Showing posts with label Action. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Action. Show all posts

Sunday, 26 February 2017

Deadly Silence (Blood Brothers #1) By Rebecca Zanetti



Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. Helping out a friend has put not only her job but her life in jeopardy. Zara needs help from someone she can trust - she just doesn't expect it to be the mysterious PI who recently appeared in her life.
Ryker Jones has problems of his own, including recovering from his investigative agency's recent brutal loss of a client. He wants to keep Zara at arm's length - and protect her from the reality of what he's running from.
But when danger arrives on Zara's doorstep, Ryker can't walk away. He might be the only one who can save her - if his deadly past doesn't catch up with them first...

Gah, are you a fan of the Sins Brothers??? 
Well, this is a prequel. 
I didn't even know about this book until the other day and I HAD to ONE CLICK it as soon as I was told. 
I always wondered if there was going to be another Sins brother novel, because come on, it ended on such a high note, we needed to know what was going to happen with Doctor Madison. 

Well, meet Ryker, one of Madison's very own creations. Only, he thinks he's normal and just has heightened senses that he never really questioned until a young boy (I shall not name) (Which is killing me) turns up on his doorstep demanding he find Doctor Madison. 
Now, he and his two brothers are in search and in there search, they put themselves in danger. 

Zara, a paralegal has a 'casual thing' going on with Ryker, but when he turns up, seeing the bruise on her cheek, he moves things forward. 
He wants more with Zara, something he's never wanted with anyone else, but with danger following not only Zara, but himself, can he keep her and (Mystery boy) safe???

These brothers are just as hot and mysterious as the Gray Brothers. But what the Gray's lack human wise, these boys have had it different. They know all about family, connections and the hard life that being in the outside world brings. Only, they share the same connection with the Gray brothers. They haven't felt softness or love from anyone but their brothers. All three Jones brothers were in the same boys home, one where they were beaten and mistreated and experimented on my Madison. 

And my God the ending... We get to see some of our old favorite characters and I'm still in love LOL 

This series is so much different to what I normally read and I love that about it. It's unexpected, different and so thrilling it will keep you turning the page until you finish.

I can't wait to read more from this series. I really can't. 

5 amazing *****

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Obligation (Underground kings series #2) By Aurora Rose Reynolds




[ob-li-gey-shuh n] 

An obligation is a course of action that someone is required to take, whether legal or moral. 



At six years old, Myla was sent to a family her father and mother had chosen for her when they knew their time on earth was almost up. What they were unaware of was what they thought would be her safe haven would become her living hell. 



Kai has been watching Myla from afar since he took over the family business from his father and inherited the responsibility of keeping her safe. When word gets back to Kai that Myla is not only in danger, but that his assets are being compromised, he immediately jumps into action and does the only thing that can be done at the time by marrying her. 



Neither Myla nor Kai would have thought that something that started off as a farce would become the most important thing either of them could've ever done. 



I love Aurora Rose's novels, and Obligation was just another. 
I couldn't remember much of the first in the series, and had to go back and read that one before continuing with this one. I kept wondering if I had missed something. Both can be read as a standalone, but I do think reading Assumption (book one) will benefit. Both are fab reads. 

Kai, who is head of his family now, marries Myla. I was unsure as to why. He could have kept her safe no matter whether they were married or not. 
Kai was so sweet to Myla. He's this big, alpha, scary, badass male, but when it comes to Myla, he's so sweet and sooooo romantic. 

Everyone needs a Kai to look after them. It was adorable. 
Myla was like a light into his world, kindness in the world of hate that he lived in and I felt so sorry for him when it came to that. He was trying to hard to make peace with everyone so he could lead a normal life. 

Myla has had a rough life. From the moment she was handed over to another family her life had been turned over. 
She's shy, timid and resilient, but when it comes to Kai, her feelings are anything but.

The book is full of pain, anguish, love, and passion and even had me in tears at one point in the book. 

But.....

And this is a big but...

I felt like I had been missing important criteria throughout the book. It felt like i was reading a book with missing pages and some parts of the story did confuse me. 
That said, I still enjoyed the read and was glad I picked it up. 

3.5* 


Friday, 22 May 2015

Bound by Duty (Born in Blood Mafia Chronicles Book Two) By Cora Reilly



Dante – The Boss – Cavallaro’s wife died four years ago. On the verge of becoming the youngest head in the history of the Chicago mafia, Dante needs a new wife and Valentina was chosen for the role. 
Valentina lost her husband, too, but her first marriage had always been for show. When she was eighteen, she agreed to marry Antonio in order to hide the truth: that he was gay and in love with an outsider. Even after his death, she kept his secret, not only to preserve the honor of a dead man, but also to protect herself. But now that she’s about to marry Dante, her castle of lies threatens to crash. Dante is only thirty-six but already feared and respected in the Familia, and he’s notorious for always getting what he wants. Valentina is terrified of the wedding night that might reveal her secret, but her worries prove unfounded when Dante shows her the cold shoulder. Soon her fear is replaced by confusion and indignation. Valentina is tired of being ignored. She’s determined to get Dante’s attention and desire, even if she can’t get his heart that still belongs to his dead wife. 



Bound by Duty is the second novel in the born in blood mafia chronicle series. I loved the first one that much I immediately went straight out and bought the second. I don't usually spend what I did on an ebook, but this was so worth it. 

Valentina is in the first book. We meet her briefly at Aria and Luca's wedding, so I was surprised she got a book of her own, especially when the other books in the series is about Aria's sisters, Gianna, and Lilly. I was going to skip, but something stopped me and I'm so glad it did because I found it hard to put the book down. 

Valentina is a great character. She's strong, independent and funny. I think that's what Dante needed as he also lost his last wife, like Valentina lost her husband. 
This book surprised me more than Aria and Luca's, I don't know if it's because I didn't expect much or what, but I loved it just as much. Valentina's last marriage was a lie. She was married to Antonio who was gay, so they never actually had the proper wedding night. So getting married again she was hoping Dante would rectify that. Then he doesn't make a move on their wedding night and Valentina starts making advances, but they all seem to get shot down until she admits she's a virgin. 
Anyway, the two aren't exactly close, Dante is mourning over his late wife still and doesn't want another weakness in his life as he'll be the new capo soon enough. But then Valentina changes it all, slowly. At times I didn't feel like it worked between them and couldn't understand why she kept trying. But just like Luca, Dante was another strong, alpha male and I warmed to him. It couldn't be helped. I like who he was to her in a sense, but then sometimes I didn't. It was confusing. 

There are a lot of twists and turns that will have you gasping, I did NOT expect what happened to happen. 

Also, we meet Bibi, who we meet briefly in the first book, but not much was said. All we know is she married an older man three times her age and was not happy. He raped her repeatedly, but because they were married the men in the family didn't call it rape. 
Bibi and Valentina are best of friends and family, so we read more about Bibi story. I'm not joking there were parts I literally heaved thinking of the stuff she went through. I hated her husband with a passion and honestly wish she would stab him in his sleep. I really did hate him. He was a mean sadist. 

The story plot to the book was brilliant and I didn't feel like this one ended too quickly for my liking. It was perfect. I can't wait to start the third book which is Gianna and Matteo story, Luca's brother. 

5*

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

Carter Reed 2 By Tijan



Carter bought his way out of the mafia to protect Emma, but when an old ghost returns to the Mauricio Family, a chain of events starts that can harm everyone. While Carter must decide to return to the Mauricio Family or not, a face that is oddly familiar to Emma comes into her life. She’s given the chance to discover more about her family while tension between the rivaling Mauricio and Bertal Family comes to a head in an explosive way. The truce is officially off, and when the two worlds collide, Carter’s decision is made. 
He didn’t start this war, but he will end it. 
He will do anything to protect Emma. 


This book was so much better than the first Carter Reed novel. I loved it, don't get me wrong, but I found this one was so much more better. Yeah, a lot going on and new secrets coming out of the wood work, but all good. 
Carter's long lost friend who he helped escape when the Mauricio family was under attack years ago is back and ready to take his place at the head of the family. Unknown who to trust after he's attacked and his two friends are killed Cole looks up Carter for help, bringing him back into the fold, especially when Emma is attacked. 

When the Bertal family targets Emma, Carter is back in full force, waiting for his revenge. 
Emma's past comes back and she finds herself finding out she has a long lost sister. Her sister Andy tells Emma that AJ, her brother was the one meant to have kidnapped her as a kid nearly destroys Emma. Then when their worlds collide her sister Andy is taken Emma and Carter stop at nothing to find her. Carter slowly, one by one starts taking down the Bertal family, destroying their businesses as he goes. 

Cole, the new head of the Mauricio family works slower, trying to find the rat in the family and who is working against him. 

The book is full of action and it never stops. I love Carter and his love for Emma, who wouldn't want that in a relationship????? 

5*

Monday, 20 April 2015

Liam (Allen Securities #3) By Madison Stevens



Meg Allen traveled to London to learn new skills for her brother’s security firm and try and bury her feelings for a certain sexy co-worker, Liam. A summer away in London hasn’t cooled the flames of passion. Equipped with a defiant attitude and a new hairdo, she has to face the man she’s pined after while also dealing with an unknown enemy targeting her home. 

Liam Grant is still coming to terms with his deepened and shocking connections to the Irish mob. He has to make a choice of either his blood family or the Allen family and his career at their security firm. With Meg threatened, he pushes aside his own concerns to focus on the investigation. Though he tells himself that his family connections are just another danger to Meg, his passion risks burning away his objectivity and could blind him to the truth of who is actually targeting the woman he desires.


I really should have gave up reading these, but one I paid £3+ and they really are addictive in a way LOL
This one disappointed me the most. I've moaned about there being no background story to any of them, but with this one, with Liam, it really did need more. It did give more than the other stories did, but I found it still missed out a lot that a reader should know. I had so many questions I nearly gave up reading. 
And although I'm complaining I still liked the story line and where it was going. I just wish it was written better. 

Liam has been in the series from the start, but in this book it's BAM he's the mob bosses brother. Step brother. How??? god knows. Because he went from a cousin to a brother. So how did that happen? Ask the author. I got that his mom was attacked? Maybe? I'm not sure. The book flew by too quickly as it's not that long. Especially for £2+ that you would normally pay separately. 

I honestly didn't find this book any use to the series apart from the couple who had been struggling from the beginning got together. 

I loved the dog plot in the book and that is the only reason I may or may not read the next book. I'm not sure. All depends. 

2.5* 

Kace (Allen Securities #2) By Madison Stevens



Jessica Tamm is just trying to get ahead in life and escape the cloud of her father’s criminal past. Though, it’d probably help if she hadn’t taken a job managing a club owned by the head of the local Irish mob. As far as she’s concerned, her own discomfort is a minor price to pay to earn the money she needs for her sister’s education. Unfortunately, the Russians interested in taking over local organized crime don’t seem to care that her job has nothing to do with the criminal world of her boss. 

Monitoring the Russian and Irish mobs is just another step in the promotion ladder for cop Kace Allen, or at least that's what he keeps telling himself. Babysitting a mob boss club isn't what he’d call a fun time, but the scenery, particularly the sexy manager, is nice. Too bad he can't trust the daughter of a criminal who works for a criminal. He’s sworn to uphold the law, and no one, not even a beautiful woman, has made him question that before. 

When the temperature rises between the Russian and Irish factions and Jessica’s caught in the middle, Kace starts to see the lines between good and bad, law-abiding and criminal, are a lot blurrier than he ever realized.



I will say, Kace was the best storyline out of the series so far. Still problems with not elaborating enough, but I think after reading two books already like it I did sort of get used to it. 
Kace is a police but when lines are blurred he struggles to see which side of the law he should actually be on. 
I've just found out also this series ties with another series of Madisons called the Kelly's. It's Finn's story who is one of the mob bosses who is Samantha's boss. 

From when I read Ryder's story I expected the story to be a bit more excited. I really did expect a lot when this was one of the main story plots that actually made sense more than the others did. I finally got an understanding of what was going on. That is only my guess though, so I could be way off line lol

4* 

Reed ( Allen Securities #1) By Madison Stevens



Olivia Cross left behind her abusive alcoholic mother to move on to a better life, a new job at a library and a chance to actually get ahead. All of that is threatened when her brother drags her back into the seedy world of greed, violence and corruption she’s tried desperately to flee. 

Private security contractor Reed Allen isn’t about to let a burning attraction rope him in again. He’s already felt the sting of letting his heart rather than his head lead him. He’s just there to do the job and get paid, even if a certain spunky beautiful librarian has him feeling things he thought long since buried. 

Keeping Olivia safe is the easy part. Resisting their passionate urges could prove to be much harder. 

They’ll have to mend their broken hearts and move on from their painful pasts for a chance at a future.



Oliver Cross finds herself in the crossfire when her brother Ben drags her into the world of the seedy, violence, greed and corruption. 
She's not new to the violence, or the greed part in life as she grew up with an alcoholic mother and violent boyfriends. 
But she's determined not to turn out like her mother. She wants a good life. So starting her new job at the library she's shocked to find her little brother bringing his troubles to her doorstep. 

Reed is a private investigator and is currently undercover for someone higher up in government. But when a feisty, passionate, vulnerable Oliver gets in the way he's at mixed emotions on what to do. 

Apparently he's been burned before, but as I said in Ryder's review, nothing ever is elaborated.  I got a bit of what happened, he was on a job, bla bla bla, the woman burned him and nearly got him and his brother killed. But how did they meet? How long were they together? Did he love her? Is that why he didn't see what a liar she was? Nothing was ever mentioned and it started to get my back up because Ryder, which is the first book I read, but is book four, is the brother who nearly got killed with Reed. But even in his book, nothing about his scar was actually explained. Like how he did it. It's still driving me mad now and I know it's only a book LOL 

Anyway, Reed decides to protect Oliver, but he sure likes to make an ass out of himself and does the unthinkable when they first have sex. I would never have forgiven him or felt like I could share a bed with him again, but after a night away, Oliver flew back in his arms. GRRRRR. LOL 

The story has the mafia, made men and a lot of twist and turns. I also got confused on who was who in a lot of it because again, nothing was ever explained. It's like we got the outline of a story, but my God the stories are so freaking good. 

4* because I did still enjoy the actual story. 

I will warn readers who are going to buy this, it does need editing, grammar checking and another read through. 

Ryder (Allen securities #4) By Madison Stevens



Irene wants to believe all she needs to heal after an emotionally abusive relationship are her friends and bakery, but Ryder Allen keeps intruding into her thoughts. Something about the huge man calls to her heart and body. Afraid to even think about loving again, she does her best to convince him that his affections are better directed elsewhere. 

Security contractor Ryder has lived for years choked with bitterness and anger about a bad job that left both his heart and face scarred. His attraction to the shy Irene has left him determined to be with her, despite her insistence they just wouldn’t work together. 

When a local biker gang recruits new help and begins making waves around town, neither Ryder nor Irene worry it’ll be much of a problem for her bakery other than some vandalism. Not thinking much about the trouble, Irene decides to take a camping trip with some friends, leading to unexpected terror in the woods that’ll require some skilled protection, which Ryder is more than ready to deliver. 


I read Ryder thinking it could be read as a standalone like most series like this do. This was my own mistake by not looking further into it. The description didn't say anything about reading it as a series, or if it was a standalone. 

I got confused throughout the whole book. The story line was freaking brilliant, but parts just weren't detailed enough and I'd be like, 'huh? why the hell did he say that for?' or 'where did that come from'. It really did need BETA'S or someone reading through it because it's such a shame. I hate reviewing storyline's like this. I always feel like I'm rating two books. 

The first rating is the story plot... 
Then the second it's detail, the editing, grammar etc 

So, based on story plot, I'd give it a 4* 
but everything else, including the flow of the story I give it a 2.5* 

It's why I gave it a 3* as a whole. 


Anyway, Ryder is in love with a baker and from what I made out reading this he has been for some time. 
When her ex comes back into town, which is an example about things not being explained, her cousin and friend plan to go camping with her. 
Alone. 

First, let me go back to her ex boyfriend.... he was a complete jack ass and from I could guess he wasn't all that nice. But what I don't know is how or why? Did she run from him? Or was he abusive? there really wasn't any back story at all. It's one of the reasons I decided to read the rest of the series, but you'll see if that helped in the next reviews. 

So, they go camping alone in the woods and some bad guys come after them and Irene has to put all her trust in Ryder. 
Who by the way I loved. For someone so freaking scary and scary looking he could be so sweet. It was adorable. Especially when he was with her. He really did like her. 

The story continues on... I don't want to give too much a way as it's not really a long book. But I did enjoy reading it. 
I will say it does need editing, checking over and probably a bit more backstory added in. It's nothing an author can't go back and change. 

The best part was how the story went, how much action and stuff was going on. I also liked the two main characters Ryder and Irene together. 

3*

Total Surrender (Sin Brothers #4) By Rebecca Zanetti



A fight he must win . . .

Piper Oliver knows she can't trust him. They warned her that the tall, dark, and sexy black-ops soldier Jory Dean would try to win her over with his steel-gray eyes and deadly charm, but she won't be conned by this man they call a traitor. All she has to do is figure out the science necessary to save his life, and she's done. Something isn't adding up, though, and she won't rest until she uncovers the truth-even if it's buried in his deep, dangerous kiss. 

A passion she can't resist . . .

Jory will do anything to reunite with and save his brothers-even kidnap the gorgeous woman who's working to deactivate the deadly chip in their spines. But the forces determined to destroy his family won't let them go so easily. Keeping Piper alive is more than he bargained for-and so is his burning desire for her. But with every second bringing him closer to certain death, can he afford to lose himself in her hot and willing embrace?



Gah, where do I start? hhhmmmmmmm
It's been a few weeks since I've read this. I've only just managed to find the time to write my review. Yes, I know, I really need to keep up to date. aha 

If you've followed the series you will know that the hot Dean brother's are test tube, engineered soldiers, raised by the commander and his sidekick Dct Madison. 
From the start the brothers are set out to destroy the commander and his experiments, they are also fighting to find a way to deactivate their deadly chips, planted in their spines. 

This book is them fighting to complete their task and we finally get to meet the famous Jory, who we all thought was dead from the beginning. I have to say out of the books this one is the best written. I felt like I had been there along with them, the anticipation of what would happen killing me. Even down to the explosions, and I don't just mean bombs, but between Jory and Piper. 

I loved Jory. Loved everything he represented and believed in. He fought so hard for his brothers, not caring about his own safety. My heart literally stopped when we found out his chip was damaged and couldn't be wirelessly picked up. 

Jory will stop at nothing to protect his brothers, including using the new computer tech to do it. His feelings towards her, just like the other brothers and their women, aren't the same as his normal feelings for women are. He's been locked up, and in a comma for two years and that's not including before they escaped the facility. So when Piper finally decides to take in what Jory is telling her, things start to go as planned as they can for the Dean brothers. 

I will have to say more surprises popped up through this book and nothing in here dragged, confused me, or even deterred me from the story line. In fact, after finishing I went back to read the first three books. It's how much I love the characters. This isn't my usual type of book and the writing style isn't something I can usually read easily, but with this one, I read it just fine and loved every single minute of it. You can really expect a lot from this book in the series. 

Defo 5* And I'm pleased to say that there will be more coming from these boys. 

Thursday, 2 April 2015

Connor (A Kendall Family novel #1) By Randi Everheart



When Sophia Turner comes home from college for the summer, she has no idea her stalker is planning to kidnap her – and worse. But she escapes with the clothes on her back and nothing more, searching for safety and somewhere to stay. 

Connor Kendall is looking forward to a quiet summer running his bed and breakfast, but when a barefoot Sophia turns up looking scared and with no bags, he takes her in despite concern she may have brought trouble with her. She’s hiding something, he’s sure, and yet he vows that nothing will harm her as long as she’s staying with him, but the promise might be harder to keep than he’d ever imagined.



Although the writing is what I can usually stand I didn't let it stop me from reading the book. The story had captured my attention from the blurb and I couldn't help be drawn into it. 

The story starts off fast, there is no build up, it literally gets started and it's good. It keeps you wanting to find out the next thing, until the very end.

I liked Connor, I thought he was a bit saft for his age, wanting what he did when he was still so young, but it didn't stop me from liking him. When Sophia turns up at his B&B he knows something is up. I think if she wasn't looking so terrified, the wearing no socks proved his point. 

Anyway, the first night she jumps into his bed. He sleeps on the chair in his room, but still.... they just met each other and she's jumping into his bed. Didn't feel right. I didn't think it built up enough for that to happen. 

Anyway, after that he asks her what went down, needing to know after an alarm wakes them up and has them both scared. When she confides in him she tells him the story and he tells her he's going to protect her. 

The story continues and is hot, and sweet. The ending was really good, and I loved it. It had loads going on, so I was thankful, it kept me on my toes. 

3*

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

No way out (Hawks MC #4) By Lila Rose


Link coming soon 

Trapped in a marriage since the age of twenty-one, Malinda May is finally free. Having lost her biker husband, she is determined to keep her two teenage children as far away from the MC lifestyle as possible, a lifestyle which has brought her nothing but heartache and fear.

Life is never that simple.

Relentless in their mission to prove to Malinda that not all bikers are bad, the Hawks’ women are determined to support Malinda and her family, whether she wants it or not. In her struggle to keep her distance, Malinda soon battles her desire to keep her family safe or relent and begin to trust the MC.

Tired of women and their mind games, Declan Stoke knows women are only good for keeping his bed warm for a night. Having once thought he’d found the one, he’s no longer willing to put his heart on the line. Even when faced with the temptation of a wounded, sexy woman, he steers clear…well, tries to.

Malinda and Stoke find themselves at an impasse, one seemingly impossible to navigate through. With trouble brewing, life is going to get complicated, and for Malinda, she’s trapped with no way out.



I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
It's books like this I feel privileged to read because they could be bought without reading reviews in advance. They are that good. 

I literally started this and didn't want to put it down. As it always is Julian is my favourite character. 

Julian gasped. Wow, oh wow. Hell mouth I think we just found your granny.''
To know just how funny this one liner is you'll need to buy the book. Trust me, Lila's work just gets better and better each time. It's funnier, sexier and more action to keep you on your toes.

Malinda is trapped in a loveless marriage and although some may ask why she stayed and put up with it, I can see why. She loves her kids and wanted... no thought she was giving them a family they deserved. What she didn't know was their father was hurting them just as much.
When he dies she meets the Hawks MC, and doesn't warm up to them until she meets Julian, who brings her into the fold (pussy brigade) and soften her up towards the bikers.
They never had any clue of what they're brother was into behind they're backs, or that he even had a wife and kids, so when they meet Malinda, they are kind of blindsided.

After Matty gives Malinda his number the day they invite her to the MC cook out, so they can show her bikers aren't all the same, he's surprised to get a call informing him she's in danger. 
Income stoke....
After being burnt already he isn't ready for another relationship. That is until he meets Malinda and all bets are off. 

He not only becomes apart of her life, but a part of her kids too, and forms strong bonds with them. I really enjoyed the book. It always had something going on which I loved. It made it impossible to put down. 
I think Stoke can be added to my top ten of book boyfriends, because something about a man taking on someone elses kids as his own is hot!!! 

Can't wait for the next one Lila has in-store for us. She's such a talented and amazing writer it's hard not to fall in love with her characters. 

I honestly rate her work high up with Kristen Ashley because no one can beat them in writing. Okay.... Maybe Bella Jewel..... or Jamie Begley. No one can write MC novels like those bunch of talented authors.  
5 amazing, well worth it *****

Tuesday, 20 January 2015

Stay with me (Wait for me Book Three) By J. Lynn



Not all scars are visible on the surface
Calla Fritz is used to hiding. Hiding the scar that she believes mars her beautiful face. Hiding the burns that cover so much of the rest of her body. Hiding her past and her family secrets from her new college friends.
But when her mother clears out her bank account and disappears, Calla is forced to return home and face up to a life she’d rather forget about. What she didn’t count on was meeting the one guy who seems to be able to see past her defences. Jackson James, known as Jax, is beyond smokin’ hot – and Calla can’t quite hide her feelings for a man who knows that beauty isn’t only skin deep.
But with some dangerous characters looking for her mother – men who are perfectly happy to punish Calla for her mother’s sins if she doesn’t turn up soon – Calla and Jax have more troubling things to think about than the searing heat between them…


Book three is with Calla. 
We meet her in Book two and I have to say, it's like reading a totally new character. 
In Book two she is quite vocal, especially when it comes to boys. Then, in this one she's the shy virgin, who looks on from the outside, never being on the in. I found it hard to believe this was the same girl. Not that it bothered me, it's just that I went from one deception of her, to another. 

Anyway, after her mom clears her out she heads back home to sort it out. Only, it's a bigger mess than she realized when she gets back home. 
There were certain things I guessed straight off, even before it happened, and kind of annoyed Calla didn't figure those out. 
Calla ends up working at her mothers bar for tips, to try pay back the money her mom has taken out in her name, but I hate to break this to you Calla, but you'll be saving for the rest of your life. How she thought she could even put a dent in 100,000 was beyond me. I felt so sorry for her. She had gotten out of her dump of a house, and moved miles away to get away from her toxic mom. Only for her mom to have shit on her. 

Then we have Jax, my god I fell in love with him. He's seriously hot. I loved he didn't take any crap from Calla, or let her hide. She has scars all over her body and the one people see is the one on her face, but Jax doesn't see that when he looks at her. It's soooo sweet. I loved him more for it. Seeing past her imperfections. 
In this one we're introduced to a few new characters, but my favorite was Katie. She used to be the schools quiet nerd, but now she's a stripper, loud and loving it. I can't even explain how hard I laughed when she's first introduced. She was hilarious. I wanted to see her more in the book. 

The only problem I had with the book, not a problem as such, but one I could never figure out was the drugs. They were in the house and from what Jax said it was worth a lot more than a million bucks. So why is her mom on the run if the drugs are there for her to return? I know they get taken, but they were there before and why wasn't the guy who had taken them mentioned to Isiah??? It drove me mad LOL 
I also have to admit, I'd love to read his story. i don't know, there was just something about him that made him come across interesting. There's also the other barmaids and coppers story I'd love to read. I know for sure there's something there.

5*

Sunday, 7 September 2014

FateBook By Mimi Jean Pamfiloff



DAKOTA DANE IS ABOUT TO TELL A LIE SHE'LL WISH SHE HADN'T. Because her lie is dangerous, sexy, and just showed up on campus, angry as hell and looking for her... 

Ugly duckling Dakota Dane has a new boyfriend. He’s male-model gorgeous, built to perfection, wealthy, and smart. He is also a lie. As in, 100% fabricated. Does it matter that Dakota has a perfectly good reason for making him up? Not really. Not when Dakota’s made-up boyfriend shows up in the flesh. 

So is she crazy? All signs point to maybe. But the walking, talking enigma with the deadly vibe isn’t about to give her any answers or let her out of his sight. And with college just around the corner, Dakota fears her dreams of a bright future have just collided with a dark rabbit hole… 
~~~ 
Fate. 

Such a simple word, isn’t it? But there’s nothing simple about it. Not for me, anyway. Not when it comes to this man. I have no idea who the hell he is, where he came from, or what he wants, but his dangerous vibe tells me I should run away and never look back. 

But I can’t. 

Because as much as he scares the hell out of me, his sinfully dark gaze and what it does to me is ten times more powerful. 

And I know I want something I shouldn’t. I should want my sanity. I should want college and parties and this dream I’ve waited for my whole life. I should want to keep that promise I made myself back in high school to make something of my life. 

But now I’m looking at him, his powerful body, his predatory gaze, his sinfully shaped lips, and I know I’ll never be able to walk away. So I simply keep lying to myself about there being a reason for all this. I simply tell myself it must be fate.


Oh My God..... 
Fate book has to be one of the most brilliant and unique reads that I've read in a while. 
I thought this book was going to be so different from what I got. It was so much more amazing. 
I couldn't put the thing down until I had finished it. 

The characters are both believable characters and so is the story to an extent. The only scene I thought was a little far fetched was the sex scene, but I'm not ruining that. 
I loved the fact the author made it so believable. Like you were reading from someone's experience. You know when you read a book, and you question everything one of the heroins are doing? well, Dakota questions everything and I liked that. It made the book that much more real. 

Then we have the hot male heroin. Oh My God, if I knew making up a facebook boyfriend would actually get me one, i'd do it within a second LOL 
Loved his character, his personality, and his hot looks ;)

The blurb doesn't do it justice. 5* read from me. 

Sunday, 24 August 2014

Liar: The Scarab Beetle series By C.L.Stone



Worse than a thief, is a liar. 
Kayli Winchester can finally let go of her thieving past and for once walk on the right side of the law. She’s had enough of the hustle and is determined to become the good girl. 
But her brother, Wil, is still missing. On the hunt for him, she discovers something worse than a missing sibling: Marc, Raven, Axel, Corey and Brandon. These aren’t just scoundrels with hearts of gold. They’re flat out criminals. But they’re criminals who need her. 
In a ruse to draw them away from her brother and learn more about this so-called Academy, Kayli joins them on a mission to Florida in search of a missing little girl. Kayli will do anything to make sure her brother is safe. She’ll find their leader. She’ll discover their intentions. She’ll infiltrate their ranks. And if they try to threaten her brother or herself, she’ll burn them all. 
But when these five hot Academy teammates all contend for her heart, her resistance starts to crumble. 
Maybe she wasn’t meant to be the good girl, anyway. 


I received an ARC for an honest review. 

I gave book two in the Scarab beetle series a 3*
I felt like this novel dragged a little throughout the book, not giving us much to keep us reading as such. 

Like in the first book Kayli is a very infuriating character. I wish she'd pick one of them instead of using them all. It's going to end badly and it makes me dislike her, when all I want to do is like her. 
I will say though, the book has you wanting to read the next one. They still aren't any closer to getting answers and neither is Kayli on who the ACADEMY is. 

Also, I loved all the boys again and was really jealous of Kayli having each of them fighting for her. I do love the connection she forms with Corey in this book and he and Marc are my favorite characters of the book. 
They are totally different characters, different personality's, yet I found myself drawn to both. 

Can't wait to read the third installment and hope we don't have to wait as long for that one as this one. ;) I want to know who she picks..... 

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

A whole new crowd by Tijan



Taryn grew up in a different world. Her boyfriend was a criminal. His older brother was part of a gang. They weren’t great people, but they were her family. Then everything changes when she’s adopted by a family in the neighboring town. New family. New friends. A new world. She’s elated. This is her chance for a new beginning, but secrets start being revealed and Taryn learns her new life has ties to her old one, ties that she’s not happy about. Her new family might not have been the lucky break she thought she had. Now she's not only fighting to live that new future, but she's fighting to survive as well. 


I'm a massive fan of Tijan's work. This novel wasn't any different. It is a brilliant book. 
Before I start with my review, I will say, the writing is a little bit of a disappointment. It is easily ignored, but at times I felt like I had to re-read some things. I never understood them, with so many mistakes. It does need another read through. 

If so, the book is fab. I read the first few chapters and I didn't know what to think. Like literally. In the end I carried on reading and thank god I did. The book is freaking amazing. I think it had taken me time to get into because I've been missing Logan and Mason from Fallen Crest, but this book filled that.
I fell in love with both characters and felt a deep connection with them.
I loved Tray straight off, but always knew there was more to him. (This isn't a spoiler) 
He is hot, strong, powerful, leader, alpha male and protective. I loved his loyalty and his relationship with Taryn from the start. 
All the characters in this novel were similar to the ones in fallen crest, so I could easily follow the story line. 
This has some mystery, some action and a really good story plot. 
The ending was fantastic and I am sad I won't be reading about this characters again. 
It had everything you could want in a book. 
Well done Tijan. 
4* (Only because of typos) 

Sunday, 17 August 2014

Elicit #4 By Rachel Van Dyken



Cursed, numb, rejected, scorned, wicked, sinister, dark, twisted...my name is Tex Campisi and this is my legacy. I killed my father in cold blood and lost my soul right along with him. 
I crave war more than peace, and I'm about to take my place in history as the youngest Capo dei Capi in the Cosa Nostra...that is until someone stops me, saves me from myself. 

But the only person able to do that...is my best friends sister, Mo Abandonato, and she just ripped my heart out and asked me to hold it in my hands while she put bullets through it. 

Im cursed so I did it. 
I'm numb so I held it. 
I'm wicked so I liked it. 
I used the pain Mo caused as a catalyst to turn into my biggest nightmare--the five families greatest enemy. It's my turn to take a stand, knowing full well I'm going to lose my mind to the madness that is the American Mafia. I've always been told Blood is thicker than life. I wish I would have listened. Because regardless of who you love? You will betray. You will kill. 
Blood Always Wins. 
The only way out is death...yours. 

Welcome to the Dark Side of the Family.


When I read the last part of the third installment, I was excited for this novel I have a few negative thoughts on this book and was slightly disappointed. 
One ~ was the constant errors in it. I found it hard to read at times, especially when I didn't know if someone was still speaking aloud or thinking in their head. 
Two~ was the book was really short and ended before 80%, the rest was filled with chapters to other different books. 

Now the good thing is the story line. I loved getting to know Tex and his relationship with Mo. 
I predicted most the outcome by the beginning, but I won't spoil it for those who have yet to read it. 
I will give you a sneak clue. There are big surprises installed. I honestly never saw the one thing coming.
I was confused on parts of it because I presumed they put something in Mo's arm to track her and listen and was the reason why she whispered the safe word to Tex when he asked her if she loved him. I just felt like I was misunderstood a lot and got easily confused. 

However, everything that comes together makes it perfect for another book. I cannot wait to read the next installment of the elect series. 
This isn't the best one to be written, but Tex is my favorite character. 
The book has so much humor and funny scenes. It was great. 

Even with my negative points, this isn't a bad review. I loved how Rachel brought the characters back together and kept certain things a mystery to us. I've rated Elicit a 4* and I'm excited to read more of her work. Well done.



Sunday, 16 February 2014

Fighting temptation By K.C.Lynn



Julia Sinclair is your typical innocent good girl with a heart of gold. At sixteen she moved to Sunset Bay, South Carolina, to live with her Grams after losing her mother to cancer. This is where she met some of the best friends she will ever have and one in particular who will forever hold her heart. 

Jaxson Reid is your typical tattooed bad boy. His past and soul is as dark as the tattoos he bares. He flies through life and girls with no attachments and no emotions... until he met her. 

One fateful night brought Julia and Jaxson together. They formed a friendship and a bond so strong it was unbreakable. Jaxson fought the temptation of anything more with Julia because he knew he would never be good enough for her. When he found his control slipping he left the one girl, who meant everything to him, to join the Navy. 

But one passion-filled night has Jaxson letting go of fighting temptation which will forever alter their relationship. 

A few years later Jaxson comes home to make things right with the one girl who’s ever meant anything to him. Except someone isn’t happy that Jaxson has returned. Someone who thinks Julia is theirs and they will stop at nothing to make sure it stays that way... forever. 

Now Jaxson will not only fight to protect Julia but will also battle the new and existing demons that haunt his soul. 
Read on for my review....