until July By Aurora Rose Reynolds



Wes Silver wasn’t looking for love, but when July Mayson literally knocks him on his ass during their first encounter, his world is turned upside down by the quirky blonde, and every moment with her makes him more determined to protect her. 

July Mayson doesn’t understand the pull she feels toward the bad boy biker Wes Silver, but she knows being with him is like nothing she’s ever felt before. Now all she has to do is tell her overprotective father, Asher Mayson, that she’s found her boom. 


Gah, I didn't think I'd get to read more from this series but then Aurora has proven me wrong. 
I loved all the first books in the series and although you can read each one as a standalone, I suggest to read them all because you get that sense of family, you feel it and with each book it only get's stronger. 

July is the daughter of November and Asher Mayson. She's come a long way in life, owns a house, and an animal hospital. 
The beginning had me giggling and smiling like a teenager. I loved what she did because it's something I'd totally do. You see, she's on her bike and speeding down the road when bikers come up behind her. She's enjoying the ride, totally in her element, and not particularly bothered by the bikers, although she does get a good look, intrigued by them. So when she stares too long at the one biker she nearly runs over a bird with a broken wing. She swerves to miss the bird only to nearly knock into one of the other bikers. 
Anyway, the bikers think she's a bloke and when they chase her down she panics, but when she finally does stop it's all worth it. There's manhandling, sassy attitude, momma attitude where she tells one mean ass biker off, and then tazers. Even with all that she still goes back for the bird. 

LOVED IT!!!

The story progresses when Wes, the hot biker, moves into town and walks into her vets looking for a dog. Only, he ends up leaving with two. July has been having dogs dumped on her animal hospital doorstep, most already past helping, so when she takes matters into her own hands that's when things start to heat up. 

ONE thing I had to put a downer on is the ending. None of it felt finished. NO!!! IT wasn't finished. I don't want to explain without ruining the story. So I'm not. All I can say is the person causing her trouble doesn't get caught, and he's still out there. So when the dogs are rescued, she goes home and boom, the next page is an epilogue. It didn't feel final like the other books in the series. 
Did anyone else have this problem? Or am I just been picky? Although to me, it felt like a big issue lol It felt rushed at the end. It's why I rated the novel 4* If that ended differently, no doubt I'd be giving it a 10* rating LOL 

Still, even with that, make sure you read this one. I did really enjoy it even if I was disappointed in the ending. 

4*

Thursday, 2 April 2015

Sex Piston (Biker Bitches #1) By Jamie Begeley



Sex Piston wasn’t about to apologize to anyone for her bitch attitude and certainly not the President of The Blue Horsemen, Stud. If he thinks he’s going to be able to control her and her crew then he has another thing coming. A lapse in judgment has him thinking that he’s won this battle of the sexes but a one-night stand isn’t about to bring this woman to heel. Stud has to prove himself as the new President of the Destructors, and Sex Piston and her crew’s attitude isn’t helping. If he has to sacrifice his body to tame the bitch then that’s exactly what he’s going to do even if it means losing his heart in the battle.



I can't believe it's taken me this long to read and review this novel. Being a huge fan of the Last riders series, I wasn't keen on Sex piston, so I never really thought about reading her story. That was, until I read Shades book, not long released and wanted to read it. 

Her character is so far from what we see in the other novels with her in. She's actually really caring and there's a reason she is the way she is. It also made me look at diamond differently after reading this story and how selfish she was for being ashamed of Sex piston in a way. 

And we also find out how Sex piston got her name and why she kept it. The story behind it broke my heart. 

I loved how Stud kept her on her toes and was completely surprised to find Sex Piston wasn't as worldly as she made people believe, which is another thing I loved about her. That and I loved how close she got to Stud's daughters. 

4.5*

Sunday, 19 October 2014

Rule (The Marked Men) By Jay Crownover



Sometimes opposites don’t just attract – they catch fire and burn the city down
Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight-A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want – and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.
To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess – and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw – even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.
But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love…or each other.

I read this book when it was first released. I'm catching up with reviews, so bare with me :) 

I liked Rule and Shaw, they were two totally different people. Both two people with two different dreams. 
Shaw was best friends with Rule's twin brother. Every assumed they were a couple, but in fact they were both just friends. Shaw holds a secret. One not even his parents knew or Rule himself. 
Shaw's parents are rich and well known and if I'm honest snobby as hell and really mean to her. It's why people judge Shaw. Her parents have high expectations and expect her to ride along with it, when in fact, she'd be happy living like normal folks. 
Rule has a hate/ love relationship with her, but when he finally does get his head out his ass he is actually really sweet to her. 
It has a few humor parts in, I love the part where Shaw takes him to hers for dinner and her parents aren't all that pleased. 

4*

Saturday, 18 October 2014

Anguish (Jokers Wrath #3) By Bella Jewel



There are a lot of things in this world that are easy to escape from. Having a son you didn't ask for isn't one of them. 

Mack is a nomad. He likes his own space and he struggles with emotion. His past is grey and his future looks about the same. That is until his ex-girlfriend dies and his son is handed over to him. A two month old baby he didn't know existed. Until now. 

His world comes crashing down around him. 

Desperate, he hires a nanny. 

Jaylah has gotten herself into some serious trouble, so when she sees the job opening for a nanny pop up, she jumps on it. Of course she's not a nanny, but she figures she can pull it off. I mean, how hard can it be? 

She's thrown into a world of diapers, hourly feedings and a whole lot of laundry. She's also introduced to the most rugged, gorgeous man she's ever had the pleasure of meeting. 

The best part, he's the baby's father. 

The worst part, he's a biker. 

Their sexual tension is huge, but he's a hard nut to crack. She'll get in, though. She makes it her mission to break through the wall Mack has built so high around himself. 

Her world is about to spiral out of control, and she's taking Mack along for the ride.




Ahhhhh, book three in the Joker's wrath MC series. 
I was given an ARC for an honest review. 

Anguish is my favorite so far in the Joker's wrath series. It has so much more humor, hotter, sexier, and damn straight biker bad. LOVED it!!! 

One scene in this that involves a nappy and a naked woman is hilarious. I was still laughing about it long after it was finished. If you read this review before reading the book, let me know when you've finished what you thought please? LOL!!! 

Then we have the hot damn sex scenes. Holy shit!!!! They were written really good. It made the connection between the two so much better. It also helped they're both active, strong minded people, who also butt heads A LOT so when they're in the bedroom it's like an explosion.

I'm not keen on a male with better or longer hair than me, but in this case I'm going to give Mack a pass. He is crazy hot and doesn't take any shit. Love that more about him. 
Then we have the sexy, funny, sassy, rambling Jaylah. I've never loved a female character as much as I've loved this one. She had me laughing from the start to the finish. 
The action part in the book is brilliant. But then, what book of Bella's isn't? 
We also meet a new character in this novel who you're all going to love. Trust me. and guess what? The next Joker's Wrath book is going to be about him :) *Happy dance* 

So glad I was given the chance to review this for Bella Jewel. If you love a good biker romance than this is one series to read. Of course Hell knights, also from Bella Jewel is another awesome MC novel. ;) 

5* flaming hot stars. 


Monday, 29 September 2014

Creed (The Unfinished Hero series #2) By Kristen Ashley



Way too young, eleven year old Tucker Creed and his six year old neighbor, Sylvie Bissenette, find they have something awful in common. Creed then decides he’s going to do everything in his limited power to shield his Sylvie from her ordeal. So he does and Creed and Sylvie form a bond that grows and blossoms with their ages. 

They plot to leave their lives behind, the town they live in that will hold them down and the histories they share that, unless they break free, will bury them. Sylvie goes to their special place, Creed never shows and she doesn’t see him again until it’s too late. 

With Creed gone, Sylvie is forced to endure a nightmare and do the unspeakable to end it. To deal, she develops a hard shell with sharp edges that very few can break through. So when Creed again finds his Sylvie, he discovers the girl he loved is locked away and he has to find his way back into her heart without getting shredded in the process.


I could not get into this. I really couldn't. I read it all, but for the first time I've rated Kristen Ashley lower than a 3* and this is something to cry home about because this has never happened. 
I felt like there wasn't a story. Nothing. I thought something interesting might happen but it never did. Like Creed's daughter having problems at home lead to something serious or that his ex wife was a bitch, but never showed him. Nothing like this happened. It was completely annoying. Therefore the book dragged like hell, I felt myself skimming through pages most of the time because I just wanted to get to a good bit. It just never happened. 

Everything about the book is in the blurb. There isn't much more I can tell you about Creed. All the unfininshed Hero books obviously fit together and must lead to something good. It's the only reason I've carried on reading them. 
I did find myself confused at times because I found some sentences didn't make all that much sense. I also got lost on what was happening in the story, which was my fault too because of the skimming through, although if i found myself lost I did go back and reread it and still, I was lost.

2*

Sunday, 28 September 2014

The Gamble (Colorado Mountain series #1) By Kristen Ashley



Nina Sheridan’s on a timeout adventure in the Colorado Mountains. She needs distance from her clueless fiancĂ©, distance to decide whether she wants to spend the rest of her life with a man who doesn’t care enough to learn how she takes her coffee.

Arriving in a blinding snowstorm at the A-Frame she rented, she comes face to face with the most amazing man she’s ever seen. Minutes later, when he kicks her out of his house, she goes head to head with him.

Beyond angry because she’s flown half a world away to start her timeout adventure, not to mention her sinuses hurt, she heads back down the mountain and ends up in a ditch. Unable to extricate herself, she gives up, hopes for rescue and falls asleep in the backseat.

The next morning she wakes up in the amazing man’s bed and she’s sick as a dog.

Holden Maxwell spends days nursing her back to health and then he spends the next two weeks trying to convince her to take her Colorado adventure further, in other words, make it permanent and take a gamble on him.

Nina has a tough time fighting her attraction to Max, especially when it seems all Max’s friends, her mother and stepdad and the whole town want them together and both she and Max get embroiled in the murder of Max’s ex-friend and the town of Gnaw Bone’s most detested resident – a man everyone has motive to kill, especially Max.


I've read this book before but never gotten down to writing a review for it. Most of Kristen Ashley books skim on serious topics, but this one was truly heart wrenching. Suicide is a strong subject for most people and they say it's weak, as I've said before in a review, someone who commits suicide, is strong. Living is easy, you know what's going to happen, killing yourself, your ending up in the unknown. In this novel, Mindy, a young girl, friends of Holden Maxwell's was rapped three weeks before Nina arrived at the A-Frame. She then goes through more and ends up trying to drown herself, thankfully Nina and Max get to her in time. So heartbreaking, the words, the emotion of it and how truly true the words were. Amazing!!

I loved both characters and the story line. I loved there was always something happening, even if it wasn't much. Just like the first time I read it I felt like Nina never got a word in edge ways, but then Max will go off on one saying she needs to say something, it got me mad screaming 'if you'd let her speak then maybe she would have said something'. 
Then also there was the issue over his dead wife. She knew, and he had a massive argument with her making her feel selfish. When in fact she did the right thing. It wasn't anyone's business to tell her it was his and she respected him that much she kept quiet until he was ready. Instead of him seeing that or the author addressing that it makes it look like she was in the wrong. 

Other than that it's another five star from me. Love her writing style and her men. 

5*

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Cash's fight By Jamie Begley



If it’s not broke don’t fix it. That was Cash’s motto in life, and his life was perfect. He was living the life of the lieutenant of The Last Riders, and had women at his beck and call. The only thing he saw himself settling down with in the future was a twelve pack; certainly not Rachel Porter, who was on his short no fuck list. Hell, she wasn’t even his type—her tits were too small, and her mean mouth could shrivel a man’s dick. How was he supposed to know she was special and worth putting up with those weed-producing hillbillies? Or was she? 

Rachel had lived her whole life watching Cash break one woman’s heart after another. He was everything she shouldn’t want; a bad boy biker with enough sex appeal to make any woman want a night in his bed. Even her. Heck, he wasn’t even her type—he didn’t know when to keep his mouth shut, and he lived in a sex club. How was she supposed to know that he was special and worth putting up with the biker wars and biker bitches? Or was he? 

Another fantastic read for the last riders. I am so glad they've started to blend in to each other, yet still have their own story line. 
I've been wanting Rachel to have a boyfriend as I loved her character and was intrigued with the stuff she helped Lilly with. To those who have read Shades Fall will know, Lilly suffered from many things, one of those were living inside her nightmares. Rachel brought her out a few times, saving her. It's really hard to explain, so you NEED to go read this series. 

The novels is erotica, and obviously they are a biker club. I absolutely adored this novel and all the others. I like how they all have different tastes etc. 
I also loved getting to know Cash a lot during this novel. He made me laugh a few times with the comments about not getting pregnant in water, I nearly believed it myself lol when he first said it. Then he carried on about not been able to get pregnant lying down etc. Had me in stitches. Rachel annoyed me on those occasions. For all she knew, he could have slept with a dozen or so women without protection and carried an STI. She didn't come across worried, and that's the only negative I found with this one. All the previous women made it clear before they didn't use protection. Cash never told Rachel until AFTER. 

The story line in this one wasn't as good as the others but I loved it anyway. I wish they could have had more of a story and I really want to know what is going on with Blaire or whoever the wicked witches name is. Evie's sister, because I seriously hate her with a passion. 

The only other negative I found with the novel was the writing. I found it switched to many times to past, present, future tense and it confused the hell out of me. I didn't know how to digest it so to speak. I plodded along though. 

There are a few mistakes in the book that should be corrected, but I don't think it's anything to refund it over. This book is amazing and I recommend it to anyone. :) 

4* 

Cannot wait for the next one. So excited.

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

A whole new crowd by Tijan



Taryn grew up in a different world. Her boyfriend was a criminal. His older brother was part of a gang. They weren’t great people, but they were her family. Then everything changes when she’s adopted by a family in the neighboring town. New family. New friends. A new world. She’s elated. This is her chance for a new beginning, but secrets start being revealed and Taryn learns her new life has ties to her old one, ties that she’s not happy about. Her new family might not have been the lucky break she thought she had. Now she's not only fighting to live that new future, but she's fighting to survive as well. 


I'm a massive fan of Tijan's work. This novel wasn't any different. It is a brilliant book. 
Before I start with my review, I will say, the writing is a little bit of a disappointment. It is easily ignored, but at times I felt like I had to re-read some things. I never understood them, with so many mistakes. It does need another read through. 

If so, the book is fab. I read the first few chapters and I didn't know what to think. Like literally. In the end I carried on reading and thank god I did. The book is freaking amazing. I think it had taken me time to get into because I've been missing Logan and Mason from Fallen Crest, but this book filled that.
I fell in love with both characters and felt a deep connection with them.
I loved Tray straight off, but always knew there was more to him. (This isn't a spoiler) 
He is hot, strong, powerful, leader, alpha male and protective. I loved his loyalty and his relationship with Taryn from the start. 
All the characters in this novel were similar to the ones in fallen crest, so I could easily follow the story line. 
This has some mystery, some action and a really good story plot. 
The ending was fantastic and I am sad I won't be reading about this characters again. 
It had everything you could want in a book. 
Well done Tijan. 
4* (Only because of typos) 

Sunday, 17 August 2014

Elicit #4 By Rachel Van Dyken



Cursed, numb, rejected, scorned, wicked, sinister, dark, twisted...my name is Tex Campisi and this is my legacy. I killed my father in cold blood and lost my soul right along with him. 
I crave war more than peace, and I'm about to take my place in history as the youngest Capo dei Capi in the Cosa Nostra...that is until someone stops me, saves me from myself. 

But the only person able to do that...is my best friends sister, Mo Abandonato, and she just ripped my heart out and asked me to hold it in my hands while she put bullets through it. 

Im cursed so I did it. 
I'm numb so I held it. 
I'm wicked so I liked it. 
I used the pain Mo caused as a catalyst to turn into my biggest nightmare--the five families greatest enemy. It's my turn to take a stand, knowing full well I'm going to lose my mind to the madness that is the American Mafia. I've always been told Blood is thicker than life. I wish I would have listened. Because regardless of who you love? You will betray. You will kill. 
Blood Always Wins. 
The only way out is death...yours. 

Welcome to the Dark Side of the Family.


When I read the last part of the third installment, I was excited for this novel I have a few negative thoughts on this book and was slightly disappointed. 
One ~ was the constant errors in it. I found it hard to read at times, especially when I didn't know if someone was still speaking aloud or thinking in their head. 
Two~ was the book was really short and ended before 80%, the rest was filled with chapters to other different books. 

Now the good thing is the story line. I loved getting to know Tex and his relationship with Mo. 
I predicted most the outcome by the beginning, but I won't spoil it for those who have yet to read it. 
I will give you a sneak clue. There are big surprises installed. I honestly never saw the one thing coming.
I was confused on parts of it because I presumed they put something in Mo's arm to track her and listen and was the reason why she whispered the safe word to Tex when he asked her if she loved him. I just felt like I was misunderstood a lot and got easily confused. 

However, everything that comes together makes it perfect for another book. I cannot wait to read the next installment of the elect series. 
This isn't the best one to be written, but Tex is my favorite character. 
The book has so much humor and funny scenes. It was great. 

Even with my negative points, this isn't a bad review. I loved how Rachel brought the characters back together and kept certain things a mystery to us. I've rated Elicit a 4* and I'm excited to read more of her work. Well done.



Thursday, 26 June 2014

Sweet temptation (Men of honor) By K C Lynn



At 17 years old Grace Morgan had managed to live through what would be the worst day of her life. One would think this is where her torment ended, but then she was sent to live with him- the devil himself. 

Three years later she finds herself in the beautiful, small town of Sunset Bay, South Carolina- a perfect place to start her life over. This is where she meets the best friends she will ever have, and one cocky, sexy, arrogant ex-Navy Seal whose heart turns out to be bigger than his ego. Right when things start looking up the worst day of her life comes back with a vengeance; ruining the peace she had just found. 

Sawyer Evans is a strong, sexy, confident ex-Navy Seal who loves women just as much as they love him. His philosophy is: the more the merrier, with no strings attached. But all that changes the day he rolls into Sunset Bay, where he meets a sweet, sexy blonde with sad amber eyes, who smells like cupcakes and bakes the most delicious pies. The only girl who isn’t affected by his good looks and charm... or so he thinks. 

But Sawyer is a fighter who is used to getting what he wants, and he wants Grace. Along the way of making that happen, he finds out she holds secrets, and a pain much deeper than he thought possible- and he has known pain like no other man has. 

A year ago he made a life-altering decision that not only bought him a week in hell with men he considers his brothers, but also ended his career. It was a decision he will never regret, no matter the scars he bares, physically or emotionally. He refused to let that moment in his life break him or define him. 

So when Grace’s life is threatened, he will make another decision, one to not only protect her, but also mend her broken heart. 

OH MY GOD, this book is amazing!!! 
I loved the first in the series but this one my god had me completely hooked. I couldn't put the damn thing down I was that addicted. I'm even having a book hangover from it. Nothing can compare to the men in these novels. 

I loved Grace in the first novel. She intrigued me from the start. I wanted to know what her story was. Its heartbreaking. I was so completely shocked at her past. I felt deeply for her. 

The book will have you gripped, the anticipation of what's to come is intriguing. Loved every second of it. 

Plus Sawyer is hot, and the ending. Oh god, the ending is enough to make anyone swoon. So excited to read the next Men of honor novel from k.C.Lynn. I swear that girl needs to get her writing on because I cannot wait. I've been anticipating the third male hotness from the first novel. He's such a mystery, broody and moody.  



Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Hold me closer (Rebel walking #4) By Hilary Storm



Holden Walker has put his personal life on hold to help Rebel Walking with security on tour. His ‘all work and no play’ attitude has him in trouble with some of the new female family members in his life. 

Lyndsey Douglas couldn’t pick a good man if her life depended on it. She’s been burnt one too many time and isn’t thrilled at all when she’s tricked into a date. Her attempt to run him off almost works - until he has to save her from danger. 

What happens when Holden meeds the most frustrating woman in his life? Will Lyndsey stop pushing him away long enough to see that he’s not like all the other guys? Can she open her heart after everything she’s been through?

This is the first Rebel walking novel that I have read and also first from Hilary. I should have realized it was a series before starting with this one. Even though it can be read as a stand a lone I felt like I was missing parts of it. I didnt know what was going on around him, even though it had nothing to do with the main plot it would be nice to know who each character is.

I found the book a great read, though I felt it lacked something for me. I read it in one sitting and enjoyed it. Especially the ending. 

Holden is your typical book boyfriend. He is protective, alpha male, strong, good looking, sexy and did i mention protective? 
The two characters were well suited for each other. I am hoping to read more from the author and catch up with the first three in the rebel walking series. Hopefully we get to read about Lyndsey's brother. He had me intrigued. 



3*


Sunday, 1 June 2014

Against the cage By Sidney Halston





For Chrissy Martin, returning to her Florida hometown always seems to bring bad luck. The day starts with a breakup text, followed by a jailhouse phone call from her troublemaker brother. Now a routine traffic stop has ended with her accidentally punching an officer . . . in a delicate place. Then Chrissy realizes that the hot cop on the receiving end of her right hook is none other than the man from her teenage fantasies.
 
Jack Daniels knows how to take a hit. After all, when he’s not chasing reckless drivers, he’s kicking ass in a mixed martial arts ring. So what takes his breath away isn’t the low blow, but the woman who dealt it: a gorgeous knockout with legs Jack wouldn’t mind being pinned under—who just so happens to be his best friend’s nerdy little sister, all grown up. Soon their instant chemistry leads to a sizzling affair, but Jack and Chrissy are fighting an uphill battle if they want to make love last beyond the final bell.


The blurb had me hooked... What about you?
Seriously policeman/fighter? who wouldn't want to have a dabble in this novel. 
The beginning had me laughing so to say i stayed hooked from there is an understatement. 


Chrissy Martin used to be a chubby, shy, easily bossed around girl before she moved away to start a new life after she blamed herself for the death of her father. 
Now she is a sexy, sophisticated, sassy female who says what she wants and bites back. No more messing around. I love her attitude, she made me laugh a few times drawing the book. 

Then we have Jack Daniels .... cool name huh? he is best friends with Chrissy's older brother. They all have a shared childhood and Chrissy has always had a crush on Jack. When she returns he finally sees her in a new light. although throughout the book we find out he may have always looked at her that way and just didnt know it. 

Chrissy brother is an arrogant asshole. Sorry but he is, but towards the end I see him a new light. I was just glad that there wasnt another bump in the road for Chrissy and Jack and that Slade was okay with the two being together. 
In fact he saw it coming.

The love story is a long a bumpy road, but we finally get there with a few heart stopping moments. The novel is amusing, fun, loving and very VERY sexy. Some of the explicit scenes are extremely hot.

To all readers who are picking this up thinking its an MMA fighter romance novel. Its not. There is fighting in it but its not shown as much as a MMA fighter romance novel usually does. However this is the first in the series for (Worth the fight series) and I'm looking forward to reading more.....


3* The rating is low only because I felt the story needed more entertainment .... more to keep us gripped. The book to me was easily put down, although it had me hooked it didn't keep me gripped. 
I really hope everyone takes a chance on this novel .....

Sunday, 18 May 2014

My Clarity By M. Clarke



Still reeling from the death of her father, Alexandria hopes to find both independence and reprieve from her grief by heading off to college. However, life throws her a serious curveball when she discovers that her roommate isn't quite the person she had imagined.

Smoking, tattoos, and street racing for fast cash are Elijah's only interests. A harsh life has made him apathetic and indifferent, until Alexandria enters his life. When their paths cross, turmoil abounds.

An inevitable encounter, an undeniable attraction, and an unexpected chance at love-will it be enough?

The blurb doesn't do this book justice. Seriously. 

Alex is such a delightful character and, well, Elijah, who by the way has an awesome name is my new favorite book boyfriend. 
Not only is he hot, funny, sexy as hell, but he also races. This is the first novel i've read with racing in it so i'm so glad I came across this book. I have a thing for cars ;) 

Even I was confused when she was looking for Ellie, as the blurb kind of gave that away. Her reaction was priceless when she finds out the hot Elijah is her new room mate. 
The chemistry between the two was electrifying. There was so much tension and angst between the two that I was finally glad when things started steaming up between them.

Neither give in on their attraction to each other, which made the book so realistic. I liked how the author wrote about the little things that got each others attention. Like trying to walk past each other but going the same way, walking into the bathroom together. Things like that. It made the book seem more real for me. 



The only downfall was waiting for Alex to dump Liam's ass. I hated him from the beginning and never understood her need to try with him. 

4* 

Cannot wait to read more from this author :)

Sunday, 4 May 2014

Lady Luck By Kristen Ashley



Ty Walker was wrongly imprisoned and for the five years he was inside, he honed his plan so when he gets out, he has nothing but vengeance on his mind.

But then he walks straight to stylish, leggy, beautiful, goofy Lexie Berry and he suddenly has something else to think about. He knows within seconds he wants her and within days he can love her but with the filth that was flung at him clinging; he also knows he can’t have her.

Since birth, Lexie Berry has been Lady Luck’s favorite toy and because of that, Lexie is cautious. But within a day, she senses Ty is something special. With her luck, however, she can’t trust it. Then she finds out what was done to Ty and she’s willing to do anything to make it right.

Even what Ty will never forgive her for doing.

Ty clings to vengeance and Lexie goes all out to give him back the time he lost. But Ty is battling demons within and they’re up against dirty cops and criminals who will stop at nothing to sway Lady Luck against them. All Ty and Lexie have is hope Lady Luck will finally swing their way.

What can i say, this is one book i can read over, and over again and not get bored. 

This is a book about two people who have had a rough upbringing, two people who haven't had lady luck on their side.
What should have been a pick up and drop off for Lexi turned out to be the best thing in her life. She needs his protection, he needs a wife, what they didnt expect was each other. 
As always, you will love Ty and Lexi, both characters are genuine, funny, and sexy. I loved Ty straight up, i liked he was quiet and didnt express much in the way of words but with his actions. I also liked the fact when he did speak it was upfront, and straight to the point, no messing around bullshit. 
Same with Lexi, she was straight up to the point. No running you around in circles, she dealt with her issues and kept going, she didnt hang back on them. 

Have to say the whole corrupt police department was goo*d, i loved the story lines. It also links onto the next novel 'Breathe' 

5*