Showing posts with label Academic > School. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Academic > School. Show all posts

Sunday, 23 October 2016

Twisted Palace (The Royals #3) By Erin Watt



These Royals will ruin you… 

From mortal enemies to unexpected allies, two teenagers try to protect everything that matters most.

Ella Harper has met every challenge that life has thrown her way. She’s tough, resilient, and willing to do whatever it takes to defend the people she loves, but the challenge of a long-lost father and a boyfriend whose life is on the line might be too much for even Ella to overcome. 

Reed Royal has a quick temper and even faster fists. But his tendency to meet every obstacle with violence has finally caught up with him. If he wants to save himself and the girl he loves, he’ll need to rise above his tortured past and tarnished reputation.

No one believes Ella can survive the Royals. Everyone is sure Reed will destroy them all. 

They may be right.

With everything and everyone conspiring to keep them apart, Ella and Reed must find a way to beat the law, save their families, and unravel all the secrets in their Twisted Palace. 



Broken Prince ended with one of the best cliffhangers I've read this year. Not only do we find out Ella's dad is alive, but Reed is arrested for Brooke's murder. 

The book starts where the last one left off and although it took me a few chapters to get into, I did. I love this series. Nothing could have stopped me from reading it. And I'm glad I stuck to reading it. 
The intensity of the book, the story and the situation was unreal. Reed is facing prison, all for a crime we know he didn't do. Although the evidence is making him guilty. 
I had my suspicions from the very start, my own theory and when it all came to light, I was right. Although, some parts I didn't see coming. 

Ella is allowed to stay at the Royal's while her father regroups as sorts, but the second he finds out she's with Reed, all bets are off. He takes charge, ordering her around and demanding she break up with him. 
I couldn't stand him. I really couldn't. I understood Ella's friends explanation of his actions, but those only explain REAL parents. Her dad isn't really her dad. He hasn't been there for 17 years of her life then he comes back, swoops in and is ordering her around like a dog. 
He gets her fired, moved into a hotel with him and his wife, who we know hates Ella, make her break up with Reed, although this doesn't happen, they just make him believe it did. She has a curfew, strictly so she's forbidden to see the Royals and has to start a school activity. 
Then whole situation with him made my blood boil and for someone who has had no problem saying whats on her mind, Ella did disappoint me when she didn't stand up to her father or tell him where to go. I honestly thought she would threaten him, saying if he kept doing what he doing, then the minute she turned 18 she was leaving and he was never seeing her again. I honestly think she should have LOL

Anyway, the story has a few twists and turns and my heart breaks for Reed during this book. His whole future is jeopardized.

It's a great conclusion to Reed and Ella's book and I really hope we get to read more of the other brothers. I'd really like to read Easten's book next. I love his character. 

5*  

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Being Jamie Baker (Jamie Baker Trilogy #1) By Kelly Oram



An accident that should end in tragedy instead gives seventeen-year-old Jamie Baker a slew of uncontrollable superhuman abilities.

To keep her secret safe Jamie socially exiles herself, earning the title of Rocklin High’s resident ice queen. But during a supercharged encounter with star quarterback Ryan Miller she literally kisses anonymity goodbye. Now the annoyingly irresistible Ryan will stop at nothing to melt the heart of the ice queen and find out what makes her so special.

Unfortunately, Ryan is not the only person on to her secret. Will Jamie learn to contain her unstable powers before being discovered by the media or turned into a government lab rat?

More importantly, can she throw Ryan Miller off her trail before falling in love with him?



Being Jamie Baker is the first book in the Trilogy. She has electrical powers which means anything electrical, she can gain power from it. She has super-hearing, super-sight and super-strength. 

Jamie was in a car accident that led her to being electrocuted and covered in a toxic substance. It's how she ended up with these powers. 

Since then she's suffered with a secret and the pain of knowing she could hurt anyone with a simple emotional break. Because her powers feed from them. So whenever she's upset, angry or temperamental, they explode everything around her. 
Her parents have his her powers knowing if she were found out, they'd want to experiment on her. 
But then Ryan, the school hottie and popular boy in school shows her interest. Granted, the first time he speaks to her is because of a bet. 
But keeping her secret when she's around him is hard. Her body reacts to him which in return, reacts to her powers. 
He finds everything about her intriguing and when he finds out about her powers, he goes out of his way to help her control him. I liked that about him. He didn't freak or run off telling people. He just wanted to help and Jamie, with all her faults and quirks, really does give the poor lad a hard time. 

The story was good and although it took me awhile to get in to, I enjoyed the story line. I couldn't wait to read the second novel. 

5* 

Friday, 26 August 2016

Broken Prince (The Royals #2) By Erin Watt



These Royals will ruin you...

From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.

Reed Royal has it all--looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.

What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father's new ward suffer turned into something else entirely--keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed's arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed's entire world begins to fall apart around him.

Ella doesn't want him anymore. She says they'll only destroy each other.

She might be right.

Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It's like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he's going to win back his princess, he'll need to prove himself Royally worthy.  


HOLY CRAP!!!

I loved the first one so much and have raved about paper princess to everyone and anyone. But this... MY God, this book was brilliant. 

Reed, finding Ella gone, does everything in his power to find her. What we thought we knew happened in that room was far from what DID happen. I couldn't believe it. 

They're all crumbling and it's evolving around a certain person, one willing to sell her soul to the devil to get married into the family. 
I have my assumptions and theory's on what is going on but it's still a big mystery. I never know what's going to happen next. 

Reed has a lot of groveling to do with Ella and she doesn't make it easy for him. She isn't one of those girls who forgives easily but once she finds out the real story of what happened, what's been going, she's determined to get the royals out of the mess their in and get the poison out of their lives. 

Only, it ends with a massive cliffhanger that will have your jaw dropping. 

Drama, love, angst, death, pregnancy, marriage, arrests and back from the death. Hell, it all happens. 

5* 

Friday, 1 May 2015

Fear you (Broken Love #2) By B.B.Reid



What happens when she’s had enough? 

Lake Monroe has given in to her childhood tormentor too many times. She knows it, he knows it, and even their enemies know it. When he returned after being found guilty of a crime he didn't commit—a crime he thought she set him up for, he returned darker than ever, demanding her body and her submission. To survive him, she knew she had to give in to fear once more or suffer the deadly consequences... 

But Lake experienced what it was like to submit to the dark and demanding boy who invaded her dreams. Now she’ll experience what it’s like to fight him. 

What happens when he wants more? 

Keiran Masters has a past that is both shocking and dark. Once enslaved, he now has demons he can’t escape—demons that have followed him for ten years, demons he blames his beautiful obsession for. He promised to make her pay. He promised to make her break... 

But when Keiran conquered her body and tasted her submission, he found a new addiction instead—one he has no intentions of giving up. 

As secrets unfold, 
Identities are revealed, 
Danger closes in, 
And they both discover what it really means to fear...


I was given an ARC for an honest review.... 

So glad I got the chance to read and review this book. After the first one left us hanging I was excited to see how this would play out and if Lake had finally grew some balls. 
A lot of things are explained in the book, a lot of twists unfolded and it was great. The suspense keeps you on your toes, and has you gripping the edge of your seat. 

Keiran is a hard character for me to explain. He's so dark, so angry, so controlling that you have to hate him, but there is just something about him that you can't help but be drawn too and it kills you for liking him even a little. 

Lake on the other hand gave me whiplash in this book. Sometimes I felt like she needed the spanking just to get through to her because it was like she could hear him, but she wasn't actually listening and at times even I wanted to smack her LOL 
I still don't think his obsession with her is a healthy one, I can never understand the way he wants to kill her but keep her at the same time, but in this book it's finally all brought to life. 

Speaking of..... Keiran's past is brought up a lot and we go back in time to certain scenes that shaped who he became and it was so hard to read. I ended up in tears more times than I like to count, the scenes were so perfectly written you couldn't help it. Especially when I have an eight year old daughter and thinking of how tiny she is and how tiny Keiran must have been I just couldn't fantom how someone could do that to a child, never mind one actually going through what he did.

I did feel like it dragged a lot towards the end and wished it would finish. Then when a certain piece isn't explained or finished I got really annoyed. But then..... I read the third book is going to be Keenan's and Sheridan's. I love this too but I can't help but feel that Keenan is going to turn into something I'm not gonna like, and I really like who he is now.

4*

Thursday, 2 April 2015

Treacherous By Chloe Walsh



It has been over twenty years since Lee Bennett arrived at Thirteenth Street. 
In those two decades lives were lost, torn apart and altered forever. Now it's the next generation's turn as the kids of the Broken Series characters are about take over the street. 

Teagan Connolly, niece of Dixon and Moe, is a loud-mouthed Galway girl and set in her ways. When her uncle informs her they are moving to University Hill, Teagan is unimpressed to say the least. And when she meets her next-door neighbour sparks really begin to fly... 


Noah Messina has spent his whole life fighting. 
It's in his blood. 
It's in his breeding. 
His way out of a family he didn't choose to be a part of. 
Fighting is his only focus... 
Until Teagan walks into his life, and Noah realizes he's met the one woman who could alter his future... the one woman who could make him lose it all...


Teegan and Noah are kind of forbidden. He's in a family that has no morals, loyalty or compassion. He's forced into the life that he leads and he bleeds for it. Literally. 

When Teegan moves in next door, he can't get her from out of his mind, but the same can't be said for Teegan. She hates Noah and his step-sister. After Noah is caught oggling the new girl next door, his sister starts out her own revenge, and starts bullying Teegan. 
It takes for Noah to accidentally to break her cars front screen that Teegan finally explodes and ends up throwing paint all over Noah's expensive car. 

That's how fate brings them together. When Teegan finally realizes that Noah isn't the one who is pulling the pranks, the two become close. It's forbidden and when Noah's uncle finds out, Noah will have to pay the price. 

Secrets are out, and lies are told, but in the end Teegan does everything she can to try and help Noah and protect him. But there's only so much one person can do. Especially when she loses her uncle when she chooses Noah over him. 

The ending is.... OH MY GOD... the ending is seriously fucked up. I honestly didn't see it coming. In stead of going over to his best friends house after everything goes down, Noah stays at his house, where he is recovering. If only he stayed with his friends across the street. He wouldn't have lost anything. 

The only problem I had with the ending was the fact Teegan could SEE he wasn't there as such and she still went OTT over it all and assumed the worst. 

The ending leaves us with an agonising cliffhanger and I can't wait to read the next one in the series. 

4*

Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Wild reckless By Ginger Scott



Kensington Worth had a vision for her senior year. It involved her best friends, her posh private school in downtown Chicago and time alone with her piano until her audition was perfected, a guaranteed ticket into the best music programs in the world. 

Instead, a nightmare took over. 

It didn’t happen all at once, but her life unraveled quickly—a tiny thread that evil somehow kept pulling until everything precious was taken from her. She was suddenly living miles away from her old life, trapped in an existence she didn’t choose—one determined to destroy her from the inside, leaving only hate and anger behind. It didn’t help that her neighbor, the one whose eyes held danger, was enjoying every second of her fall. 

Owen Harper was trouble, his heart wild and his past the kind that’s spoken about in whispers. And somehow, his path was always intertwined with Kensington’s, every interaction crushing her, ruining her hope for any future better than her now. Sometimes, though, what everyone warns is trouble, is exactly what the heart needs. Owen Harper was consumed with darkness, and it held onto his soul for years. When Kensington looked at him, she saw a boy who’d gotten good at taking others down when they threatened his carefully balanced life. But the more she looked, the more she saw other things too—good things…things to admire. 

Things…to love. Things that made her want to be reckless. 

And those things…they were the scariest of all.


Freaking hell, we need more books like this one. 

Kens moves to a new, small town with her parent's. Never really knowing why or really wanting too. In fact, she rebels against it. 
When she meets her hot new neighbor Owen, she's immediately drawn to his bad boy charm, dark memorizing eyes, and his soul. 

When she starts her new school, she makes her first friend through band practice. The one her father has demanded she attend. This is the first altercation takes place and realises what a jackass he really is. 

The two become enemy's as such, but it doesn't stop Kens from fantasizing over him. 

Owen is kind of the black sheep so to speak. After his dads death he and his brothers and mother are talk of the town. All he's ever wanted is to get through highschool, keep his younger brother through school and get the hell out of there. but when Kens turns up, everything changes. 


Secrets are held, hearts are broken and lives are torn apart, but one thing is for sure, the only one Kens can rely on to tell her the truth is Owen. The two become close, and soon they are falling for one another. That is until another bump blocks them and has them fighting for each other. That is, until Owen stops fighting and lets the darkness that weighs down on his shoulders smoother him. 

The story is brilliantly thought out and I enjoyed it so much. 

5*

Kissing in Cars (Kiss and Make up #1) By Sara Ney



Will she, or won't she...

Studious and (mostly) sensible, the only thing Molly Wakefield wants to do is get through Senior Year and graduate. Well, that and hit the beach in her spare time. Okay, fine - and go shopping every once in a while for a new dress... (and who could blame her?)

And things are going according to plan - until the day she spies Weston McGrath, handsome star athlete and scholar, spying on her in study hall.

A tad creepy? Maybe.
Thrilling? Absolutely.

You see, Weston McGrath happens to be one guy no one can get close to.

Despite her best efforts to avoid it (because let's face it - the guy isn't exactly "boyfriend material") Mollly and Weston form a friendship.

And more....
Sort of.

But it's a friendship that comes with a price - because Weston just cannot seem to stop screwing things up. Or saying all the wrong things. Possibly in that order...

And who has time for an 18 year old "fixer-upper" that should know better?

Not Molly.

Or does she?



Molly finds herself waiting for the day to end, to get some out, but when she looks across the library she finds Wes staring deeply into her eyes and from then on she can't stop her thoughts from wandering to wherever he is.

Wez is intrigued by her, how she doesn't throw herself at him. But whenever they go out he always manages to screw it up by saying something stupid.
His dad is a real D.I.C.K and I hated him from the start. He wants Wes too concentrate on his training and not on girls. In fact, he loathes the idea. His mom usually goes along with his dad, but when he tells her about Molly she's supportive. 

I wouldn't say Wez is a bad boy either, it all turned out to be rumors. He's actually a really nice guy and sometimes kind of sweet. 

Then there's Molly. Oh My God, I loved her awesome character. She seemed so real, so true and wasn't fake at all once during the whole book. Loved her. 

All in all, I loved the whole story. 

3* 

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Vincent (Made men #2) By Sarah Brianne




Vincent knows the glamorous side of the Mafia, being born a soldier. 

Lake lives on the opposite side of the tracks, born the daughter of a soldier. 

The light and dark side of him are at constant war, but he is letting his darkness reign. 

She is trying to find peace, and she will soon be far enough away to find it. 

Discovering that his boss owns her, showed him how little he knew her. 

Knowing all about him only makes her want to hate him.




I'm a fu**ing made man. 



I'm just fu**ing trailer trash.


I have literally been waiting for this book for far too long. 

I absolutely loved Nero and it comes in second to Rachel Van Dyken's Elite series. Nothing could ever beat that for me, but this book is coming in close. 

Lake is from the poorer side of the mafia, her father only been a foot soldier. Her mother on the other hand is a spiteful, greedy, gold digger who is married to a wealthy man. He bullies Lake, I mean really bullies her and treats her like she's nothing. It honestly made me feel sick reading it. The way he demands her to clean, the way her mother buys her things knowing that Ashley just takes them off of her. They even make the poor girl sleep on a mattress in the cold attic when they have spare bedrooms. It honestly made me sick. Even on her graduation her mother didn't show, because of her husband being sick with a cold. He wasn't, he just wanted another way to punish Lake. 
What made it worse no one saw what was going on around her. 

When her father gets into trouble, Lake doesn't do what she's told. He's the only person she loves more than anything that she feels safe with. So she ends up going head to head with the mob boss, and giving her college fund over to him and offering to work for him. 
Her life is a complete mess, and I felt so deeply sorry for her. 
Now, in come Vincent, her best friends brother who she shared her first kiss with. Since then she has harbored a crush on him and wanted him madly, but he kept pushing her away. 

Slowly, and I mean slowly, does Vincent help Lake sort through her problems, only for Vincent it's been hard to keep her safe when the boss wants her gone. After all, she doesn't do what she's told. Not ever!!! 

I have to say I burst out laughing when Lake leaves to her grandmas and Jamie Begley's The Last Rider's characters were apart of the book. Hearing what Vincent was saying made me laugh because I couldn't picture him going up against any of them. It honestly had me in stitches. I wouldn't mind, but Vincent is known to break bones and kill people with his bare hands. I guess to me Jamie Begley's last Rider boys just do it better ;) 

The book was well played out and I cannot wait for the next in the series. I'm still debating if I'm 

                           #TEAMAMO     OR     #TEAMLUCCA 

5* 

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Save me (Make or break #3) By Amanda Heath



Courtney Pierce never thought he would love anyone but Annabella Gage. She was his entire world for eleven years. Even though she was dating his older brother, he couldn’t seem to let her go. Then things shifted and lines became blurred. Pierce wasn’t sure whose bed Annabella should be in anymore. 

But Annabella has secrets. Dark secrets she will do anything to protect. So like the crazy witch that she is, she rips Pierce’s heart to shreds and devastates his soul. He’s left with the emotional wreckage and no way out in sight. 

Then Rachel Sanders drop kicks into his life. The beautiful brunette is utterly hard to resist and one night of intense passion leads to an unexpected surprise. A surprise that has all their friends shocked, because Rachel and Pierce couldn’t be more different. 

Now he’s left with one option and it doesn’t include Annabella. Rachel, though, is full of surprises and Pierce finds their relationship so incredibly easy. Way easier than what he had with Annabella. So easy he finds he didn’t even know what love was before Rachel. 

But like any twisted love story, Pierce is hiding dark secrets, too. Secrets that he feels will rip he and Rachel apart. When push comes to shove will Pierce spill those secrets? And if he does, will they separate the new lovers before they even have a chance to begin? 

Much like Pierce and Annabella, someone else has something to hide. Let’s hope Rachel sticks around because when this secret comes out. , she’ll be the only one who can save Pierce


This has to be the best book out of the series. 
I've loved getting to know all the characters, but by far, Pierce and Rach have to have been the most entertaining and heartbreaking of them all. Half the time I didn't know whether to laugh or to cry. 

After both being in bad relationships they find it easy being with each other. It isn't until insecurities happen that everything turns to shit. 

Pierce starts calling another girls names while he sleeps, but in all fairness they are nightmares, and because Rachel doesn't think she's good enough and having been cheated on by her ex.... can you see where I'm going? She leaves him. 

Both of them are miserable without each other. Getting to know them as friends, then as a couple, and then reading about them apart, I can tell you, no one should be together like these two should. They were perfect for each other. Even though both of them are totally opposite from what the other one's personality is.

I couldn't put the book down and read it within one sitting. Be prepared to have a lot of awweeeee moments because I sure as hell did LOL 

5*

Break me (Make or break #2) By Amanda Heath



Wesley Bridges was lost between the living and the dead. She was clinging to her boyfriend, who passed away unexpectedly. She was left with having no way to move on. Her best friends, Annabella and Pierce were too caught up in each other to save her. Even her family turned a blind eye, not able to bear her grief. 

Then one day, Royal Sanders walked into her life. Tall, dark and sinfully handsome, but aren’t all the unattainable ones? At first it was nothing. She was asked to tutor him and found he’s different than even she thought. She even turned to Royal when things got too hard. And when she falls for him, she falls hard. 

But Royal’s the enemy. A long drawn out hatred brews between her friends and Royal’s. That doesn’t seem important to her, considering she’s still in love with her dead boyfriend. A love triangle between life and death…who will win? 

Grief is a powerful emotion but there are several different kinds of grief. Betrayal and heartache are still knocking on her door. Things are about to come crashing down around her. It will definitely break her, but will Royal be enough to save her? 


How did I not know this was out???????????
I'm a huge book nerd and make it a weekly thing to make sure what new releases are out etc etc. 
Now..... 
I had started reading Make me again and I loved it.... just like I did the first time if not more. Then, when I finished this book came up as a recommendation. I didn't even know it was freaking released. 

If you don't remember, in the first one Channing and Paisley had just found out someone is pregnant.... that there was the cliffhanger. 

In this book we have the funny, good looking, easy going, and charmer Royal. I loved his character in the first one, so I have to admit I freaking adored him in this one. His character to me couldn't get any better. Not just the things he did for Wes. 

Wes lost her boyfriend suddenly and hasn't managed to come to terms with his loss. Now, I know what your all thinking..... but no, it's not one of those depressing books where you want to go put on depressing music. It's actually funny, sexy and enjoyable. Yes, it has emotional parts, but she lost her boyfriend for christ sakes..... leave her alone. 
Anyway..... 
She not only lost her boyfriend but her bestfriend Annabella ... Ella....or what have you and her cousin Pierce had also abandoned her. When she needed them most they were to caught up in each other than to see how much she was breaking.
Take out why she was sad, depressed and lonely and just see the situation with Pierce and Ella, then you'll see that this happens with most school kids their age. I'm actually glad they put in that part because it showed Ella's true colours. Why Wes forgave her so easily is beyond me. 

Royal, after having Wes teach him History, which happens to be her favourite subject... gets to know Wes and I mean the real Wes. She doesn't hide who she is or how she's really feeling when she's around him. I liked that about their relationship. 

They have a bumpy road, but you'll have to read it because I promise it has a HEA.... and we all love those. Really LOVED this book.

4*

Forgotten promises (The promise series #2) By Elle Brooks



Saying “I Promise” is the easiest thing to do, its just two tiny words. No one warned me of the weight they hold, that they not only have the power to make something, to give hope, or show devotion. They can destroy everything, cause so much hurt, ruin lives. 

Every promise holds a toll, if I had known what mine would cost me, I would have walked away. Now I have to pay the price, watch the consequences of my actions unfold. Witnessing someone I love crumble after breaking my oath isn’t the hardest thing I’ve endured, it's being forgotten by the one person that I could never forget.



After reading Promises hurt, I honestly rushed to read this one and stayed up late. After seeing what damage had been done I completely lost my shit and nearly refused to read it. I'd not long finished a really sad novel and didn't want to cry over another one and after reading the first chapter I knew this was where I was heading. 
Elle Brooks is crafty as anything because this because is so much more than I guessed it to be. She honestly knew how to keep me on edge the whole way through. 

Ethan has amnesia and doesn't remember Blair. But in all honesty, she only walked into the hospital room and he wanted her to say. 
I will tell you because I know some of you hate the whole backwards forwards part of a story, especially when the characters have only just gotten together. They do break up, no one comes between them, and he doesn't refuse to see her. Even if he doesn't remember her in his mind, his body and heart do. That, to me, is what made this book so perfect. I freaking loved it. 
Truly talented writer and will be defo reading more of her work. She took what is an emotional book and made it that much more. Really enjoyed it. 
Would also recommend it to those who are a big fan of young romance novels. 

4*

promises Hurt (The promises series #1) By Elle Brooks



I wasn't planning on falling for Ethan Jamison, hell I wasn't planning on our paths ever crossing. He’s the most popular guy at school and a complete player. Me; I’m the perpetual good girl, trying to carry out one last request. But when you make a promise, how far do you go to see it through? 

~ Blair 


It’s a running joke that I’m a terrible liar, if only people knew the truth. My whole life has been spent making excuses and deflecting questions. I was pretty good at it until Blair Thomas entered my world. She saw through the mask that everyone is so willing to accept. She makes me want to tell her all my secrets, but can she promise to keep them? 

~ Ethan 


Promises hurt is the debut novel from Ellie Brooks and I have to say she did an amazing job. From the very first chapter I had been hooked and loved Blair and her bestfriend Emily from the very start. 

Not only is the story about first, young love, but also about loss, and moving on. 
Emily dies, after being diagnosed with terminal cancer. Blair, being the ever loving bestfriend, spent every moment she could with her. Anyway, Emily left Blair a bucket list to finish. Emily had managed to tick most of them off but there were a lot on there that still needed crossing off. 
Ethan Jamison is one of those. 
Emily had a massive crush on Ethan and went as far as to get pictures of him with her in them. I thought it was hilarious and so what girls their age do. The best part I found between the friendship was when Emily cried over losing her hair due to chemo, so Blair only went and got a nice and got her head shaved so Emily didn't feel different. That part really had me choked up. Their friendship truly was sensational. 

Anyway, without going too much into the story Blair ends up tutoring Ethan. I loved their friendship from the beginning and even more when they became an item. You could feel from the authors writing that they truly loved each other. 

On their way to Vegas to get another bucket list ticked off, Ethan and Blair go camping. Only it doesn't end to well for the couple..... 

This is all I'm telling you. The ending was a HOLY FREAKING CRAP!! Moment and I literally bought the next one straight off and read it. I stayed up until half 3 reading it. 

4* 

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Fear me By B.B.Reid




A story that will make you question everything you thought you knew about LOVE and HATE. 

I don't believe in fairy-tales and Prince Charming. 

I believe in fear. 

He taught me how to be afraid. 

We first met on a playground during a wonderful summer day. It was the first time he hurt me and it wasn't the last. For ten years he's been my tormentor and I've been his forbidden. But then he went away and yet I was still afraid. 

Now he's back and wants more than just my tears. You see...he thinks I sent him away so now he wants revenge...and he knows just how to get it. 


Fear me Is B.B.Reid's debut novel and although there were a lot of errors and grammar was poor the story was consuming. I had been so addicted from the very beginning wondering why he was so mean to her. 

Keiran scared the ever-loving-shit into me. Seriously scared me. I understood why she was afraid of him, but never why she would want him. He's pure evil. Keiran has had a troubled past, when it's revealed what he's hiding and why he's the way he is I could understand more, but from the beginning I just kept asking myself why he wasn't in jail. For what he did to that poor girl for ten plus years and no one helping is sick. 
The first time I read him threatening to kill her and she believed him I disliked Lake, I thought what an idiot, but not long after his threat do you realize it wasn't a threat but a promise. It had me completely on edge not knowing what he would make her do next. 

Lake is in such a sticky situation. It's horrifying. And there is a part in this book that I do feel needs to be mentioned to others. In the description it does warn you about certain scenes. But there is one in the book where he takes her virginity and she told him no she wasn't ready. She lusts for him and does enjoy certain things that he makes her feel, but to me, no means NO. That's rape. No matter what she is feeling towards him, because they are mixed feelings, she said no. Plus, if she didn't Keiran would kill her Aunt Clarissa. 

Towards the end of the book we see a different side to Keiran and at this time Lake decides she wants to grow a backbone. I couldn't believe it. During the book I had a hard time wondering why she didn't just end things or run away. Then all of a sudden she starts fighting back once he's stopped been a complete nob. Kind of. 

Anyway, certain events in the book lead to what has to be the most excruciating endings of all time. Not only did I not see it coming, I'm actually scared as to what is to come in book two. 

I read a few reviews before reading it and one stood out to be and now, after reading the book I agree whole heartedly. Here is the statement from Twisted sisters book reviews

"My final answer is Dark Romantic Suspense. I'm using romantic loosely here. There's isn't a real clear answer, I see why she struggled with labeling the book. The book needs a warning, that in itself is dark. Vanilla readers might have a hard time swallowing, dark readers may call this light in some ways. I call it a perfect balance and I loved every bit. "

I really enjoyed the book and had a hard time putting it down. I even went without dinner yesterday so I could finish it off. 

The only problem I had was the poor grammar skills and typos. I think with some Beta readers or an editor these could have been picked up easily. B.B.Reid will go far with this series and want to say well done for writing such a fantastic debut novel. 

5*

Monday, 26 January 2015

Existing By Beckie Stevenson



Roisin Williams is desperate to be the girl that blends into the background. She doesn’t really speak and she doesn’t want to be spoken to. This is the only way she knows how to protect the secret she’s kept hidden for her whole life. 

Lance Williams knows that his daughter doesn’t behave like a normal seventeen year old girl and he’s worried. He decides a fresh start, away from their house that’s full of old, painful memories is a good idea. A new home, in a new city where no one knows her can only be a good thing for Roisin, right? 

Wrong. Cannon Beach is home to Cabe Evans. He’s smart, polite, kind and ridiculously attractive, but he doesn’t date - ever. At school, he’s popular, outgoing and has all the girls falling at his feet, all of them except the new girl, Roisin, who seems to do everything she possibly can to avoid him. 

When Cabe’s intrigue gets the better of him he tries to figure out why Roisin wants to hide from everyone, but soon finds himself caught up in a tangled web of deceit, torment and anger. 

Can Cabe rescue Roisin before it’s too late, or will her secret be the death of her?


I took a massive chance on this book. The blurb didn't grab my attention, or the story line. I felt like i had read the story before. 
Boy was I wrong!!!!!
The story is so much more then boy meets girl, boy saves girl...... bla bla bla. 

Rose aka Roisin, moves to a new city. She lives with her dad, step momster and little sister who she adores. 
Her little sister is beyond cute and Rose literally raises her. She has her whole life while her dad works all hours he can and avoids taking any serious notice at home. 

When they move to Cannon Beach, Rose sees it as a fresh start. Having being labelled the freak at her old school she wants to try and be normal. Not that I think she isn't. It works, she meets her friend Ashley, and then Cabe. 
Only, having friends has bought on what she always feared. That people will notice the battered, abused girl. 

I won't get into the whole mess with her step mom as it will ruin the story plot. Although I guessed pretty much before it was revealed, I still felt like I was say on the edge of my seat reading it be revealed. 
I felt deeply sorry for Rose. 
She's such a loving character and adores her sister with everything she has. 

I like the fact that the author added in the ghost. When I first read that it had one, I was a little unsure, but now having read it, the book wouldn't have been the same had that part not been there. 

5*

Saturday, 10 January 2015

Until you (Fall away series #1.5) By Penelope Douglas



Have you ever been so angry that hitting things felt good? Ever felt numb to all emotions?


The past few years have been like that for me. Traveling between fury and indifference with no stops in between. Some people hate me for it, while others are scared of me. But none of them can hurt me, because I don't care about anything or anyone.


Except Tatum.


I love her so much that I hate her. I hate that I can't let her go. We used to be friends, but I found out that I couldn't trust her or anyone else. So I hurt her. I pushed her away. But I still need her. She centers me. Engaging, challenging, bullying her - it's the last part of me that feels anything human.


But then she left for a year and came back a different girl. Now, when I push, she pushes back.


For everyone who loved Bully . . . This is Jared's story.


After reading the newest in the series Falling away I just had to read this one. I honestly hate reading the same book but in another POV. I feel like it's boring. This one though is the second book ever to make me feel like I was reading a completely new book. 
Seeing Bully written in Jared's POV had opened my eyes a little to things that confused me. I can remember reading Bully and wishing Penelope had written it in Jared's POV as well. 

It starts off from when Jared is just a boy and Tate moves in next to door, to move on to his dads, which also made us see his side of what happened. 
I actually kind of liked this version better, but I know for a fact I would have preferred the two POV'S in one book instead of two separate one's. Still, I'm glad I got to read both. They are brilliant. 

If you've read bully and think this one will just be the same it's not. You see things differently. It really did feel like a whole new book to me. I'm obsessed with this series now and can't wait for Tate and Jared's story to continue. For those who've read Falling away will know what I'm talking about. 

5* for Penelope 

Friday, 5 December 2014

Dare to kiss (The Maxwell series Book One) By S.B.Alexander



After a move clear across the country, only two things matter to Lacey—overcome her PTSD and make Kensington High’s baseball team. But trying out for the team comes with complications—the captain, Aaron Seever, doesn’t want a girl on the team. 

Adding to her new life, she never counted on meeting someone who wants her as badly as Kade Maxwell. The tall, sexy and drool-worthy bad boy has a magical touch that awakens her feminine side, and a kiss that slowly erases her nightmares. But getting involved with him may be dangerous when Kade’s arch-nemesis returns to town to settle a vendetta. 

To complicate matters, her PTSD has taken a turn for the worse. She has to find a way to push away the demons otherwise she may not have a chance at anything in life.


OMG....... How the hell have I never read this book before now or even heard of it. Jesus christ this book is soooooo good. 
If your a fan of Tijan's Fallen crest series then this is the one to read after I swear. I'm a huge fan and I cannot wait for the author to publish the second book. 

I really connected to this book on so many levels. Lacey is such a strong character although she would never agree with my assessment. She thinks she's weak because she suffers from PTSD after finding her mother and sisters murdered bodies at home. I'v only ever read one book where a character has PTSD before this one and I have to say, this one is so much more detailed. I looked up PTSD to read about it as the book I'd read before never really explained much about it.This book though gives you an outline of what it is and why she has her triggers etc. 
It was Lacey having her first episode that made me fall in love with Kade. He was with her dropping her home when she had it and omg, I fell in love with him then. No wait, it was when he pulled her into the janitors room at the school then continued to whisper words against her mouth. It was an extremely intimate moment and very hot.

Then it gets better, Kade isn't the only Maxwell, he also has triplet brothers. Jesus, three of them, all with different personalities and extremely hot looks. I was done for. They all have great names too, Kade, Kross, Kody, and Kalten. Hopefully I spelled those right LOL 

Anyway, the story is about Lacey trying to overcome her PTSD by starting up her baseball again. Only, at the new school secrets are hidden around the baseball team. It seems they don't like girls on their team. Well one person in particular, Aaron. I hated him from the first moment I saw him. I couldn't stand him. 
As the story gets on Lacey is threatened, if she makes the baseball team, then Aaron is personally going to see to it she never plays again. So not only is she trying to fight her PTSD, get over the fact another girl trying out looks like her dead sister, she has to worry about petty little boys who are scared about getting bested by a girl. She has a lot of spunk to fight back, but something tells me she's going to need a lot more spunk for they have installed. A comment ne of the bitchy girls said to her has stuck with me. 

''I know more than you think,'' she sneers.'' 

I wonder if she knows about her PTSD and is going to use it against her. Only time will tell. 

The ended kind of disappointed me. Though I'm glad it ended the way it did because we won't read the next one until spring next year. I just wished there was a cliffhanger or something. I won't be forgetting this book any time soon and might even get another read of it before the next book is due out. 

5 smashing *

Monday, 17 November 2014

Jaded (Jaded series #1) By Tijan



Sheldon doesn't care about anyone except Corrigan and Bryce. The three of them rule their school, but it seems someone else wants in on the action or that someone else just wants Sheldon. How many bodies is enough to prove their love to her?

I have had this on my TBR for so, so, so long. Because of the lack of blurb and the price it was originally at, I never wanted to take the chance. I'm glad I did though. 

I couldn't get into it at first, the characters reminded me so much of Logan, Sam and Mason. Only the opposite in certain areas. 

Like Logan is funny, whore, and always getting into trouble, whereas Corrigan is the same, but when he gets into trouble, he does get caught. 

Sam doesn't care about anything, or what anyone thinks or if she's popular or not. She's hurt by her parents neglect, but never acts on it to get their attention. Also she is honest about her feelings to Mason and would never cheat. Whereas Sheldon cares whether she's popular or an outcast, even though she says she doesn't care she does because she's constantly separating the two groups. One for popular kids, then the other losers. (Her words not mine). Sheldon does and doesn't care about her parents neglect, and she acts on it. She gets into trouble, back talks teachers, smashes her house up because she's acting out. Then we have her and Bryce, she loves him, but won't admit it. She won't label their relationship and technically in my eyes, she cheated and I hate that. I think that's why I can't form a bond with her. Secretly she's worried about people leaving her like her parents, but if anything she will be the one to drive them away with her actions. 

Now Bryce I liked the most, he is opposite to Mason. Mason would never stand for the shit Sheldon puts on Bryce and would never condone cheating or forgive her for it. I also found he's a little more outgoing then what Mason is. 
Mason is quiet, brooding and likes to do things his way. They're both top of the chain at their schools, both the male every girls dreams of and both going places with their football career. 

And then we have the dysfunctional parents. Bryce's mom is a lunatic. Literally. Sprouting stuff off about praying for Sheldon lol which made me laugh, then we have Sheldon's mom who is like Analyse, but more collected and less loony, but loony all the same. 

The story line however is totally different, but apart of me couldn't stop seeing the comparison in the characters. I liked the story line and it had me gripped once I got into it. I will be definitely be reading Still Jaded Book two next. 

5*